We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Vacation Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Family Vacation Ever”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was the most amazing vacation that our family ever took! We have been to 22 countries and did not realize that we have this gem right in our backyard. Our kids asked if we can come back here next year. The experience has just been amazing. The staff is superb! The food is great. The drinks are reasonably priced. The rooms are large enough to accommodate a family of 4 in one room, with a deck with lounge chairs. The complimentary drinks and fresh flowers were very welcoming. The Caribbean luau with barbeque, fire dancers, people dancing on sticks, music, staff that attends to your every need was just phenomenal! Also met other families to hang out with. We have found our spot for family vacation and reunion! We highly recommend the Palms. Can't say enough great things about it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonMama411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    201
    51
    22
    20
See reviews for
262
559
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Pro: 1) Good location in St Croix, 2) 20 steps from the room to the beach, 3) Good ocean view, 4) Room large and comfortable without issue. Lighting improved from our last stay, and they now have hair dryer in the room. 5) Staff was friendly and helpful. 6) Beach nicely shaded with palm trees and we had good privacy, 7) Pool was comfortable.

Con: 1) Beach was mix of sand, stones and sea grass so was difficult to enjoy, 2) Guests in neighboring rooms with wedding reception partied all night, slept during day so we had hard time resting. Calls to front desk were unanswered.

Overall, good relaxing time in a semi-private setting. Would give better rating if other guests would have been more respectful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Metals_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Croix,VI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What can I say? I love the Palms! I love the staff! I love the rooms! I love snorkeling with Chuck! I love Caribbean night and Elvis' ribs! I love floating in the pool with a pina colada! It is everything I wanted for my vacation. I would have stayed forever!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodgirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you want a broken a/c, roaches and stain filled Towels and sheets, this is the place for you. My brother's wedding reception is at the Palms. I thought it would be a good idea to stay here for convenience. Bad idea. Never have I paid so much for so little. Nice property, but looks like owners dont invest much in the upkeep. I can say more but wont. Looks like some fake reviews are posted here. I leave in a few days hoping to never return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank lehawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Wow. We never saw this one coming. Anyone who travels in the Caribbean knows it is impossible to rid yourself of bugs completely; the best you can do is try to keep them in check. We have a professional pest control company contracted to look after our property. But we listened when you mentioned the critters in your room after you had been here a couple of days, and we gave you a free upgrade to another larger room that we thought you were pleased with for the balance of your stay. Neither you, nor the housekeepers, nor anyone else in your wedding group mentioned anything to us about stained towels or sheets. And one of our air conditioners did quit while you were here, but it was not in your room and it was fixed within a couple of hours. But when it came to check out time, you made it very clear you wanted even more compensation. Since nothing is more important to us than the satisfaction of our guests, we went the extra mile and provided you with one night at no charge hoping that it might help you feel better about your stay. After you left we found that the handle to your room’s patio door had been ripped off the door and the hair dryer left broken on the floor. We did not see that coming either. Not sure how we got to this stage of you feeling that you needed to treat us so badly after we tried so hard to be friendly, responsible hosts. We are still scratching our heads trying to figure this one out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We enjoyed the time at the Palms. It was the most relaxing vacation ever. We loved the custom attention especially when Chuck(the owner) gave us the free smirking tours along with his dauther Arlene. Also Chuck sat down and reviewed all the sites to see on the island. DJ the bar tender was nice and the drinks were great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Here are some of the unexpected highlights of our trip: A nighttime kayak tour to experience the bioluminescent Salt River Bay nearby; Maurice, the kind and helpful taxi driver who provides you with the history of the island; Elizabeth who tended to our every wish at breakfast every day with enthusiasm and a contagious smile; Pat, who provided my wife with freshly cut aloe to soothe her sunburn; Erin who gave an insightful refresher snorkeling course and recommended a fascinating and little known gem of a snorkeling spot; and Chuck, who suited us and led us on a thrilling nighttime snorkel tour and provided us with photos on a CD as a keepsake. We'll be back with smiles!!

Room Tip: Choose a second floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedTreeHOuse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Palms is definitely the place to go if you want to relax. The ocean views from the rooms, including the dining areas, are wonderful. Swimming is available both in the pool or the ocean. The location is just a little bit out of the way so it is quiet, yet everything you want or need for a relaxing vacation is at hand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyLou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
213 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,379 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Property: The Palms at Pelican Cove
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing