We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gentle Winds Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
St. Croix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed 15 February 2007

Awesome place! Spent a wonderful week at this beautiful complex in the "Caribbean Breeze" unit. The beach and pool are fantastic. Grounds are absolutely beautiful. It was a great famlily vacation! I will definately visit St. Croix again and I know where I will be staying!

  • Liked — great location
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travel334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    18
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
67
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2005

It is with great pleasure that I can provide this testimonial for your wonderful vacation spot of Gentle Winds in St. Croix! We were fortunate to spend a week in November 2005 with our family. If you desire to completely forget all of your troubles and completely relax, then Gentle Winds is the place for you. Tremendous views, unbelievable weather, friendly natives, great restaurants all in a relaxed environment completely pulled together on an island that commercialization has bypassed: in other words “Paradise!!” We have been on several vacations in the Caribbean, Mexico, Hawaii, Monte Carlo, and both the east and west coasts but we have not had such a relaxing time as we did at Gentle Winds on St. Croix. What a shame that we had to come back to Pennsylvania. We will definitely return many times in the future. Thank you again for sharing Paradise.



Dennis J. Hamsher, CFP, President

York, PA 17402

PS. I must add that dealing with Mr. O'Neill has been a real pleasure. He honestly discribed everything in detail and help answer all of our questions. His Condo, C6, has a tremendous view of the grounds overlooking the pool and ocean.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank ButcherofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2005

We just returned from Gentle Winds Condos. Our Stay was Oct 25 thru November 3, 2005. Our Experience with the Condos and St Croix was EXCELLENT. Ours was a family vacation that included my wife, myself, our oldest daughter and her children (4 & 9), my youngest daughter and her husband, and my wife's sister and brother-in-law. We rented two three bedroom condos (units C-6 & A-6). I cannot say enough GOOD about Gentle Winds. The grounds are spectacular, the pool area was never busy (usually our group were the only people at the pool), the Snack Shack had the best hamburgers I have had in many years (the owner is an Executive Chef who has other restaurants on St Croix). The owner (The O'Neill's) of our condo, C-6, was very helpful. He assisted us in locating the second unit (A-6) that we required for our party of 11. My grand daughter met a couple girls her age (residents of the condo community) and was happy to have children her age to play with. Ours was a vacation for relaxation, although we did see some of the tourist attractions, went shopping, and enjoyed several of the local restaurants. C-6 is beautifully decorated and very well maintained. If you are looking for a Laid-Back and Relaxing Vacation, Gentle Winds and St Croix make an excellent combination. I have included some of my photos from Gentle Winds and St Croix. I hope you enjoy yourself at Gentle Winds and St Croix.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank yachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2005

We loved the condo we stayed in. D1. Very clean and the furniture is very comfortable. Loved the tropical colors throughout the condo. Decorated nicely. We relaxed the whole week at the private beach and pool. The whole area at Gentle Winds is kept clean. And we enjoyed the snack shack for drinks and lunch. If you are planning to stay there you have to ask for D1.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank PamE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 September 2005

Gentle Winds Condos on St Croix is heaven on earth. If you want a vacation that is relaxing, with almost nothing to do, st croix and genlte winds is for you. please get a bushwhacker at bobby's shack

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2005

I returned last week from a glorious week in St Croix and we stayed at Gentle Winds. Our unit was delightful. We stayed in L2, a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo with ocean views. Our family of 5 including a teenage boy and 2 twenty something women had a rejuvenating, relaxing delightful week. It was in the low season, so it was pretty quiet at Gentle Winds (much to the dismay of the teenager....the girls wanted to vegg). The unit was clean and had a tv/dvd which we used every night, with rentals from the local Blockbuster. Bobby's Shack by the pool is wonderful. His chicken quesidillas, burgers and lobster salad were all winners. Personally, we did not love the beach. The ocean there has many of the broken shells so walking around the shallow water was not pleasant. The tennis courts were great and the basketball court was fine. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. For the price, cheaper than one hotel room, we had a second floor master suite with decks off the bedroom and sitting room on either side of the condo, one facing the ocean and one facing the mountain. We watched the Perseid star shower on August 12 from the deck and watched shooting stars for hours. It was big enough that no one got in anyone's way. The kitchen was complete with full size fridge, oven, stove and microwave and was complete with all sorts of pots, pans and complete set of dishes. They also had many flashlights and candles in case of a power outage. One small inconvenience was the water pressure is pretty weak. And the swimming pool had cracks all around the preimeter of the swimming pool. This was simply a beauty defect, otherwise the pool was great and we lived in it. It is 10 minutes from town so we found the car to be a necessity. We loved the condo, the island and our week together.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank emuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 August 2005

We spent a week at Gentle winds during Aug. Low season, just a couple of people on the beach. The beach is one of the best on the island. It is no Trunk Bay on St. John, but very good - nice and clean. The units were built around 1970-1980, so the age started to show up inside the units, in the pool and some structures. However, grounds are very well kept. A small bar by the pool with some sandwiches and drinks where people tend to hang out and congregate. Safe for children and kids. Location is very good - close to both towns on the island and other attractions (15-20 min of driving). Scuba places nearby with very good underwater scenery for both beginners and pros. Bucaneer Hotel may have better grounds but it is a hotel not condo. Otherwise, we didn't see a better place on the island and we drove all over the place. Overall, great value that's why we give it 5 stars. It is no Ritz but very good and safe place.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
6.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentle Winds Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentle Winds Condominiums

Property: Gentle Winds Condominiums
Address: 9003 Gentle Winds, Christiansted 00822-5605, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle Winds Condominiums consists of 66 individually owned two and three bedroom units located on 40 acres of beautifully landscaped property. All bedrooms have ensuite baths. Many of the units are rented directly by the homeowner on FlipKey or a similar vacation rental site and/or a real estate agent. Some units accept pets and have wheel chair access. There is a seasonal snack shack/bar. There is an excellent swimming beach as well as two tennis courts, half court basketball, jungle gym, shuffle board, salt water pool and a four hole golf course at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gentle Winds Condominiums Hotel Christiansted
Gentle Winds Condominiums St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing