We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Gecko's Island Adventures
Ranked #4 of 14 Tours in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our ATV tour lasts approximately 1 1/2 hours and covers 13 miles of tropical terrain. It begins by riding along the west end coast line before heading up into the hills. We make a stop at an overlook that gives you fantastic views of the north shore. As we continue, we make our way to the top of Mt. Stewart where you get amazing vistas of the surrounding area. We visit plantation ruins from the early 1800's where you get time to explore and take photographs. From there we descend through the Sub-Tropical Rain Forest before ending the tour at a Rainbow Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an amazing time with Gecko for on the ATV tour. Originally we had planned on also doing the jet skis but they were unavailable that day.

We checked into the shop in Fredriksted and were directed to go to Rainbow Beach to meet up with our guide, Jose. We were the only couple signed up for that outing We thought he was just going to take us around and back and that would be it. To our surprise, it was so much more! After a quick tutorial on operating the ATV, he took us through the tropical rain forest through some pretty rough terrain, saw some amazing views, and he provided us with a lot of knowledge about the local flora, insects, and animals. We had a really great time, thanks Gecko!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geckosatv, Owner at Gecko's Island Adventures, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review !!

Hope to see you in St Croix again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    64
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Total loss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were looking forward to our trip. The three couples arrived on schedule only to find that the ATVs were broken down and could not operate. They said they sent a message the day before. Not enough time to reschedule anything else if we had gotten the message. Since we were at sea, we had not access to our phones or the internet and never received the messages. Not only were we unable to do this tour, they could not recommend anything else to do. My recommendation: don't trust Trip Advisor alone. If you're on a cruise, book through the cruise line. It goes much smoother.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Excursion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a great time with Gecko on our ATV tour. We were staying on the island but the cruise ship that day had been late to arrive so they had to readjust our start time a little bit. No big deal at all, they were very accomodating. We had signed up for the 2fer so we rode the jet skis first and then the ATVs. Our tour guide, Jamal, was great. He was very informative and provided us with an awesome experience touring the rainforest with a few stops along the way including a spectacular view from the mountain top and a stop at the ruins of an old sugar plantation. While we were waiting for the rest of the cruise ship patrons to arrive by taxi, we spent some time talking with Jamal and he was a nice, friendly guy. We are definitely going to plan a return trip to STX and even if we don't do this excursion again, I will be finding Jamal because I'll want to have a beer with him and shoot the breeze.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank takerEazy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best excursion of our vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We rented two vehicles. My husband and 13 year old son road one and my 13 year old daughter and I rode the other. After only taking only a minute or two to get the feel for it, these vehicles were easy to drive. We had an absolute blast! We were able to drive them for about an hour and forty five minutes, and covered parts of the island we would never have seen otherwise. Much of the terrain is uneven and we did encounter huge puddles, so do not think you will be in for a boring, uneventful ride! This experience exceeded expectations, and I would do it again in a second if I had another opportunity. My entire family felt that this was the most fun experience of our ten day vacation. Do not hesitate to book this - you will not regret it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geckosatv, Owner at Gecko's Island Adventures, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you Amanda, let us know if you return to St Croix !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome excursion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We did the ATV excursion on 3/29/14. It was easy to find their office from the cruise port. Jamal, our guide, was amazing and was very informative about St. Croix and St. Thomas. It was the best excursion we did on our trip. The beach afterwards was beautiful and a lot of fun. The ATV's were Honda 500's. The back seat has a back rest and is very comfortable. I would do it again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hkgentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gecko's Island Adventures also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Gecko's Island Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing