We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved my room, great location and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved my room, great location and great staff”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the biggest one bedroom apartment. It was pretty and airy room with everything we needed. We cooked a few meals. The beach in front of the hotel is nice for swimming and has great lounge chairs. We took a walk to the Sandy Point to the south. It was gorgeous. Loved being close to Frederiksted. We ate yummy rotis at one lunch place. Also heard awesome jazz/calypso music at Blue Moon restaurant - viable only one Friday per month. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: They are all close to the beach. Mine was not on the beach but it was bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casadekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    59
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
160
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We returned to St. Croix again this year after falling in love with it last year. We stayed again at Cottages by the Sea since last year's vacation was so perfect. We had the most adorable room with everything that you needed included in it. Our internet connection was perfect as was our AC! I cannot recommend Cottages by the Sea highly enough! It is the only place that we will EVER stay when visiting St. Croix. Paul, the manager, is so friendly and accomodating and makes you feel like family. Please make sure that you meet Rose, the housekeeper who is originally from Trinidad. She greeted us everyday by name and with a big warm smile. It is truly individuals like Paul and Rose that make this our only resort of choice. You will not regret the decision to stay at Cottages by the Sea.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My boyfriend and I went for our first vacation here. After stumbling around for a good place to stay, this place was highly recommended by Tripadvisor, and I can see why! Upon our arrival, we found out that Cowry was out of commission due to a broken AC unit, Paul and Gale upgraded us for free to the lovely Calabash. Paul was so kind and happy, and even gave us a tour of Fredricksted, pointing out all the lovely food joints. (We did wind up going to all of them, and they were phenomenal, especially Lost Dog .)

Clean beach with very few rocks. Every thing you could possibly want on a vacation. Wonderful house keepers. Carmen was so pleasant. They even had a fruit tree out front ripe for the picking. All the locals were polite and happy to give us directions. Heck, we didn't even have a car for the trip seeing as we came for R&R, and just took the cab to where we needed to go, and walked for the rest of it.

I would HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone who wants to get away to a nice quiet and cozy corner of paradise.

Room Tip: AC can be a bit finicky. Rooms are very quiet. Any room is just a step away from the beach. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wife & I spent a long weekend at Cottages by the Sea having found it on the internet.. Arrived late on Friday night w/o reservations. The young lady gave us a room that was quite, clean, comfortable and just steps away from the beach. The next morning, we met the owner who was very helpful. Gave us the name of places to eat & things to see & do on the island. The staff was very friendly & helpful. They even had a container filled w/water at each door to wash the sand off your feet before entering (something we've not seen before). There were plenty of beach chairs & the view was excellent. Enjoyed sitting out at night, watching and listening to the thunderstorms over the water. Hopefully, we will be able to return to Cottages by the Sea w/friends. We know we'll enjoy it when we do. Thanks Paul and staff.

Room Tip: We found the info on their web site very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

A very nice property outside of Frederiksted, the Cottages were just the ticket for our family group of 11 people-7adults and 4 children ages 2, 4, 6, 8-we were there 9 days. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the cottages were clean and functional with refrigerators, air conditioning units, and stoves, the water was close and beautiful, the beach was spacious and safe, the open air restaurant next door was lovely with good food when used, the lounge chairs were new and comfortable, the locals that came to the beach daily were respectful of our space as we were of theirs and the overall grounds of the property were relaxed and comfortable.
Having a car is certainly recommended for shopping at the grocery stores for food and drink, the fish market off of centerline road, going out for pizza, having a lunch/dinner at Rythms on Rainbow beach, travelling to Christiansted, Cane Bay, the Rum tour etc. However, it was always a pleasure to get back to the Cottages for relaxation on a great beach setting.
Frederiksted can be somewhat intimidating to folks looking for a resort atmosphere but I can say that after spending a day or two in the area and at the Cottages we found the environment to be non threatening but the use of common sense is important at night and in town. My first observation, driving in was one of "on alert" due to the area and some of the conditions but as one learns quickly the island as a whole is really not too different from one place to the next. We felt safe during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, culture and the Cottages.
If you are looking for an affordable accomodation, beach front stay, relaxed environment, non-resort atmosphere, that you can spend time with your family or spouse/partner at then this is a most welcoming property. We had a chance to meet Paul Benedict (St. Croix resident), his cousin Wayne and wife (Florida residents) and staff members Carmen, Francisco and others and all were very fine people with a wealth of history and knowledge about St. Croix and the Cottages. If you go there you will enjoy peace of mind-which is something I found to be a pleasure to catch up with. Does everyone want to go back? It is a unanimous YES.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank northwest02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My wife and I spent our belated honeymoon at Cottages by the Sea in late June. We absolutely loved everything about it. Stayed in the Crow's Nest. Absolutely PERFECT view of the beach and water from our porch. Although AC is in the room, we didn't need it at all because of the constant breeze that flows through the rooms. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful with any request. There's not a lot of commercial development in the immediate area (fine with us), but a few good restaurants are available within a few minutes drive. Even a K-Mart within 5 minute drive for anything you forgot. The snorkeling immediately in front of and next to the Cottages property was great; shallow water, but a great variety of fish, etc. We saw turtles, rays, giant puffer fishes, parrot fish, eels, etc..... Also snorkeled around the nearby Frederiksted pier...well worth the effort (jump in from the wooden portion of the pier and visit the remains of the old pilings). I have traveled quite a bit and generally have no interest of going to the same place twice. I would definitely make an exception to that rule for the Cottages. At risk of sound repetitive, our stay was perfection!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaTravelerTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We were looking for a nice, quiet, low key honeymoon. Everything about it was perfect. The staff was amazing, the accommodations were comfortable, the location was amazing. Free use of the bikes, book closet, and grill area- I cant say enough about how much we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelunaticexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing