We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best on the island”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was a lovely hotel, right on the beach! It was squeaky clean and had comfy beds. We never heard our neighbors. The staff are very pleasant and eager to help whenever and however possible. Like the rest of the island, the only "downside" (if you can even consider it such) is that there is limited wifi and limited TV. Frankly, that was a big "bonus!" for me.

Each night, there's a different event/dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed the Mocko Jumbies and Firedancers on Monday! All events and shows were kid-friendly, too.

Enjoy free use of snorkel gear (be sure to check with the staff about safe places to go; they are glad to give you a guided snorkel tour if you ask). I'm used to staying places where they charge you for every little thing (like on a cruise); this is NOT like that at all. You can relax and enjoy without the pressure to buy more and more and more stuff.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TBest5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    201
    51
    22
    20
See reviews for
265
559
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just returned from a week at The Palms. In spite of a very late arrival they were ready to check us into our room. The room was very spacious and had two comfortable queen beds. We loved the quiet atmosphere and being able to walk out onto our private patio to have coffee each morning.

The beach was not crowded most days. It would help if the sign on the beach told other beach goers that the beach chairs are for the use of guests only. The beach is open to the public and one day there were no chairs for us due to non-guests taking the chairs. It would help if there were more chairs on the beach especially near the two buildings housing the guests.

The food was very good and moderately priced compared to the Buccaneer's Mermaid restaurant. The freshly baked rolls were a treat. The grilled Portobello mushroom appetizer was delicious and practically an entire meal.
Food portions are very large at the restaurant.

Our only complaint is a lack of information about island events. We had no idea that Monday was their Transfer Day Holiday and that many places would be closed. Some information about parking in Christiansted would be helpful. We found out too late that parking at the seaplane parking lot is free and safe and connects to the boardwalk. We had read several stories about tourists having their cars broken into and were leery about parking in town.

I was disappointed that the beach had no sandy bottom for swimming. The reef had many loose rocks even at the stretch in front of the restaurant. The only beach with a sandy bottom that we found on St. Croix was the beach at the Buccaneer. If you tell the person at the Buccaneer gate that you are going to the restaurant they do not charge you. I made the mistake of asking for day passes and we were charged $4.00 per person. The Rainbow Beach on the west end is sandy until you get into the water where there are rocks.

Since we prefer sandy beaches we probably won't return to St. Croix. Both of us had stayed on St. Croix about 30-40 years ago. One at Grapetree Bay (now owned by Divi) and the other at the Buccaneer. If asked what hotel to stay at on St. Croix I would enthusiastically say The Palms.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor rooms and being able to step right out onto the beach....room 23 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katkin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We just spent a week at The Palms at Pelican Cove. There's lots to like about this resort: its small size, the privacy of the patios and balconies, the spacious rooms, the good restaurant food, the friendliness of the staff, the lovely pool, the expansive beach. But they could raise it a notch with a little effort and be a five star, in my view. First, the rooms aren't swept or vacuumed thoroughly every day, so the sand we bring into the room on our feet is still very much present. The patio was hardly swept at all. There's no way to call the restaurant or kitchen directly, every order for room service has to go through the front desk. One order we placed was turned into the kitchen 20 minutes after our call, which was when we were told our food would be ready. We were also told by the front desk that a certain salad dressing was a one-day special and no longer available, but when we checked on that another time with the restaurant staff that wasn't the case. At times the kitchen seems to be overwhelmed. We had to wait almost an hour after sitting down to get our lunch one day. We liked having the coffee maker and little refrigerator in our room. A welcome addition would be a microwave. We like to have breakfast in our room or on the patio, and would have more flexibiltiy on what we could have with the microwave. The bar is right next tot the pool. We were surprised that no one from the bar roamed the pool area with offers to serve drinks. We tried to play tennis one day but their (new) balls were totally flat. They weren't vacuumed sealed. hese aren't major criticisms, but they are enough to keep me from rating this resort a five star.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gileslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The only comment I can offer about The Palms at Pelican Cove is….AMAZING!!! We are a group of 4 couples from Virginia that has traveled together at the beginning of February for the past three (3) years to a place we call our “home away from home”…The Palms at Pelican Cove. The staff, the grounds and food are wonderful! We can’t say enough about the owner (Chuck) and his staff (Julie, Mitch, Louis, Eileen and our favorite bartender “Rico”)! Everyone treats you so pleasantly day or night. They have always been accommodating to our needs. The rooms await us with island flowers picked fresh daily by the staff. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean and all overlook the beautiful Caribbean ocean complete with a large lanai. The restaurant on site is awesome! From breakfast to lunch to bar fare and then dinner…good food and reasonably priced. And, the “backwards wings” are a must!
Snorkeling is an added bonus at The Palms. Mitch, Louis or Chuck will take you or your group on your very own private snorkel trip (a day or a night snorkel) just outside your door, take pictures and give you a complementary DVD disc of your adventure. What other place can you find that preferential treatment?? Several in our group went on a night snorkel with Chuck this year and the experience was unbelievable! Also, a must!!
Every night Chuck and his staff have scheduled some type of entertainment for their guest. One of our favorites is Monday night "Caribbean Night". BBQ dinner complete with mocko jumbies stilt walkers and fire dancers. What an awesome show!!
Need I say more…it was our third year in a row and we have already booked our rooms for next year!!! We look forward to seeing our “Island” family again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! They all face the beautiful Caribbean Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweetvirginiabreezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent a week last month at The Palms. We found it to be a great location for exploring St Croix. There are more expensive or "upscale" resorts on the island, but for the money The Palms was a great mid range option.

The resort offers a lot of amenities that can save you money and effort. Staff members Louis and Mitch are very knowledgeable and helpful about the island, restaurants, beaches, snorkeling, etc. We took advantage of the free snorkeling time in front of the resort. Louis is an excellent guide. He made every effort to point out features and find unique creatures that we might have missed on our own. The resort can provide you with all snorkel gear that you can keep the entire length of your stay. The beach in front of the resort offers a good combination of open areas and shade under the palms. The water is swimmable in spots, just pay attention to the sign as to the unsafe areas.

Room 16 was a great oceanfront room on the second floor with views of Buck Island in the distance.

Gas and groceries are convenient to the resort and Christiansted is a short drive away.

Service was sometimes a bit spotty in the restaurant when it was busy, but the food was excellent and everyone at the resort and in the restaurant/bar were very friendly.

We highly recommend The Palms!

Room Tip: Room 16 is a good choice. It has the remodeled bathroom with the stone wall shower. It is on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarHeelBorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My family spent four nights at this hotel over our Spring Break and what a wonderful time - one of the best vacations we have ever had! We booked a first floor beachfront room (25), which was great for our son to be able to go in and out. We had a nice patio and a very short walk to the beach beyond. We had chickens, roosters and baby chicks visiting us on our patio daily. If you are seeking a place for relaxation that is not crowded, then this is the place for you! The Monday night Caribbean night was really fun. We saw the mocko jumbies stilt walkers and the fire dancers. The food was very good with the exception of the ribs - no one in our party cared for them but there were many other options, all of which were delicious. The drinks at the bar were all wonderful and we have a new favorite drink - "Lime in de Coconut" which we will forever be comparing to others back honme as to how they were prepared. Several extra touches were provided at this hotel which we really enjoyed. The bottle of Cruzan rum and cokes in the room upon arrival was a nice touch after a long day of travel to get there. Also, the snorkeling right off the beach was fabulous. Two in our party signed up for the day snorkeling and along with another family, had an hour and 20 minutes instruction in the pool until the Mitch the guide was satisfied that all were comfortable and knew what they were doing. Then the fun part - snorkeling out in the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Mitch took pictures during the snorkeling expedition and provided the photos to us the same day! All of this was free of charge! You can tell that Mitch goes over and above the call of duty to assure that guests are having a great time. Once having completed the day snorkeling, they were able to go on a night snorkeling expedition which was quite a thrill for our son, who was able to hold an Octopus, brittle star, puffer fish, and sea cucumber and again all of this was captured via digital images and we were again given a disk to take home as a souvenier. While we were in St. Croix, we did the Gecko's ATV tour from 10 am - 12 noon and we all thoroughly enjoyed this. Everyone was so friendly, the food was great, so good that we really felt no need to go elsewhere. The beach is very nice and relaxing and I parked myself under a coconut palm and really felt like I got a chance to relax. Each time we called for a taxi, we ended up getting the same driver and he was very friendly and helped us navigate and personalized it so we got to see all the things we wanted to. I cant wait to go back here. One thing (minor) that could be improved would be more loungechairs available on the beach. I was debating between Renaissance Carambola Beach and this place and we felt like we made the right choice for our needs. The Renaissance is a little far removed from Christianstad and all the things to do and some of the taxis said they really dont go out there after 6 pm in the evening, so transportation could be an issue there if you dont have a rental car. Take the time to learn about the AC remote, as rooms can be quite humid and stuffy without the right AC adjustment. We had no trouble adjusting the AC to make the roon quite comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and updated with ample counter space and storage.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wellsdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from a long weekend at the Palms. The view from our terrace, 34, was just perfect. Pretty rooms, wonderful staff. If you eat dinner there ask for Vince, what a sweetheart! Stephanie who book our room, last minute, was the best. Local bottle of rum waiting for you in the room with cokes. Breakfast is cooked to order, again you ask for it they bring it. Owners dog sits next to the table, just like home. This place was voted best small hotel a few years in a row and I can see why. Sorry for the big chains but when we go back we are going to the Palms! Thanks for giving us a perfect get away weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fencingmom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
77 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,393 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Property: The Palms at Pelican Cove
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing