We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but who spends much time in the room anyway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holger Danske Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Good clean rooms, cold ac and walking distance to everything in the area. I would stay here again without a second thought. This place was recommended by business associates and the corporation houses all of their associates here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank CMuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffmerrill, Owner at Holger Danske Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

... Climbing 3 flights of stairs 2-3 times a day really got old. I also had constant electronic key problems during my stay, which didn't help my mood. The room was fine - hot water and cool a/c, and the downtown location was ideal. But there are stairs for every set of 3 units, so there is plenty of climbing. I was there for work, and that got really old. As a result, I don't really look forward to staying there again - but I might. Like others say - it does the job well -

btw, try Angry Nate's restaurant on premises for breakfast (especially). I really enjoyed that.

Room Tip: Request a room on floors 1 or 2 to avoid lots of stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffmerrill, Owner at Holger Danske Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again in a first floor room. Our first floor rooms are very comfortable and have a nice garden patio. We hope you will give it a try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is similar to a 2 or 3 star European B&B. Not the cute kind or luxurious kind, but does the job. The breakfast though, is not included. Angry Nates is the restaurant attached on the water, but it is not included in your room price.
Rooms are clean and adequate, quiet, safe. And no, it does not pass the wife test. This would not be on her list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was the second year we visited STX for Ironman race. The previous year we had stayed in a condo in Gallows Bay,and though it was within walking distance of town there were some things that we did not like. I debated looking for another condo in the area where there lots of condos and though the prices were less than a hotel in town, I opted for the convenience of a central location. I was nervous that it might be too noisy but after talking to Arah and Yolando on the phone several times and reading other hotel reviews, they helped me choose the perfect two, adjacent rooms on the top floor, away from the restaurants on the boardwalk. The setting is charming with the buildings connected by paths with lovely flowering bushes. The rooms were not adjoining but we could easily go back and forth and each had its own balcony. Other reviews have mentioned that most rooms have views are of parking lot, but we could see the bay even though we were furthest from the water. I recommend rooms on top floors since they have higher beamed ceilings and we never heard anyone else. The pool was just down the path and upstairs. We rarely saw anyone else there and it was never crowded. Our rooms were very clean and we had plenty of towels etc. All the staff at the front desk and the maids were friendly and helpful, Huge thanks to Yolanda and Arah for all your help and patience with my questions. Eva was also very friendly and welcoming. I was delighted with my choice and will definitely stay here again. It was convenient to shopping and restaurants - see my reviews of Savant, Rum Runners, You Are Here, Galangal, EAT at Cane Bay, and Buccaneer - but especially great for race morning since it is short walk to transition. All in a all a perfect spot and I rated it five because it was everything we needed but some might not like the fact that there is no elevator and our rooms were on third floor. The five rating does not indicate that this is an upscale resort but we are not high maintenance so the fact that bathrooms are a bit outdated was ok - rating is based on location, cleanliness, friendly staff, and easy internet access. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: top/third floor if you don't mind no elevator and away from boardwalk if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADavisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoy staying here for work and if you are looking for a central spot to stay in Christiansted, this is IT! Very friendly staff and quaint, clean rooms right on the boardwalk; walking distance from many shops, restaurants, and even the seaplane base if you feel like adventuring over to St. Thomas. Nice hot showers too! The only minor issue would be that not all rooms have flat panel televisions and there is a bit of a shortage on electrical outlets, but these are minor inconveniences since the best parts of St. Croix are outside and in the water! Thanks Yolanda for being a joy to deal with every time I am here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A lot of effort has been made to make this hotel as nice and comfortable as possible with upgraded furniture and furnishings. It is located right on the boardwalk and waterfront of Christiansted. You are steps from restaurants, shops, the quaint old town, the national historic fort, seaplane dock, scuba dive boat, the $5 shuttle boat to the hotel beach on the island, the Buck Island tour boat and the fishing fleet. Walking through old town was interesting with many shops, but caution about so many steps and uneven sidewalks. This hotel is situated perpendicular to the boardwalk, therefore, there are only 2 rooms that actually face the water and those are 215 and 315. We stayed in 215 for a week and really enjoyed the covered balcony with nice furniture, stepping out our door to the pool deck and watching all the activities of the waterfront. The room was large with a comfortable king bed, nice and clean with title floors and a kitchenette. The two manageable problems were the kitchen noise from Angry Nate's restaurant below and the toilet which operated on island time. Each time we called down to Nate's and asked, they lowered the noise from the boom box and apologized. Their food was delicious and always offered fresh fish right from the boats on the dock. The maintenance man said, yes the toilet is slow. We did not drink the tap water because it comes from a rain cistern in which they add chlorine. Bottled water is for sale in many shops for $2 a gallon, recommended for drinking and coffee. If you don't wish to climb stairs, a ground level room would be nice. Any of the rooms in this hotel should be fine and comfortable. The housekeeping staff were great and very accommodating. The free Wifi worked great and stayed loaded which we appreciated because we kept our cell phones on Airplane mode to avoid roaming charges and communicated by email. The room phone has free local calls up to 30 min which is handy for calling a tour company, taxi or Nate's. This hotel does have nightly roaming security and we felt safe, but like anywhere don't leave valuables lying around and don't walk in dark alleyways at night. This room did have a safe. With so many things easily accessible we did not rent a car and preferred not to try driving on the left in an American car with the steering on the left. Instead we took Sweeny's Tour and the free shuttle on Tuesday to Divi Resort and Casino at Carina Bay in Rudy's Taxi. This was enjoyable and we had a lovely lunch by their pool beside a beautiful beach. The island bus is available for $2.50 and a great way to tour the island or go shopping with US dollars. The room frig did have a small freezer space so we had the taxi to stop, for an extra charge on the way from the airport,at Plaza Extra to purchase drinks and snacks. Taking the stairs down to Nate's for a lovely meal by the water or picking up take out to bring back to our balcony was wonderful. This was a relaxing enjoyable vacation at the Holger Danske Hotel, Christiansted, St Croix.

Room Tip: For waterfront view ask for # 215 or 315. If you do not want to take the stairs ask for a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LRJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went to St. Croix to visit their three national park units.
St. Croix is a lovely island, full of friendly people. Nowhere is this truer than at the Holger Danske Hotel. It is located right on the boardwalk, downtown. It's clean with all the amenities. If you don't get a room with a view, just go downstairs to the boardwalk and the view will be amazing.
The Holger Danske caters to groups of Danish visitors coming to see their history. So you can believe that everything works. And if something doesn't, they will fix it right away. Oh, and the price is very reasonable.
Now, if I can only find another reason to go back to St. Croix/

Room Tip: No need. Just go downstairs for an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dannyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
88 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis ...
#10 of 14 in Christiansted
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holger Danske Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holger Danske Hotel

Address: 1200 King Cross St, Christiansted 00820-5139, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range: £93 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holger Danske Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at old world prices, located in the heart of Christiansted and directly on the water, featuring a freshwater pool and resturant overlooking the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holger Danske Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holger Danske Hotel St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing