We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Caribbean Holiday...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

From the moment you arrive at The Palms at Pelican Cove, you know you have stumbled upon the perfect Caribbean hideaway! You will be greeted with a warm welcome and your choice of cocktail at the awesome beach bar. Watch out for the Painkiller...that first sip of the straw is pure Cruzan aged rum...

We booked our trip through BookIt.Com and couldn't be more pleased. We were taken to room 5 located right on the beach with an wall to wall sliding glass door out to our veranda on the beach. A bottle of aged Cruzan rum and Coke awaited our arrival, along with a fresh vase of local flowers. We could feel ourselves unwind as soon as we walked out onto the beautiful beach.

To understand what sets this small resort apart from others is the personal service you will receive from the owners, Chuck and Joyce and their wonderful, friendly and attentive staff. Joyce and Chuck will stop by to chat and offer any assistance required. Mitch and Chuck take guests out on snorkeling adventures daily....you will see more sea life than ever imagined, and they provide snorkel gear and underwater photos of your adventure as a gift for your stay. Our cleaning lady Giselle was always greeting us with a smile on her face, singing, happy...and she kept our room immaculate. Norbert and other grounds keepers always greeted us with a smile. The wait staff at the resort restaurant kept us relaxed and happily fed with some of the best cooking in the Virgin Islands. The beach bar has great pub grub late into the evening in case you want a late night meal too!

We took one day to travel the island to see the rain forest, the beer drinking pigs and hang at Rainbow beach for lunch and a great swim with the locals and their dogs....the poochs had a blast at the beach too! But to be honest, the Palms at Pelican Cove kept us happy with all we needed during our weeklong stay. The perfect beach for swimming, snorkeling, a quiet large fresh water swimming pool with lush tropical vegitation, an awesome beach bar, a great restaurant and the best staff we ever met at any Caribbean island we have visited.

Let's put is this way...you can't go wrong on a holiday at The Palms...if you are like us, you will be back.

Room Tip: BookIt.Com offered three $50 gift certificates for dinner, excursion and shopping
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PghCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
There are newer reviews for The Palms at Pelican Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

The minute we got to the Palms, we felt right at home! Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning crew, to the activity director Mitch, the bartender Rico, and even the owners Joyce and Chuck knew our names by day rwo and treated us like old friends!
Our room had it's own patio overlooking a quiet beach, was always clean and very comfortable.
The snorkel trips led by both Mitch and Chuck were fabulous! We did have a little trouble getting to the right part of the reef when on our own, however.
The food was very good and there were specials almost every night---there was also live entertainment most nights.
This was our first trip to St. Croix, so we still want to see and do some things we didn't have time for. We resisted renting a car because of the driving on the left thing, but taxis were very easy to get.
We highly reccommend Big Beard's trip to Buck island for some great snorkeling!
We will definitely return for another great vacation! Thanks all!
This is an absolutely wonderful 3.5 star resort with 5 star friendliness and service!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19katiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We loved the resort and staff, very friendly, relaxing atmosphere, not your typical stuffy resort. The staff was great, especially Mitch and Louis who helped us with island tours, snorkeling, shopping and island history. Great beach, great rooms with new bathrooms. We loved the food at the open air restaurant, the surf and turf was our favorite. The pool is large and never crowded. The beach was never crowded either, and felt private and very safe, no life guards.

We were down over spring break, there were not a lot of families, mostly older couples, our daughter still had fun, due to the many activities via the staff.

We would highly recommend this resort if you are going to St. Croix.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Short version: we were treated like family. Without a doubt, stay here!
Long version:
We came to St Croix on business and our usual hotel was booked, so we ended up at the Palms. You have to understand, I'm a professional pilot, I stay in hotels for a living. This place was different from the minute we were dropped off. Mitch met us at the check in desk and drove us each to our rooms (refusing my tip). He told us to meet at the pool the next day for a snorkeling lesson which preceded the snorkeling trip he took us on. Mitch took action shots of our group and all the cool things we found- and then burned them on a DVD for us to take hope- all free (again refusing my tip).
Before snorkeling, we were greeted by a man named Chuck who seemed like a regular. He visited with us for quite a while talking about various things we could do on the island and other topics- he seemed like a very genuine, warm guy. He said if we needed anything, to just ask- I'm thinking, "who is this guy?" Turns out Chuck (the guy chatting us up for 45 minutes)is the OWNER of the resort!!!
We had a very early departure the next day, so Chuck arranged for a boxed lunch made for everyone in my party!
I have to mention super-cool Julie, the waitress/bartender/whatever-else-you-guys-need lady and my room service attendant Mamma T. (Remember, I've stayed in THOUSANDS of hotels and resorts and I remember ZERO names!)
Sure, rooms were clean and comfortable-steps from the beach. I expected that and they didn't disappoint. But to be treated like family?!
Thank you so much for a great, unexpectedly awesome trip to St Croix!

Room Tip: I likes ground floor- I could walk out my door and be standing on the beach!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the palms for bout 1 1/2 weeks in June. The rooms are very spacious and clean ( thx Gloria), the bathrooms are big and the showers are renovated with glass walls and stone/tile. The staff was amazing. thanks to Amanda, the cook, for turning our catch of the day into a delicious meal. A big thanks to Mitch, for helping both my kids when they got a bit too curious with the sea creatures. He was awesome. We all took advantage of the day/night snorkeling tour. Mitch gave us a disk of pictures, which was very nice. The view of the room was outstanding and to our opinion , the beach and the reef are the best for snorkeling. We went to other beach sides, but my husband and son liked the palms the best. Best vacation we ever had. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

A great hotel, with covered outdoor seating for their restaurant, right on the beach. Very friendly staff. Lots of great activities right at the hotel, led by their staff, at no extra charge. Very nice rooms with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Our week at The Palms and on St. Croix was amazing, thanks to the hotelstaff! On the first day my husbond and I decided to rent a car and Mitch sat down with us for an hour just to give us tips on where to go and what to see. Because of that, our 4 days with a rentalcar, was really effective and we got to see the entire island! Hidden beaches and everything!
The hotelstaff arrange snorkeling- and hikingtrips. We went snorkeling three times during that week(day and night) and got to see a lot of amazing things (Big octopus and seahorse). Next time we will go hiking with you!
On our last day we got to see a hump whale with a baby "passing by"...amazing!!
The Palms at Pelican Cove is the best hotel on the island!

Ann & Allan, Denmark

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akrygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,428 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: £120 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing