We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about Villa Greenleaf”
Review of Villa Greenleaf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Greenleaf
Ranked #8 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Greenleaf in St. Croix for our first wedding anniversary in May 2008. We had such a wonderful and relaxing vacation! The property is beautiful, well maintained and clean. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable.The private patios had recently been converted to screened in patios with roof top decks. We had a drink each evening on our deck, enjoying the cool breeze and the beautiful stars. The website hadn't been updated yet to show the new patios and decks, so it was a very nice surprise that we definitely took advantage of. We also enjoyed the evening cocktail hour with the other guests, hosted by Erica, the property manager, and her trusty canine companion, Monet! Love Monet! I can honestly say that without Erica, our trip would not have been as enjoyable or relaxing. She took the stress out of all decision making. She made dinner and excursion suggestions and reservations, told us where the best beaches were, which ones had facilities nearby, and even had written directions how to get most anywhere on the island. Plus she made incredible breakfasts, appetizers and drinks. Thank you for the blueberry pancakes! Listen to her when she gives you recommendations on where to eat. She's always right! I kind of feel sorry for anyone who stays at one of the big hotels on the island. They don't get to discover the wonderful restaurants or to explore the island like we did because so many don't seem to be willing to rent cars. They seem to stay pretty close to their hotels and miss out on so much. The people of St. Croix could not have been nicer. The next time we visit the Caribbean, the Villa Greenleaf on St. Croix will be our destination.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amyanderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2008

To start, let me just say that I read many reviews from tripadvisor on many different resorts in the Caribbean. I scoured the internet for hours trying to book a honeymoon spot that would live up to our expectations. I found all of this and more in the Villa Greenleaf. Erica, Joe, Marilyn and Monet made our honeymoon a true dream come true! Erica picked us up at the airport and her loading our bags allowed us to step away and grab a Cruzan Rum Punch. We were whisked away to the Villa where we met our car rental liaison and settled in for cocktails and Hor d'oeuvres. Our suite was clean and uncluttered and had been pre-cooled when we walked in. To summarize our trip: The car that was provided gave us a great getaway to many otherwise unreachable parts of the island. We got to see all of the sights that we wanted, ate many outstanding meals (listen to Erica!), had all of our daily excursions booked by Erica, and had a perfect honeymoon. To be honest, we scoped out other resorts in the area and always came back with the same feeling: that Villa Greenleaf cannot be beat. The breakfast was always on time and delicious, the grounds well kept and the one on one service was second to none. If you are looking for a vacation with a large, resort-type feel with lots of room for the kids and loads of on-site entertainment, look elsewhere. If you want a clean, wel-kept, quiet, mountain top suite with gourmet breakfast and a car to zip around the island in, Villa Greenleaf is the place for you. Thank you Erica, Joe, Marilyn and Monet for making our honeymoon unforgettable!! We will see you next year!

Stay Left!
Joshua and Jennifer, Nashville, TN

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JoshfromNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

We just returned from Villa Greenleaf in St. Croix. We cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was. At every turn, our expectations were exceeded. Erica, our host, was incredibly gracious.

We traveled to St. Croix to participate in the annual triathlon. Erica was so kind that she arranged for us to be driven to the start of the race at 4:45 a.m. She even attended the race and stayed all day cheering us on, along with the other incredible guests. How often do you find that kind of service? It was unbelievable.

Each morning Erica prepared a delicious gourmet breakfast. One day was savory and the next sweet. Her pancakes were my all time favorite and she makes a fabulous omelet. She also served granola with fresh tropical fruit and yogurt at 8:30 each morning. Coffee and tea were served at 7:30.

Cocktail hour was everyday at 5:30. The Rum Punch was excellent. Cocktails were accompanied by delicious hor dourves. This was my favorite tradition at Villa Greenleaf. It gave you the opportunity to meet the other guests. They felt like great friends by the time we left rather than other guests.

Dinner reservations were made each night by Erica and she always got us in during the time we preferred and even a special table at Savant. Salud was delicious and Bacchus was also a favorite. Try the spinach, salmon and blueberry salad at Bacchus.

During the day we went scuba diving with Anchor Dive. Excellent dive center! Erica, once again, made the reservations for us.

The room was beautiful, very clean, and perfect with its own screened-in patio with table and chairs. We stayed in Mary's Fancy.

Erica also arranged for us to have a rental car during our stay. It was so easy. She picked us up from the airport, we drove to Villa Greenleaf and there was our rental car! We didn't have to wait in line for a cab or a rental car...it was perfect!

I cannot imagine one thing I would change about our stay at Villa Greenleaf. A beautiful place with lush, tropical landscaping, ocean breezes and amazing service!!!

I’m ready to return and will be thinking about beautiful memories until the day we do!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tri-Travelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We can not say enough about our vacation at the Villa Greenleaf.
We stayed for a total of 14 days & have never experienced the
high standards of excellence & knowledge of the staff at the Inn.
Jeff & Erica were more than helpful with all our island exploring needs, from excursions to restaraunts they knew just what to do & where to dine.
One of the special touches was the daily cocktail hour, Erica's
special attention to detail & her creativity with the appetizer's
were endless!
Not to mention the delicious daily breakfast, everything was over the top!
We would definately recommend Villa Greenleaf to anyone
who can appreciate fine, immaculate accomodations & hospitality at its finest.....
The Villa Greenleaf is "the Inn" of St. Croix!
Make it one of your vacation destinations, you won't be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

My wife and I just returned from our annual Caribbean vacation, all at the Villa this year. What a treat! The beautiful and spotless rooms, the delightful breakfasts, and the thoughtful guidance from Erica and Jeff (the owner) really made this stay special. The views from our room were great and were well complimented by the grounds and pool. Erica was particularly deft at finding the right restaurants for us every night and her directions around the island were on the mark and landmark-based on an island with typical mediocre signage.

We recommend the car package that can come with the room rate, as the perfectly fine 4-door Suzuki sedan could handle any reasonable road we found on the island.

If we have any complaints (and we really don't...), they are of the island generally and not of the Villa - at night you can hear some traffic from a busy road at a distance as well as frequent dog barking that stops around midnight. And when Erica suggests turning on the fan at night to avoid the rooster crowing that starts at 3 am, DO IT!

That said - we happily give it a 5 star rating. Best vacation we've had in years, after a lot of international travel. Erica was great and St. Croix is a big improvement over the busier and much louder alternative islands nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aws_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

I fully endorse all the other 5-star ratings from fellow TripAdvisor postings. My partner and I had a wonderfully relaxing week at Villa Greenleaf. Our thanks to Erica for maintaining such a relaxing, welcoming, and clean environment. No detail was missed with recommendations, reservations, great breakfasts, etc. The property is beautiful, the views are amazing and we loved the easy access to all the island's great beaches and restaurants. THANKS!

Steve & Gene

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Whitmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Wow. Where do I begin... Villa Greenleaf is hands-down the best B&B we have ever experienced.

The Property
Absolutely beautiful. You truly feel like you have stepped into paradise from the minute you enter the driveway. Surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping, the tropical scenery really sets the mood for relaxation. The media room, breakfast area, pool, and other general use areas were in perfect condition. Snorkeling gear, beach chairs, towels, coolers, and lots more are provided for your personal use free of charge. We laid outside our room every night and watched the stars and clouds go by with not another person in site - complete serenity and seclusion. Awesome.

The Room
We were in the Morningstar Suite which has a great view of the ocean. The room was VERY clean with all the modern amenities you need except for a TV - but believe me, you won't miss it at all! Internet access is available in your room and also in the breakfast area (important for us). The room was cleaned every day (very well) and the AC will get you as cool as you want to be.

The Service
There's not enough nice words in the book for this one. You truly feel that you are welcome and valued. Erica (Innkeeper) takes the experience to a level of true luxury. She is your personal assistant for anything you want or need. Dinner reservations will be made for you and driving directions will be prepared (take her advice for ALL dinner suggestions - don't rely on the Travel Guides). Want a massage? She'll schedule it for you. Want to go on a Island tour, scuba/snorkeling trip - just let her know and it's taken care of. She personally prepares and serves your breakfast in the morning and your hors de oeuvres/ drinks in the early evening. Need a rental car? no problem - she will have it delivered. There's not a resort on the planet that can come close to the personalized service you get here.

In Summary
We were already planning our next visit before we left. If you want a truly private romantic getaway where every wish is granted and no detail is spared, then Villa Greenleaf should be your choice - no question about it.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TnMLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
5.0 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,115 reviews
5.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Greenleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Greenleaf

Address: 11 Montpellier, Christiansted 00821, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range: £148 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of St. Croix, minutes to downtown Christiansted. Our beautifully manicured estate offers luxurious West Indies furnishings in each suite like four-posted mahagony king size beds with seating area. French doors allow for walkout to a private terrace with teak lounge and plantation chairs overlooking the Caribbean sea. Sun by our pool and Jacuzzi after enjoying a full gourmet breakfast. At sunset we offer tropical drinks and hors d ouevres. Car rentals are included in the rate. This is truly affordable luxury at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Greenleaf Hotel Christiansted
Villa Greenleaf St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing