We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff, clean and nice rooms, only okay snorkeling, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, clean and nice rooms, only okay snorkeling, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Palms had very nice staff, all the people on the island were extremely friendly and pleasant, very polite people. The food was wonderful and in line with prices on the rest of the island. The rooms were nice, well maintained and had a small refrigerator in the room, which was great. They gave you coke & rum in your room on your arrival. The owner was on grounds, and very personable. Pool is nice and well maintained. The beach is nice, but there are heavy rip tides there, so swimming and snorkeling there was not outstanding. they did offer free snorkeling equipment, beach towels readily available, and free escorted snorkeling excursions including night time snorkeling trips. The clientele there tended to be elderly and some family groups, not social with each other in general, but this also meant that the bar, beach and pool were not crowded generally. Very close and convenient to Christiansted and shopping of all sorts. Difficult to find at first, watch closely for signs. And beware the speed bumps in the road on the way in! Oh, the beds were nice, but the pillows were plentiful, but cheap, flat, foam pillows. Very picturesque! All large ocean view rooms and beautiful grounds. Be sure to take in the Friday night surf & turf, best filet ever, and gigantic lobster.

Room Tip: each room has a nice patio or balcony, relatively private and beachside. Air conditioners were quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antteekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    201
    49
    21
    20
See reviews for
258
553
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a great time at the Palms. The view from our room was just spectacular. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is essential to rent a car to get all you can from your visit. After our free introductory snorkeling lesson and the gear supplied by the Palms, we visited 3 different beaches around the island and had a wonderful time. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb7745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I took a chance going somewhere we knew nothing about. We just wanted to escape the brutal winter while celebrating our 5 year anniversary. It turned out to be the best vacation we've ever taken, and the Palms was the best part.

We got the Romance Package and stayed in room 4 which is ground level with a beautiful patio that walks out to the beach. They've built it smartly such that all the rooms feel private. You can't see your neighbors when you're lounging on the patio, so it was very relaxing.

The Palms front desk was very friendly, highlighted by the assistant manager, Marc. He worked with us by phone and email leading up to the trip regarding activities. He is extremely helpful and (insert any positive adjective here and it will apply). On the day the island tour van was supposed to pick us up at the lobby, the tour guy forgot about us, so Marc drove us to meet up with the tour. Simply amazing service!

I won't get into all the specifics since there is so much to enjoy there. The island tour and the Buck Island excursion were our favorite activities.

We'll be back!

Mike S.

ps. the ONLY negative (and it was a minor point) was that the WiFi didn't work in the room. The lobby and restaurant area had good WiFi though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakota, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The three nights we spent at the Palms of Pelican Cove were relaxing, fun, and everything you could hope for in a Caribbean resort. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the grounds are lovely and spacious, and the pool and beach are large, expansive, and just a few feet from your room.
Our second floor balcony room had a view of the ocean and the beach, and we felt surrounded by the charms of the Caribbean everywhere we went. We had a rental car, which I would recommend for any stays on the northeast side of St. Croix. We enjoyed a day trip out to Point Udall, the easternmost point of the United States, which I thought was well worth it, despite the narrow road.
We had two highlights while staying at the Palms. The first was “Caribbean Night,” which is held on Monday nights. They serve a great big buffet of all kinds of good food, and then you can sit around your table and watch some Caribbean entertainment, featuring dancers, and some fire twirling women belly dancers.
We were also fortunate to have Mitch, a man of many talents, take just the two of us well out into the water over the coral reef, on a day snorkel trip. We were in the water for ninety minutes, and the whole time Mitch was showing us the many kinds of fish and coral visible below us, including sting rays, squid, and a brittle starfish with legs that he will put into your hand to see how it crawls. Amazing. That trip was complimentary, and made possible in part because we are experienced snorkelers. Mitch also has trips for people who have never snorkeled before, and gives them a very fun time as well.
The verandas and open spaces of the Palms make you feel like you are at a fine hotel in the middle of a beach. Unlike some places you might visit in the states, however, it seemed to me like everything you might have expected to tip or pay extra for, was included, from beach towels to snorkel gear. Every time we turned around it seemed like someone was there to help us in an unexpected way.
We had a wonderful time, and the follow up to our visit was superb. They helped me to solve the mystery of what I had done with some camera lens covers some three weeks after we had returned to the mainland. I would highly recommend the Palms of Pelican Cove as a superior place to stay in St. Croix.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the ocean and the beach. They will leave it up to you whether you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Hills, KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our stay on the island was only five days, but we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the resort. I can only echo the comments left by previous reviewers. The resort is a short ride from the airport, and a $10 taxi ride/10 minutes from downtown Christiansted. We found our room to be spacious and close to the beach with a beautiful view. Every room had beach chairs on the patio or balcony to relax. A refrigerator in the room was a nice touch. Every staff member greeted us was helpful and courteous. While we didn't eat dinner there, we enjoyed great breakfasts in the outdoor seating area, as well as drinks and appetizers at the bar. As some have previously mentioned, the atmosphere is laid back and casual--which fits in perfectly with the vibe we got from everywhere we went on the island. While we didn't have time to take in the snorkeling trips, we watched as others received complimentary scuba lessons at the pool. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kycoltsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at the Palms for 10 days, and found everyone to be friendly and helpful. We loved our accommodations right on the beach. We did not need air conditioning with the wonderful constant breeze. The food was great, especially liked the breakfast omelets and coffee. We often took a taxi to Christiansted which was only $5, however we rented a car for a few days to get around to the other attractions. A highlight of the trip was the Monday Caribbean Night --Kikki's Flaming Gypsy dancers, Mokko Jombies, live music and fabulous buffet. Also, we tried the resort snorkel tour with Louis who was just excellent as an underwater guide, taking pictures of the whole excursion. The swimming pool and grounds are constantly maintained. We enjoyed seeing pelicans, iguanas, and beautiful tropical flowers - did I mention palm trees? Everything was beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean; we were on the ground level which we preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The staff and accommodations here were amazing. Service with a smile and the most beautiful views from the rooms and breakfast table. Thank you for making our trip great Chuck, Julie, Natalie, Ocean, Jose, Erin, and the many others who made our trip!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nugeeburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Property: The Palms at Pelican Cove
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing