We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Historic Building, but Very Noisy”
Review of Club Comanche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Comanche
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Reviewed 13 November 2012

When you first try to find your room in this rambling building it is quite confusing--our room #14 was up three unconnected flights of stairs (no working elevator), but when you find it, it feels quite homey. The old building has been nicely painted and updated. The bathroom was all new. The room was spartan, but lovely, with a massive wooden bed, phone, and TV--no refrigerator or anything else like that. The air conditioner was new and fully functional as well. The only problem with the hotel was the noise. There is a bar connected to the second floor, but we really didn't hear much in our room. The problem is all the partiers passing by, including at 6:30 in the morning when they chatted loudly outside our room.
I would recommend this pretty, reasonably priced hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizardtiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Club Comanche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

Staying in St Croix for business, so not looking for a "resort" to stay at. Its a small hotel with awesome staff. The bartenders and the front desk lady made the experience for me. They were so friendly and helpful and directed me to all the places I wanted to find. Its a very minimal hotel, no food, no pool (well they have one..its just not in any condition to swim in). It was everything I needed, quiet, laid back and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flmiltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The Comanche's main building where we stayed is one of the oldest wooden structures on the island, originally a doctor's home. As such, it's old, with wooden floors and thin walls. The rooms are updated with air-conditioning and plenty of outlets. WIFI is dependable but not fast like stateside.
The room we have is furnished with an antique King Mahogany 4-poster bed, antique mahogany wardrobe, desk and nightstands. It's beautiful, as if we were taken back to the late 18th century. There's a small coffee maker, alarm clock (never used) and an ironing board/Iron. We also requested and were furnished with a small fridge for our 3 week stay.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room is serviced daily.

The Hotel bar is just across the small bridge over the street. There's live music on occasion there and you can hear the fun clearly from the room. It's inviting and lively. The boardwalk is right down the path. There you will find the windmill bar and many great places to eat and drink. The Hotel is a short walk from everywhere in Christiansted.

Synapses: If you're looking for a hotel with sterile plastic floors and sound proof walls then this is not the hotel for you. If you enjoy the party, love the Caribbean lifestyle, appreciate antiquity like I do then this is the #1 hotel on the Island!!!

I love this place!

Room Tip: I can only tell you about the Historic building BUT they do have a modern building closer to the wat...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Quaint. Look, Christiansted is not the disney world caribbean mega fun plea happy land that you might see on other islands. St Croix in general is a little rougher around the edges, but to me, tho is the real caribbean. The hotel is old and charming. The weathered wooden floor, the turn of the century decorations, and the overall ambiance could fool you into thinking you a WWII era author, or maybe the protagonist in an old black and white film. The hotel is a bit noisy, a bit spooky, but hugely charming. Don't miss the bar!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

An in-town hotel, with custom love. Not a chain, but a boutique hotel. A huge upgrade from decades past. Pleasant surprise. STX is an amazing island with lots to do, for both the business traveler, the single crew looking for fun, and of course, families. lots of selection.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hotel is in a charming old wooden building with lots of its old period details intact. My room had been renovated with upscale furniture and fixtures, a nice quiet AC unit, and a modest size flat panel TV. Plank floors and walls conveyed its history. Nice firm mattress. It also had lots of big windows with real working shutters.

Location is great in the heart of the tourist and shopping areas and just steps from the Fort Christiansted (sp?). There is a neat catwalk over a little street that takes you from the hotel proper to the open-air covered bar and then to the pool.

I thought the room was worth what I paid, and I would pay it again, but I would not consider it a bargain.

Practical Things:
- Wireless was free and worked fine.
- You can easily walk there from the seaplane dock; just stroll down the waterfront boardwalk until you get to the stone structure pictured below.
- Christiansted is very sleepy in the summer; there were small crowds at the restaurants but the streets and national park site were mostly empty. Most stores were closed on the weekend.

Room Tip: If heat is a problem for you, ask them to turn your AC on for you an hour before you return in the s...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I had a one night stay at the Comanche & it was a very pleasant!!!..the staff was wonderful, Nicole was very inviting friendly & helpful as well as Maria.  My room was quaint, comfortable, & very clean.  The view was lovely, I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends & I'm looking forward to staying again.  Note: There is a bar/restaurant attached to the hotel so it might be a little noisy at night for guest that are looking for a really quiet hotel.  In addition, the hotel does not have an elevator so you will have to walk up stairs.  This hotel is great for students or couples looking for a quick get-away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Island L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#9 of 14 in Christiansted
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,428 reviews
8.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Comanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Comanche

Address: 1 Strand St | Waterfront Boardwalk, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range: £72 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Comanche 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Comanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Club Comanche St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing