We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estate Whim Museum

Estate Whim Museum
Ranked #10 of 37 things to do in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A restored example of life on a sugar plantation in the 1800s, this site features a great house filled with reproductions of colonial furniture, three-foot-thick walls made of stone, coral and molasses, plus the original sugar processing plant and windmill.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a relaxing tour of an old plantation that explaines a lifestyle from long ago. Our tour guide was well spoken and very well informed. The antique furniture was interesting to see. it was well made considering there were only hand tools back then.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ty t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    51
    26
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A LOOK BACK INTO THE 19TH CENTURY ISLAND LIFE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great island history. Be sure to check the entire grounds around the greathouse! I first visited Whim in about 1978. History stands still and true. The gift shop is quite small (and expensive) now but still worth a look-see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat8738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“historic plantation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

They are interesting things to see, good Guided tour for the inside of the Owners House (2 thumbs up to the guy who gave my tour). The fee of $10 is kinda high since the guided tour is only for the inside, while the outside is self guided.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BCharlesMDRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We had such a great experience at the lawaetz museum that we were so excited to visit the whim. The place is nice and well preserved. The view magnificent but was so disappointed of the lady that was supposed to give us a tour. She didnt give us the history of the place or the family that owned it. We asked questions when we did our own tour she would just give us abrupt answer. She was busy talking on her cell phone. Probably it was an off day or she was. So relaxed because there were no other people there but we paid the admission so regardless that it was only us we deserve some information. I recommend that they hire staff the knows the history of the place and willing to entertain and inform the paying public

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit this magnificent old greathouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The tour guides are fabulous. The furniture is authentic. Sometimes there is someone making johnny cakes (yummy) in the cookhouse on the grounds. Nice gift shop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetlimeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estate Whim Museum also viewed

 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Estate Whim Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing