We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks of Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sand Castle on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Two weeks of Wonderful!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Spent two wonderful weeks in March on Saint Croix and at Sand Castle on the Beach. We have been coming there for 10 years now and it keeps drawing us back. We live in California and the trip getting there is a long day, but so worth it once there.

The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean. The housekeeping staff are friendly and personable and willing to provide suggestions on hidden gem places to see on the island. We even learned of a few new places to see on this trip. All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful - just ask anyone and they will do their best to resolve any issues or to give suggestions on places to see.

Sunsets from the hotel (western shore) are amazing. We saw some great sunsets in March - even the Green Flash once. While the Caribbean water is cooler than during the June-Oct time frame, it was still pleasant for swimming. A great way to spend some time is snorkeling and finding sea glass in different colors.

Although there are many other places to stay on St. Croix, we will always come back to Sand Castle on the Beach. It is comfortable, fits our needs and just a great place to relax.

While there, several cruise ships came into port. Although the beach and restaurant were busier than on days when no ship is in port, it was never over crowded or bothersome. And it is fun to go see the stalls set up for the cruise ships along the street by the pier. Some great locally made crafts and wares.

Restaurants - lots of great places to eat on the island. We love the Beachside Cafe at the Sand Castle. The burgers are wonderful - better than we've had most places in the world. We've never had a bad meal at the Beachside Cafe. Great variety of dishes on the menu. The night before we were leaving we had the Thai Noodle Bowl - HUGE portions and VERY good - be ready to take leftovers back to your room for a late nite/early morning snack or next days lunch!

Other places we love to eat at and managed to get to at least once on this trip in Frederiksted are Turtles Deli (great sandwiches), Blue Moon, Napoleons Pizza. In Christiansted - Rum Runners has a terrific lobster quesadilla. We did not get to Roses Dream Cuisine this trip but have heard really good recommendations and is on our list for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott_Online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    94
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
44
206
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at sand castle. Couldn't of had a better time. Saw amazing sunsets every night. Great place to relax and enjoy ocean/beach or pool. Staff was excellent dont just hang out there enjoy the rest of island which is short drive away. Take advantage of all the things to do

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Sand Castle on the Beach many times, and look forward to many more. The facilities are outstanding, warm and comfortable. A true Caribbean spot with the most marvelous beach, on the most beautiful side of the island, amid true St. Croix culture. The staff and owners are all warm, welcoming and patient people. Don't even get me started on the food at the attached Beachside Cafe! Exquisite.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnellon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We visited Sand Castle on our Cruise in March of 2014. A local store owner recommended it. The cab fee was $3.00 per person each way and the drive 5 minutes or so. The resort is older but clean with a very small pool (free wi-fi) around the pool. The chair rental is $20.00 for two chairs and one umbrella. If you want two free rum punch drinks the cost is $25.00 total for two. The beach is small but very clean and safe. There are a good amount of coral and rocks entering into the water, but the water is so clear you can find your way in. The beach where the water is washing in and out has a ton of little rocks and some ocean beach glass if you are looking for it. The beach was "ok"............I heard that Rainbow beach is a steep sand drop off to get to the water..this did not.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri9360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circle Pines, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We visited this hotel for a day visit while we were on a cruise. The price was reasonable as I recall we paid $20 for 2 lounge chairs and an umbrella. The chairs are on the beach which was very clean. Upon walking toward the pool someone was always cleaning the sand off the deck. We ate at the restaurant attached and service was extremely slow but the food was good.

We would visit again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: You can reserve your chairs and umbrella online. They will hold the reservation until noon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraK4833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I went to Sand Castle for our long delayed honeymoon and also to just chill out. It was perfect for both. The setting was beautiful!. Being on the west side of the island, there were wonderful sunsets every night. It was close to the airport and on the quiet side of the island. Christiansted is the more Cosmo side of the island.

There are two pools, both of which are very small, but considering the pool deck is literally four steps from the beach, it was never crowded. One of the pools is clothing optional, but we never saw anyone at that pool anyway, so to say it was private was an understatement. The west side of the island also does not get big waves, so the ocean is almost always very calm and great for snorkeling.

The rooms were very well appointed and always clean and the cleaning staff was always very flexible. The walls were a tad thin and as another person posted, there are occasional roosters and dogs that keep their own hours. The upstairs rooms are very quiet. They say they have WiFi but that is a bit of a stretch. You can only get a signal right by the front office, or in one spot of the restaurant. But if need to stay connected to the Borg, you shouldn't be going at all. Sand Castle is where you go to get away from the rat race.

The restaurant is OUTSTANDING. Everything we tried was delicious. The salads were great. The burgers were what we call Leaners: You have to lean forward over your plate for all the juice that drips off. The various tuna dishes are to die for. I would put their restaurant up against any restaurant in New York City where my wife and I grew up! Their blend of spices in the vegetables, the buns and the Foccacia bread are splendid little touches.

Finally, the staff was wonderful! The front office staff was very accommodating and helpful and the restaurant staff, especially Dean, Susan, and Scott were tremendous. They have great advice for places to visit on the island and of course are very helpful with their food selections (and Dean actually makes some pretty awesome Sand Castles).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coltergeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Most recent visit was December 2013, but we have stayed many times. This hotel made me fall in love with St. Croix. The island is a beautiful place, but the welcoming hospitality of this nice little hotel on the beach is what has brought us back time after time. The rooms are all very nice and the people welcome guests like family. Sheryl and Simone, the proprietors, interact with their guests to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. Irma will help you plan a day trip for anything on the island. Bruno helps guests get comfortable poolside and builds the island's greatest sandcastles. Adjacent to the hotel is the Beachside Café where you can eat a fabulous meal right on the beach. Make your reservation for the right time and you can photograph the perfect sunset from your table. Wonderful hotel! I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We have stayed several times. The Dolphin is first class and a wonderful house of your own with hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
12.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,407 reviews
5.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle on the Beach

Property: Sand Castle on the Beach
Address: 127 Smithfield Rd, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Castle on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castle on the Beach is an intimate, beachfront hotel on Saint Croix's most beautiful swimming beach. We offer 5 room types from beachfront villas to economical studios, affording you multiple options in the size of your accommodations. Choose from spacious villas overlooking the beach, queen studios, king studios with balconies, one-bedroom suites or a roomy two-bedroom suite. Our award-winning restaurant - the Beach Side Café - offers fresh seafood, prime beef and locally sourced vegetables with local and international influence. The lounge at the café serves craft-made cocktails and mocktails prepared with fresh local juices. Owners Chris, Ted and Dan invite you to share in the laid back, inclusive atmosphere of Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sand Castle on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle On The Beach St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing