We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A303 Quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colony Cove Beach Resort
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

I've returned to Colony Cove year after year, and have now started to return to the same unit as well. A303 is a great unit to rent, it is fully air conditioned thru out, unlike a majority of the units at CC.
It had an additional air conditioning unit in the Living Rm/Dining Rm/Kitchen area.
Make relaxing after a day in the sun with the humidity very bearable. Opening the sliding doors and letting the ocean breeze in is also an option; I like the variety of both, but enjoy the fact that I can just veg out with the air conditioning on without having to "retreat" to a bedroom to get cooled off like you would in most other units. Out of 60 units at CC I believe only 4 are completely air conditioned. Not sure how many of those 4 are occupied year round and if they are rentable for vacationers like myself.
The owners of!A303 have continually upgraded/improved upon it year after year. Bedrooms have nice bedding on them, unit as whole has nice decor feels like home away from home as soon as you walk in the door.
Each unit at CC are individual owned by private owners and rented out either thru a management firm (Antilles), or rented by the owners (short & long term) or thru the owners appointed management firms.
I have never stayed here and not had a peaceful quiet stay , which is what I come to St Croix for. I have never encounter rowdy, loud partying people.
CC provides free Wifi, which is very convenient
The staff at CC are pleasant, enjoyable, and listen to issues as they come up.
The one thing I do not like is how they label Colony Cove as a Beach Resort.
Beach area is not condusive to swimming, lots of sea grass, etc. it is however an area to relax and veg our in on a lounge chair.
To call this a Beach Resort is a bit much. It is not amenity loaded (if that's what you are looking for. No elevators, which is fine with me. If you come after the main office is closed, you get your key from the security guard. That person is not connected with office and has no authority to really resolve major issues. Best to wait til the AM and have it addressed then. buildings are 3 levels, great view of the Caribbean Sea from A303. I can see Buck Island on clear days. CC is close to the sea plane port which is great if you want to island hop; weekend flight are cheaper, book early in the week.
Buildings are being painted a new paint scheme; mucho improvement from the old paint from before.
I continue to come here for its quiet peacefulness of it. I leave refreshed and invigorated.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1SunAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our family of four, two adults and two teens, stayed a week in Unit 101A, managed by Whitney Youngen. The two-bedroom, two-bath first-floor condo was exactly what we wanted and needed.The condo is nicely furnished and has all the amenities of being at home. There are a plethora of linens for bed, bath and beach, and Whitney provides pool and ocean floaties, as well as portable coolers to take to the beach. Air conditioning is provided in both bedrooms, while the living area is cooled by the sea breezes. Some of the best amenities of the condo are the clothes washer and dryer, which meant we only had to pack three of everything, plus a swimsuit in a carry-on bag. Whitney even provides toiletries, often full-size, and lots of travel-size, hair dryers and skin-care products, especially for sunburns. She makes packing for your vacation a breeze.

The condo is clean, comfortably furnished with plenty of seating, cable TV in living area and one bedroom, full-size fridge/freezer, full stove/oven and dishwasher. The furnished lanai is HUGE and runs the length of the condo unit. It includes two tables, six chairs, two lounge chairs and even a wooden towel rack to hang wet beach towels and swimsuits. The complex was so peacefully quiet during our stay. The complex pool was clean and refreshing and included plenty of shaded seating.

The beach directly in front of the complex is what I call "totally natural," which means the sea floor is grassy, and a lot of sea grass washes ashore. If you are used to clean and professionally maintained beaches at all-inclusive resorts, you will be disappointed. However, our kids marveled at the natural beauty. The sea floor stretches out pretty far before getting deep. If you're looking for clear blue sea waters to snorkel, you'll have to go pretty far out to reach an artificial reef. However, there are numerous beaches around the island that provide that "picture-perfect" beach and clear water that most people envision.

The unit's owner gives renters an option to rent her personal SUV, which we did. Having a car on St. Croix is a must if you want to see all that the island has to offer. We drove all over the island (driving on the left side) and saw so many historic sites and the island's natural beauty, such as the west end's rainforest.

All in all, staying at Colony Cove is just what we needed for our family. We have no complaints whatsoever about the accommodations or our host. But here are some tips: The area surrounding Colony Cove is a little sketchy -- don't wander up to any stores at night. Pueblo is the cheapest grocery store, but island living is expensive ($6 for a gallon of milk). Buck Island is a must-do activity. The largest oil refinery in the western hemisphere was shut down on St. Croix, and thousands of people were laid off, so poverty is up. Tip extra when appropriate. But most of all, relax and enjoy!

Our thanks to Whitney!

Room Tip: A lot of Colony Cove units are for sale, so rental rates are amazingly reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KRK-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our second trip to St Croix. The Management and staff at the Colony Cove Beach Resort were fantastic. We took our Grand Daughter and her friend for their High School graduation present and they had a wonderful time. We stayed in 103D which was a first floor 2 Bd, 2 Bath condo which opened out onto the beach. The accomodations were great. Fully equipped with Washer/Dryer, stove, refer, microwave and all the comforts of home. The grounds and pool area were awsome. The only drawback was that the beach was not condusive for swimming. We went to other beaches (Cane Bay, Sand Castle, and Rainbow Beachs as well as Buck Island.

Room Tip: Building D has the best rooms as they face the beach and fantastic view of Christiansted and Buck Is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlieandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed at Colny Cove on many times and always look forward to staying their the condos are clean well kept the beach is Beautiful the water blue and clear the sugar sand is extremly white

Room Tip: be cautious to your surroundings after all this is't Kansas evry room is good and it's becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beachbum2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband, mother-in-law and I just returned from a week in unit 102A, a two-bedroom, two bathroom condo, which the unit owner -- a lovely woman named Whitney -- calls "Caribbean Dreamin'."(Details at http://wearecaribbeandreamin.com/). Before we arrived we were told it was fully stocked, but we were skeptical, having heard that line before. Wow, were we surprised and delighted by what awaited us! A plethora of towels; linens; shampoo; soap; suntan lotion; beach items (chairs, coolers); dishes and the all-important RUM! To find 12 full bottles of rum on the top of the fridge all for our enjoyment with the only stipulation being, "If you finish a bottle, please buy another to replace it" just knocked our socks off. We are "really heavy" drinkers so we managed to get through about 1/3 of one bottle... LOL!
Adding to the fully-stocked overall picture, there was even a full pint of ice cream in the freezer. Not sure if that was purchased for us or left by the previous renters, but it was a wonderful treat.
The unit itself was also very comfortable and well furnished. The lighting was a bit dim in the living room and bedrooms, but that's merely a matter of an additional lamp or a stronger bulb, so hardly "an issue." The water pressure was also a bit weak in the guest shower, but I'm inclined to say that's out of Whitney's control and, again, not a major issue, at least not for me.
There was a TV and lots of books to read, but who needs any of that stuff when you can sit on the balcony and enjoy the evening air. One cautionary note: Bring PLENTY of bug spray. The "no-see-ums" will eat you alive if you're not slathered in bug repellent. Even that was available in the condo. Amazing....
The grounds of the complex are also lovely. There's a charming little garden with herbs that you can pick and use in your cooking, which I did. Fun! That is, if you're inclined to get up off your lounge chair at the pool, where residents and guests congregate at every hour of the day. The vacationers and owners alike are a very friendly bunch and glad to offer a tip about dining out or snorkeling or whatever. Do be sure to strike up a conversation with them.
And talk to the Colony Cove staff, too. If you need anything, they're happy to help. Kevin, the maintenance manager went out of his way on his day off to fix a little snag in the TV remote for us. Thanks Kevin!
The only part of Colony Cove that I have little to say about is the beach because I didn't take advantage of it. From looking at it, I can say it is small, but neatly kept with plenty of chairs. You do need to walk down a tiny incline (perhaps it's 15 feet?) to get to the water. No big deal.
The location of Colony Cove is really excellent. It's far enough out of Christiansted that it's quiet at night, but close enough in that the city can be reached in a mere matter of minutes. The condo complex is also well situated in terms of grocery shopping with Pueblo a five minute drive and FoodTown within walking distance.
Colony Cove is a well thought out and delightful place and Whitney's "Caribbean Dreamin" unit was the jewel in the crown. It was truly a fabulous vacation in a fantastic spot and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Units on the first floor are easier to manage since you need not climb stairs with suitcases, grocer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chattytravelinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great location, spacious condo with everything you could want. Stayed in unit 303C. Awesome pool and ocean views. Was a little outdated. Hard beds. AC only in bedrooms but huge outdoor living space with screen doors and great breeze. Fans in every room. Nice gated community with security guard and gate to beach. Prob. would not walk in nearby neighborhood. Close to Christiansted and grocery store, subway, mcdonalds. Very clean pool with grill, chairs, tables, umbrellas. Did not spend a lot of time there though, was out exploring island! Rent a car! Average age was prob. 60's. We are in our 30s. No beach chairs in our unit to take to the beaches. Full kitchen, cable, WIFI. Went to VRBO for rental. Check out Savant, Salud, Roudy Joes, Kendricks, Sunday brunch at Waves at Cane Bay. Rainbow Beach on Sunday.

Room Tip: Any room is nice but third floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank work2play925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We just returned from a 2 week stay in room 102d. What a wonderful experience! We had visited St. Croix in March of 2010 and stayed at Carambola. Although we were in a very nice upgraded room, the hotel is remote and you can't walk to any groceries or restaurants etc. Carambola at this time was going through a change of ownership to Marriott Renaisance. Colony Cove has Carambola beat hands down. We were in a renovate room first floor "on the beach", ocean directly in front. The trade wind breezes were wonderful and the temperature of the ocean was heavenly, as was the air temp. We absolutely loved the place and Liz at the front office was awesome as well as Caroline from house keeping. We met a member of the home owners association board (Le) who was also outstanding, as we are looking to buy a vacation/future retirement home. We loved everything about this location. Close to town to shop, as well as two restaurants with easy walk to locations. Breezes was a wonderful place. Very inventive. Will go back.
to both.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Cove Beach Resort

Address: 3221 Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Christiansted
Price Range: £163 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colony Cove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Condominium Resort situated beachfront, 2 miles from Christiansted & 29 from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Cove Beach Hotel Christiansted
Colony Cove Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing