We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend getaway......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were wanting a weekend getaway and figured why not "The Palms at Pelican Cove" in St. Croix....so that's exactly what we did! We had a King bedded room on the ground floor facing the ocean.....Love these rooms. You can just step outside your doors and your feet are in the sand in mere moments. The deck area has 2 nice lounge chairs and are perfect for listening to the ocean waves and watching the stars and if you are inclined the morning sunrise !!! The bathrooms are quite large and have been redone. My favorite part is the shower. They have exposed rock/shells and you just step in and there's a bench in them incase you need it (built in)...just so fitting for the rooms!! The room has a fridge and complimentary rum and mixers...there is a convenient ice machine on the lower level and there's a washer and dryer if you need it and there was a microwave. Our room had a kind bed and it was quite comfy :) Rooms have a GREAT air conditioner that works quickly....they are also appointed as to what I expect in a beach property. Nicely decorated and none of that old "golden girls" wicker that is so common in beach hotels. These rooms are quite tasteful. Now.....i've talked enough about the rooms but the big thing is the staff. They are so friendly and helpful. They make you feel like you are a long lost friend and welcome you and will take care of anything you should ask for. Since we were there for only 2 nights we decided to just stay on property (except for lunch) and dined in the hotel restaurant. Friday night was one of their "Surf and Turf" special nights. ORDER IT. We were blown away that you actually got a lobster. Not 1/2 a shell or 1/4 of a shell like in many expensive restaurants you get the whole happy tail.....AND it came with a perfectly cooked NY Steak cooked to perfection.....Dinner the next night was Prime Rib night...although we didn't get it because we just had beef the previous night...we ordered one of the specials and it was fantastic. A beautiful Lobster Pasta dish that was one of the best I had. Was wish I had some right now !!! We also utilized the restaurant for Breakfast each morning and everything was cooked as requested and the staff still just as friendly as everyone else around the property.....by the way the coffee is really good :) I was sad to leave......it's just a place you are RELAXED and just want to hang around. We didn't go in to the ocean for we just sat out on the beach...but we enjoyed watching the Kite Surfers !!!!!! Anyway....I can go on and on about this lovely resort...but you should try it for yourself.....I absolutely can not wait to go back....This resort has done it exactly the way a true "beach resort" should be....this is NOT a big corporate hotel like a Marriott or Hilton...it's a family run lovely Caribbean Beach Resort and in my opinion St. Croix's best attraction!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms located on the ground level so you can just step right on to the beach....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seaguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Palms for 8 days. It was the best vacation in a long time. The entire staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We only left The Palms for 1 day.We had the honor of meeting Chuck the owner and his family who were all so friendly. it had such a homey feeling that made us very comfortable. cant wait to get back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Let me first say I have never written a review before on this website but felt compelled this time. We are a family of four with two kids ages 10 and 14. When we first arrived we thought ok so the place is a little run down but it has a relaxed and casual vibe so who cares. We had a nice dinner our first night there and the steak was incredible. The rooms are completely no frills with towels that are like sandpaper and the noise level from from room to room is ridiculous. We could hear everything in the room next store and had a wake up call at 5:30 every morning from the guests next to us. Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper! The setting of the hotel is very nice and the biggest bonus is that all the rooms are beachfront. My son loved to go out on the beach in the morning and skip rocks out on the ocean but there is very limited swimming in front of the hotel. There are areas where you can snorkel, and my husband wanted to mention that Mitch the snorkel guy was awesome and very helpful in getting us to where we needed to go in the island. We stayed here for four nights and when my husband went to check out the receptionist handed him a bill which did not seem correct. He very politely said this doesn't seem right we prepaid for 3 nights etc. She insisted over and over he was wrong. Finally she realized -"this is someone else's bill". No apology. My husband couldn't believe it! If you are on a budget and are staying here for diving etc without kids-this hotel might suit you. Do not expect a four or five star hotel if you stay here the reviews are misleading.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
14  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandGroove, Manager at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review. Although our property is well groomed and manicured by on-staff groundskeepers, we do like to also maintain somewhat of a “natural” environment with various plants and native foliage. We have a varied assortment of indigenous plants growing on our 8 acres of beachfront property, which may not appear to some to be shrubs typical of most homeowner’s lawns or gardens.

We apologize for the noise you encountered because we know the importance of a restful night’s sleep when vacationing, and we appreciate you contacting us while here to express this. Our guest room walls are 10” thick concrete so it’s rare that we have an instance where guests are disturbed from noise from other rooms, but when you made us aware of the situation, our front desk representative did contact the adjacent room and extend an offer to assist you with a relocation to another room.

Please accept our apologies for the miscommunication on check-out. We have looked into the matter and it does appear that the front desk representative was not looking at the correct folio, and while she has been addressed regarding this, we would like to emphasize that guest service and satisfaction is of the utmost priority at this property and only the best possible guest service is acceptable.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your pleasant experience at our on-site restaurant and for the appreciation of how close our guest buildings are to the water’s edge, on the beach, and we also agree with your comments on Mitch. He is one of our stars here at The Palms and we appreciate him as much as our guests do!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at The Palms and on St Croix with other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We cannot say enough about the palms. Got married on the beach their last weekend which was amazing but the staff really made the trip. We had about 20 guests there and everyone could not believe how great everything was. (Some very well travelled). Julie, Mitch, Rico, BJ.... Etc... You are all fantastic and deserve great reviews. We will definitely be back! You made our week incredible.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just finished up 8 days at the Palms at Pelican Grove. When planning our St. Croix vacation we originally we're looking at The Bucaneer. I almost pulled the trigger on The Bucaneer until I saw fine print that bring my two kids would cost an extra $80 per night, per kid. While I'm sure The Bucaneer would have been nice, an extra $160 per night was excessive to say the least. The kids would have gotten a "camp" each day, but we we're looking forward to family time which The Palms provided. If you don't want to see you kids on vacation go for it, but for us this was quality family time.
I think The Palms was probably the best choice for us and would be for others with a similar budget. The Palms is in no way cheap, but for the nicely sized room and view we got it was very reasonable for St. Croix. Our view from room 39 was incredible. The kids slept on a decent pull out couch in the the living room area, and my wife and I had a large master bedroom to ourselves. There was a small kitchenette with a sink and small fridge. A small bottle of Cruzan run and cokes we're waiting for us upon arrival.
I liked the location of The Palms, it was in a generally central location to all the things we wanted to do/see. I do recommend renting a car. The Palms hooked us up with Olympic Car rental which was very reasonable.
The property is nice, but a little run down. The people who work there are extremely nice and helpful. The pool is decent, and they have plenty of activities including snorkeling gear to borrow. The Monday night party is a must, Moko Jumbies (essentially stilt walkers) were fine, but the fire dancers were really impressive.
While we very much enjoyed our stay, and I truly don't think there is a better option in this price range, there were some downsides. The biggest one was the quality of food at the restaurant. I think they had a new chef. I hesitate to even mention it, but my kids were served raw chicken tenders our first day there. We didn't notice until it was too late and the both had eaten a decent amount. Despite some worry, the kids did not get sick, but frankly it was just a horrible way to start a vacation. The first few days we were just waiting for salmonella symptoms to set in. The bartender who served it was very nice and apologetic (not his fault obviously), so was management, but it would have been nice if they had checked in with us later in the week to make sure everything was alright. Beyond that the quality of food was so-so. Breakfasts were the one exception, they were very good, especially the Sunday brunch. We also at at Eat@Cane Bay and at the Dockside Bar and Grill at the Tamarind Bay. These two places were exceptional, I wish The Palms was more like them. Both places offered elevated bar food with a few additional options that we're done really, really well. We had a car so we drove to both twice throughout the week rather than eat at The Palms. The waitstaff at The Palms was nice, but the others restaurants were better in this respect, too. The Palms breakfast and lunch staff were great, but one guy we had for dinner was just not with it. I don't want to sound too negative, The Palms restaurant was fine, I just expected much, much more. And I would say it was still 10 times better than the Camborola resort meal we had, which was truly abysmal (food and nasty wait staff).
Also, just to set expectations, our room was rather musty. It is the tropics, but it was a little excessive. The AC unit in our room was rather noisy, they tried to fix, but didn't do much good, but I appreciated the effort none-the-less. Screens on the sliding doors would have been nice. Not even sure we needed the a/c, but too many mosquitos to leave the doors open at night without screens.
So for price, location, amenities and budget I do think The Palms is a solid choice you won't be disappointed with. Just rent a car, see the island and eat some other places, too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
13  Thank mikekbrown2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was a lovely hotel, right on the beach! It was squeaky clean and had comfy beds. We never heard our neighbors. The staff are very pleasant and eager to help whenever and however possible. Like the rest of the island, the only "downside" (if you can even consider it such) is that there is limited wifi and limited TV. Frankly, that was a big "bonus!" for me.

Each night, there's a different event/dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed the Mocko Jumbies and Firedancers on Monday! All events and shows were kid-friendly, too.

Enjoy free use of snorkel gear (be sure to check with the staff about safe places to go; they are glad to give you a guided snorkel tour if you ask). I'm used to staying places where they charge you for every little thing (like on a cruise); this is NOT like that at all. You can relax and enjoy without the pressure to buy more and more and more stuff.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TBest5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just returned from a week at The Palms. In spite of a very late arrival they were ready to check us into our room. The room was very spacious and had two comfortable queen beds. We loved the quiet atmosphere and being able to walk out onto our private patio to have coffee each morning.

The beach was not crowded most days. It would help if the sign on the beach told other beach goers that the beach chairs are for the use of guests only. The beach is open to the public and one day there were no chairs for us due to non-guests taking the chairs. It would help if there were more chairs on the beach especially near the two buildings housing the guests.

The food was very good and moderately priced compared to the Buccaneer's Mermaid restaurant. The freshly baked rolls were a treat. The grilled Portobello mushroom appetizer was delicious and practically an entire meal.
Food portions are very large at the restaurant.

Our only complaint is a lack of information about island events. We had no idea that Monday was their Transfer Day Holiday and that many places would be closed. Some information about parking in Christiansted would be helpful. We found out too late that parking at the seaplane parking lot is free and safe and connects to the boardwalk. We had read several stories about tourists having their cars broken into and were leery about parking in town.

I was disappointed that the beach had no sandy bottom for swimming. The reef had many loose rocks even at the stretch in front of the restaurant. The only beach with a sandy bottom that we found on St. Croix was the beach at the Buccaneer. If you tell the person at the Buccaneer gate that you are going to the restaurant they do not charge you. I made the mistake of asking for day passes and we were charged $4.00 per person. The Rainbow Beach on the west end is sandy until you get into the water where there are rocks.

Since we prefer sandy beaches we probably won't return to St. Croix. Both of us had stayed on St. Croix about 30-40 years ago. One at Grapetree Bay (now owned by Divi) and the other at the Buccaneer. If asked what hotel to stay at on St. Croix I would enthusiastically say The Palms.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor rooms and being able to step right out onto the beach....room 23 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katkin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: £145 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing