We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fav place dont miss”
Review of Jaccar

Jaccar
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Christiansted
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: Jaccar Ice Cream & Desserts is a USVI brand of artisan-made frozen and baked desserts using mostly locally sourced, organic ingredients. It is our intention to “sweeten” anyone’s day, and so we offer vegan, gluten-free and adult options of ice cream, sorbet and more, with new flavors being introduced each month. Most containers, utensils and packaging for our products are biodegradable, and for those that aren’t we offer the Sustainable Scoops Program. For more details, please visit our website. We are conveniently located in Gallows Bay Commercial Center in Christiansted, and we’re open Tuesday-Saturday from 11am-6pm and Sunday from 2pm-6pm. Catering also available. We offer a variety of desserts such as wedding and custom cakes, cupcakes, cake pops, chocolate covered treats by order.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Moved to the island just a year ago, and this is one of our regular weekly places to visit. Every week there are new awesome gelatos and sorberts. All made of natural items, many local and all sooooo good. Do not miss out on this local experience .

Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaccar, Owner at Jaccar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you Cindy for the great review, we are glad we meet your expectations. We are always happy to know that we are doing something right in our shop. We value your opinion and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

At first you think it's a bit pricey, but this gelato is worth every penny! It ranks with the best that you have ever had. Many of the flavors are unique because of their fresh island ingredients. Don't miss this!

Thank maryloufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaccar, Owner at Jaccar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your visit to our shop. We strive to make a good product with what is available to us in St Croix. We are glad that you liked the product you got, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stopped by twice! I think we would've stopped by more times, but unfortunately we found this place with only about a day or two left on our trip. Jacky gave us the whole story behind his products which are all organic and 100% biodegradable (no recycling available on St. Croix). The best part is that it tastes AMAZING! Got some coconut gelato one day, came back for chocolate gelato and some toffee the day we departed. Jacky is a super friendly guy and was so fun and easy to talk to.

There may be tourist traps on St. Croix, but this is one you should be willing to let yourself get caught up by!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaccar, Owner at Jaccar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your great review, glad you enjoyed our shop. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Jaccar is not easy to find, but once you find it, you will keep going back again and again. Jackie and Carol make their own gelatos and sorbets from all natural ingredients. Their desserts are fresh frozen and ever so tasty. Several tables and chairs are provided on the covered walkway outside the store for one to enjoy their treat on site, and often Jackie will visit with you as you eat and he will tell you about the latest ingredient he is preparing and experimenting with. Feels like home.

Thank 110RSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaccar, Manager at Jaccar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Sorry it took so long to thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to submit it, and are happy you enjoyed our product. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

There just isn't anything like this place. Definitely worth a visit.
Jaccar (Jacky + Carol) is a tiny shop with comfortable seating out front. They offer an amazing assortment of flavors in gelato and sorbet -- many (like baobab) not available anywhere else. Carol also bakes excellent cookies. They have a 100% commitment to organic food and compostable packaging. Jackie (originally from Senegal) is a fine conversationalist and kept us interested and entertained as we enjoyed our treats.
I tried three flavors of gelato. Vanilla (in a choc chip cookie sandwich) was delicious. Coquino (rum + coconut) was lovely. Aztec (choc + chili powder + cinnamon + cognac) was my favorite. Gelato textures were not as smooth as I'd like; the flavors are the real show.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Harvey_in_Middletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaccar, Manager at Jaccar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Sorry it took so long to thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to submit it, and are happy you enjoyed our product. Hope to see you again. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaccar also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Jaccar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing