We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crows Nest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crows Nest”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The staff was very welcoming, warm and friendly. The room lovely with full kitchen, million dollar views and very comfortable bedding. The gorgeous waters right outside your door, great snorkeling and swimming right outside your door. Lovely landscaping throughout the property. Would come back over and over again. Heavenly!

Room Tip: Just talk to the staff, about your individual needs they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    59
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
160
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have been all over St. Croix and there's no better place to stay. The ocean front is wonderflu-snorkeling is awesome-we saw a sting ray and two sea turtles, so far!!!!!!!!! the staff is attentive but not overbearing. The room we like is 'Cocktail' and it has a full kitchen so we grocery shop and eat in a lot. We also like to use the barBQ on the beach. It's my happy place!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

There's not much to add - the previous reviewers have done a nice job of capturing the essence of Cottages. We love this place! We stayed a few nights in 2010 before checking into a villa in the east. This time we came back and spent the entire time at Cottages. "The West is the best!" It's great to get out of bed and wander out on the lovely beach for a walk or swim. Many days were spent hanging around in the loungers and floating in the water - maybe with a quick run to Turtle's Deli to grab a sandwich or to the grocery store to find something to grill for dinner. Quiet, laid back, this place fits our style perfectly!

Room Tip: The descriptions on the website are very accurate. Read them carefully and look at the pictures. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondacks, NY State
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at Cottages by the Sea for ten nights in December as we did one year ago. Another excellent stay. We realize we won't go anywhere else in St. Croix since staying at the Cottages 100% assures a great Caribbean getaway. It works so well to be right there on the water, in a very clean cottage with anything you might need - including some adventures - a short drive away. And it is so convenient to have an excellent restaurant right night door at the Sandcastle. The whole island is magical, and I highly recommend Cottages for anyone, including young families like ours, who seeks peace and quiet and an incredible beach location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADKWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Croix and Floridaz
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We recently returned to the mainland from our latest stay at Cottages by the Sea. Obviously we are happy there and truly consider it a second home. During our month-long stay we spent time with other folks who are repeat visitors and met several who were enjoying their first stay. It was great to be withThe Benedict family, Carmen, Rose, Francisco, Elvis, Lyndie too. The weather brought continuing changes in the beach landscape, more than usual for Nov/Dec, but made for something to new to enjoy every few days. It was great to see cruise passengers in greater numbers enjoying their visit, even met a few of them from all over the world on the beach and in town.
Improvements in the Cottages continue. The only downside we noticed was that the landscaping needs more attention.
As so many of the reviews indicate, the people, location, and overall ambiance is truly the perfect antidote to mainland stress, made for those who wish to make their own fun and enjoy an authentic island experience.
One final word, for those like me to who like swimming in a pool, Sandcastles on the Beach right next door offers a "beach club membership" that among other things offers access to both of their pools.
Last but not least, you positively cannot beat the everyday show of sunsets. Being on the west end of the island Cottages is perfectly located to enjoy, make sure you are on one of the patios or settled into one of the beach lounges and enjoy the show each afternoon. Even the "bad" sunsets are awesome and a time of joy!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are within a only a few yards of the beach. If you need to save on room rate, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stxvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for christmas in one of the cottages and really enjoyed the location. The cottages have access to and are on one of the nicest snorkeling beaches I have seen. the cotages are well equipped and you only need to bring the usual things for a vacation rental (good knives, specific kitchen tools, etc). There is daily maid service with towel replacement and general clean up. The common areas are pleasant and well maintained. The staff is exceptional. Without a doubt the nicest caribbean rental I have stayed at. I normally give no 5 star reviews but this place does its thing really well. Only nit would be a wireless router booster to reach far corners of the property, I had to walk up to the office for a connection, really a major struggle (not)

Room Tip: pick a cottage that meets your needs, we looked at several while we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chet_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We will be going back this spring for our third year in a row the the loveliest spot in the world. We can't wait to see our family away from family. Paul, Ruth, and Donovan always welcome us with open arms, and Carmen, Lynda, and the lovely Rose take wonderful care of us while we escape to this perfect cottage on the beaches of St. Croix. We stayed in Carnival, the stand alone cottage, the first two years and will be in one of the second floor cottages overlooking the beach this year, just for a change. If you are looking for the ideal, quite, peaceful, and warm (emotionally as well as physical) vacation spot, this is the place for you. We love to spend hours under a palm tree or on the porch watching the day go by, and then frequently taking time out from rest to go snorkeling just steps from our porch. We have seen some of the best Caribbean water creatures right in front of Cottages By the Sea. We hope to visit every year, and once we retire completely, to be able to come for multiple stays.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
355 reviews
5.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing