We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Island Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Two story great room with veranda and beach beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two story great room with veranda and beach beyond
Permanent palapas and lounges await beyond the veranda Newly up-dated salt water swimming pool with small waterfalls and beautiful colored lighting at night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Two story great room with veranda and beach beyond
Permanent palapas and lounges await beyond the veranda
Newly up-dated salt water swimming pool with small waterfalls and beautiful colored lighting at night
Our new cushions blend beautifully with the lush green beyond.
Entry with original art on walls and bar cart to left
This is our custom mahogany bar built from a tree felled during Hurricane Hugo.
All new kitchen with granite counters hardwood cabinets and with Great Room beyond
Snack Shack Located Between Pool and Water
The nautical themed Upper Master opens to patio and sound of ocean
Sleeper sofa on gallery level next to deck with BBQ
View from deck off upper master bedroom
Ensuite bath off upper master with all new solid wood cabinets and granite counter
Our African/Haitian themed guest room appeals to adults and children alike.
Guest Bedroom with original Haitian wall art
The deck off the gallery has a BBQ and provides an opportunity to show off our new glass sculpture
Upper gallery contains TV/VCR with a library of children's movies and BBQ and patio to the right .
Cocktail hour on the upper master patio privides truly memorable sights.
Gentle Winds Condominum Villas Facing Ocean
New shutters in lower master top off the renovations
Lower master sea side bedroom opening to screened veranda
Sea Side Master Bath
Walk across lawn to the pool and beach
Guest Bath with Granite Counter and New Cabinets
Gentle Winds Rec Room with Library and Game Tables
Tennis Courts at Gentle Winds
Ocean view of Gentle Winds w/ Salt River beyond
Free Putting and Chipping greens
Gentle Winds is on the water and surrounded by rain forest
Showing off Mirror and Plantation Shutters
New Stereo and Bookcase
Parking immediately in front of unit
It's a short drive to Christiansted and its quaint harbor
Children's play area on beach
Recreation building with card tables, library, ping pong
Half court basketball with jungle gym beyond
Pirate ship bow in children's play area
Shuffleboard beside rec room with ping pong indoors and crab race track beyond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Christiansted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2012
Thanks a million for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Idaho
Reviewed 9 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 May 2012
We've done our best to make Calypso Condo a luxurious but comfortable home away from home and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy our fully stocked kitchen. There's nothing worse than reaching for a favorite spice and not having it there! From cappuccino maker to pizza pan to garlic press, we have tried our best to think of everything.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2012
So glad to hear we had plenty of activities and plenty of space.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Reviewed 9 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2012
Thanks for the kind words, and thanks expecially for the tip about Don cooking after hours!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sisugal
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Colors of the Caribbean..”
Reviewed 8 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We have traveled down to St. Croix, Gentle Winds for 7 years running now, and our stay in unit C-2 was everything (and more) than what we hoped for...perhaps the best. The sound of the wind and ocean is constant, and the accommodations do nothing but let you relax and enjoy the very private white -sand beach, tropical and warm pool (newly refurbished), and plan where you might eat in the evening. We are from the mid-west and hunger for the fresh catch of the day, available from the fish market in town. Beaches in St. Croix are all public, so make sure you find your way to Cane Bay, Buck Island, or even some more secluded areas near the East end by Point Udall--the eastern-most point in the US. We feel safe here, and are able to get whatever we need from the nearby super markets and various stores on the island. Don't come to St. Croix if your idea is to "be on the go"...bring books, many, many books. (Although many people will leave very interesting books for the next person in the beach house--very convenient!) This unit is VERY comfortable, and void of anything unpleasant. The owners take careful consideration to make YOUR stay as stress-free as possible. Look forward to a well-appointed kitchen, clean bathrooms, and tropical, comfortable commons rooms. The owners have taken the time to put a very helpful binder together to help you find what is around. There is something for everyone here, from 8 months to 80, and we have seen all ages here. Drive on the left, don't over-pack, and leave your phone at home. Come, relax, and see what the colors of the caribbean have to offer..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to the sound of the ocean and snorkeling immediately
Liked least: Paying $6 for milk, but oh well, my tan is worth it.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2012
Thanks for all the kind words. We too believe that St. Croix is a great island for vacations. The locals make you feel welcome and it is completely non-touristy, not to mention warm and green with a backdrop of turquoise water. We are doing our best to make our condo/villa as much like a five star hotel as possible. Well maybe not five star as we don't have a hair dresser or room service but you know what I mean. We are always open for suggestions and always adding amenities. We hope to see you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville Nevada
Reviewed 26 January 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jan 2012
It’s nice to know that you found Gentle Winds to be as relaxing as we do. Especially in the summer, we like to plop down on the beach under a palapa and just read with the trade winds keeping us cool. Our next project here at Calypso Condo is having a custom bar top made out of island mahogany from a tree that was felled twenty-five years ago during Hurricane Hugo. I do hope you’ll be here again next year to enjoy our latest project.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elk Grove Village Il
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jan 2012
I’m so glad you enjoyed the sound of the surf at night. I find that I sleep better down here than at home and I often wonder if it’s due to the constant sound of the waves. As you know, we are always trying to up-grade Calypso Condo (C-2) and I thought that you might like to know that we will be replacing all of the bath and kitchen cabinets and adding granite counters. I do hope you will be back with us next year and can enjoy the upgrades.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$235
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing