We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class Act”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Class Act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We chose the Palms because of a number of factors, one of which is their stellar string of reviews on Tripadvisor. Price, value and location were also factors and I can now say after being here a short week, they do not disappoint. This is a terrific place to stay, especially if you like quiet surroundings, uncrowded facilities and a warm, friendly staff.

We were supposed to be here the first week in February but had to cancel b/c of a death in the family. The management not only made the accommodation to cancel and re-booked the room a month later, but also, in a compassionate gesture, Julie, the manager, upgraded us to a rooftop suite....a class act. A large suite with separate lounging area and kitchenette was complete with mini-fridge and small safe for your valuables.

We opted for the Romance Package and again, were not disappointed. You can go on-line and see all the details, but the island tour, sunset sail, dinner and breakfast, champagne etc. was a real value. Even if you choose not to do a package, there are a host of freebees for everyone who stays here. The pool, largest on the island, is over 9 feet deep with a shallow end for kids. Water toys, "noodles" and various floats are available for fun. And just ask at the desk for free snorkel equipment and a lesson for the same and you will be guided in a great shallow-water tour of the on-site reef. Later that afternoon or evening you receive a complimentary contact sheet and CD of photos taken of you with an underwater camera....another class gesture.

Let’s start with a frequent complaint of a lot of tropical resorts....chaise lounges and towels. May seem like a picky thing until you have to get up at dawn to "hold" a chair or recliner or sign for towels. The Palms has no such shortages...lounges are EVERYWHERE, on the beach, around the pool, among the trees and flowers that dot the multi-acre acre landscape. Towels are freshly laundered and plentiful.

The property is situated on a nice, but narrow beach with a terrific coral reef right out in front of the beachside pavilion. Although there are a few spots where the sand extends into the sea, I would recommend water sandals or small diving booties as there are numerous large and small chunks of coral that dot the shoreline and can bruise a tender foot. I also noticed the presence of a small sea urchin in the shallows and stepping on one of these w/out protection will ruin more than a day. Also note that the beach at this property is steeply angled in places and not really for long walking, kids frolicking or what you might imagine a St. Croix beach to be. If you are looking for that picture-postcard type shoreline you'll have to rent a car and head to another beach like Cane Beach, or take a trip to Buck Island where you will find that "Perfect" beach. It's OK though...you just have to manage your expectations. For swimming with a mask & fins, or just a quick dunking, it’s perfect!

I'm not sure the origin of their namesake, The Palms at Pelican Bay, but I have a theory. Just inside the reef in front of the hotel is a huge, ever-present huge mass of sardines swimming about madly trying to avoid the persistent pelicans who at all times of the day, are dive bombing them, and most times, they are successful. They do not interfere at all with your beach going other than as a wonderful source of entertainment as you sit and enjoy the serenity of this tropical paradise.

The staff is most accommodating with requests...the owner, Chuck, is always about with his little white poodle, and often leads snorkeling trips out to the nearby reef. Another gentleman you see about is Mitch...a long-haired jack-of-all-trades who we initially thought was part of the ownership of the resort. I don't know if he is, but he sure treats guests and the staff as if he is. One day he is playing tennis with a patron, another time he is leading a nighttime snorkel trip on the reef with LED's blazing underwater, another he is painting a porch, then he is bartending and several times he offered us a ride back to our suite in a golf cart. He is also the staff cheerleader firing up the crowd during Caribbean Night managing to get retirees and children alike to join the limbo line. If you want something done or need answers for anything, seek out this golden boy....if he's not busy helping someone!

Pat, the receptionist during the week, is another jewel who is full of smiles and will make calls, verify reservations and generally make you feel like one of the family. Like a cartoon octopus, she has 8 things she's managing at once and does them all with aplomb.

Julie and Jill are also helpful and offer advice, answers and a friendly smile. Don't forget Mama G. (Giselle) who will charm you with her wonderful accent and kind eyes. We nearly missed our return connection and Bud the Jersey, Ex-Army gentleman, personally drove us to the airport just in the nick-oh-time. Chuck was there on the spot to make sure our transfer was flawless and our needs attended to. When we thanked him for the gracious intervention, he just said, “That’s what we do here.”

Bartenders are friendly, knowledgeable and know their tropical drink P's & Q's expertly. Try the Cruzan Confusion if you want to get off to a dreamy tropical start. There's plenty of cold beer, wine and of course a million varieties of anything made with rum. The bar seems always hopping but activity with guests and seasoned locals gets going early afternoon.

Food is wonderful and we had all but one meal here at the Palms. The wait staff is friendly and attentive and the menu is extensive with daily specials. Saturday night was lobster night and I rewarded myself with a "medium" local lobster that literally hung off the plate and was OUTSTANDING! Wednesday night was a Caribbean buffet that included a whopping assortment of delicious ribs, chicken, fish, beans, slaw, dirty rice and many other items. Our waitress insisted we try the Johnny-Cakes which were terrific too. The entertainment included a live Calypso band and a visit by the famous Moko Jumbies. I know you are asking..."What is a Moko Jumbie?" Everyone was sworn to secrecy about what/who they are before they arrived and I'm afraid I will have to follow in that tradition. Come find out!

In fact, don't trust anything I've said. Come for yourself and see this hidden St Croix Jewel. You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuerreBrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
It's been awhile since I've been caught short on words, but you just did it. What a nice review. And thank you for taking the time to be so thorough. I will make sure that I pass your kind comments out to all of our staff. And I agree that people need to come find out about Moko Jumbies themselves - every Wednesday night is Caribbean night here at The Palms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    201
    49
    21
    20
See reviews for
260
555
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at The Palms. The staff and service was amazing!
After I received a noticably bad sunburn Mitch, a very kind staff member, personally went to get me aloe. He also took us on a wonderful hiking trail and drove us to the local Jazz Festival. You don't even have to worry about a camera because Mitch is always running around taking pics!
Chuck, the owner of the resort, offers guests free guided day and night snorkeling trips. You can really learn about and get up close and personal with all kinds of different sea creatures. Chuck provided us with free picture cds of our snorkel and hike. He also emailed us a folder full of pictures from our night at the Jazz Fest with other people that were staying at the resort!
Its impossible to list the "best" of the trip because we had such a good time.
Enjoy your trip to The Palms at Pelican Cove and watch out for those octopuses! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly9781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

We loved being right at the beautiful turquoise water's edge. Enjoying exceptional scenery by day & relaxing to the soothing sound of the waves by night. A highlight for us was snorkeling right off the beach! Huge variety of tropical fish and other aquatic life to observe. Chuck the owner will personally take his guests snorkeling & provide them with a complimentary CD of the event. Staff is friendly and make you feel welcome. Breakfast each morning at the open-air restaurant was a pleasure. Resort was small enough (40 rooms) that we got acquainted with some of the other guests.
We met another couple whose company we enjoyed and are now our friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentine34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Enjoyed the complimentary snorkel right off our hotel beach, Mitch (tour person) took our underwater pictures whilst we swam in the beautiful blue/green waters of Pelican Bay. This trip was everything the info packet indicated. Chuck the owner, was cordial, informative, patient and a real people person. As well as Ilene, mama, and all other wait staff. We saw Iguana's, crabs, pelicans diving every minute for herring, as well as many underwater species. Met a great couple from Missouri (David&Carolyn) who shared rides, dinners and church. I would reccomend this establishment for a quiet relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We had an awesome time. The location is close to everything, beautiful ocean front rooms with patios overlooking the surf, great snorkling on the reef right out front. Staff was so friendly and accomodating, but they are on "island time". We found the resturant at the Palms among the best on the island. Chuck can recommend the best of diving, tours, & cuisine.

While the Palms has everything you need for a great vacation, St Croix is a fabulous destination, rent a car so that you can experience it all. Some places to start:
Dive with SCUBA
Visit Buck Island with Big Beard
Visit Christiansted & Fredricksted.
Eat at the Wind at Cane Bay, Bombay Club, & Isaludi Bistro (make a reservation or go late)
When you go to Fredricksted visit the Whim Plantation and have a rum drink at the beach bar at Rainbow Beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kogo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

went for business meetings and my wife and i stayed a few extra days. Place is right on the beach, went to sleep and woke to the sounds of the ocean. easy ride to twon, or walk if you want. Quiet resort. great pool and spirit of staff. If you have time for only one thing, go snorkeling with the owner or his assistant, okay and have a rum drink. We will go back and while we could stay at a plush resort we felt at home and spoiled here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

I can't say enough about this place. Customer service doesn't seem to be a #1 priority on islands, but it sure is at The Palms! I have never seen a resort owner involved as much as Chuck is. Our first day there, Chuck and Mitch took us to Point Udall for a nice little hike and some awesome snorkeling at Isaac's Bay (free). That set the tone for the rest of the trip.

The restaurant and bar are great, not one complaint. The hotel and grounds are so beautiful. The rooms are very nice also, we were on the bottom floor and loved it, so close to the beach.

The staff will show you that Chuck is a good man to work for. You can really tell they like working there. They take pride in their work and it's very noticeable. It's hard to believe that Mitch could make such an amazing trip even better but he found a way. He was always involved with us snorkeling, hiking, or just talking with us, even invited us to hike with him on his days off. Our last night, the water was unusually rough, and he still took me night snorkeling where we saw a big octopus and several lobster just to name a few. He really made the trip for us. Jeff & Roxanne

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Roxy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Because there are so many interesting and fun places on St. Croix, we want to make sure our guests have an opportunity to see them. Of course we are really big on snorkeling here at The Palms, so a regular hike and snorkel into other great snorkel locations is a natural fit. Glad to hear your comments on the restaurant, bar and rooms. It takes a lot of dedicated people to make a resort run smoothly and happily. Our staff love what they do - they are the real stars here. Mitch does a great job and he loves his snorkeling. He says it's an easy choice between painting a room or snorkeling in warm, crystal blue waters with guests who love to do the same. Last night we saw a spotted moray eel that was 5 ft long, well over there normal 3 ft max. Also saw a couple of Reef Octopus, a Sharptail Snake Eel, and the usual lobster, flounder, etc. Thanks for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Property: The Palms at Pelican Cove
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing