We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay -long overdue review!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I loved the Cottages By The Sea. Had the opportunity to stay there last fall and it was outstanding in every way. People who worked there were kind and accessible to assist for suggestions if needed, the location cannot be beat...right on the beach , the staff cleans well daily...they loan you fun old funky bikes for short trips to town and the stand up paddle board shop in town was great as well. Would return there in a heartbeat.
Hope to do so again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayakerPuertoRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We are St. Croix residents who chose to stay at Cottages for a weekend getaway with friends. It is a charming small property right on a beautiful sandy beach with crystal clear water. The owners went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. This is a unique property which gives one the opportunity to experience true island living at its finest. We look forward to returning!!! Our thanks to all the staff for a great weekend! Kat & Roger

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have stayed at Cottages several times over the past couple of years. We just came back from end of April stay and it was as great as always. Being right on the beach is awesome. The cottages are always clean and comfortable. We've stayed in three different units and liked them all. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you need help or something, just ask and they are happy to help. The kitchens allow you to buy your own food and prepare your meals. That's a plus to us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Spent 3 nights after spending week on St Thomas and wished we had done it the other way around. Stayed in the Caribe unit. Facing the beach and just 3 or 4 steps from beach. Caribe unit was really nice with king bed and a seperate living room/kitchen. No wall between them but kind of a half divider. Staff and owners are great, we arrived early in morning and they let us use an unoccupied room until ours was vacated and cleaned. Basic snorkle equipment and beach items, bikes, and even a kayak for free use. Gas BBQ grills for use in pavillion. Not easy to find a place like this anymore. Beach is great, Always felt safe. Amazing sunsets right from your porch. Loved to go out in the morning with my coffee and read and then go for a quick swim.

This is a great place to kick back and relax. I can see why people come back year after year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just returned from a 9 day family vacation in St. Croix and stayed at Cottages for the second time. We were there in March 2011 for a wedding. Paul Benedict and staff were extremely accommodating as usual. We stayed for 4 nights in Commodore and 5 in Chart House. We like the roominess of Commodore, since my husband and I were there with 2 adult children, but wanted an oceanfront experience so we moved to Chart House which is on the beach. We were next door to the Sandcastles and had brunch and dinner there. The food was great and the atmosphere beautiful.
I can't say enough about the beauty of the beach in Frederiksted. Snorkeling was beautiful and so easy, just out the front door, so to speak . The water is warm and clear and the sand so soft. The sunsets are gorgeous.
Cottages is a charming, quaint jewel of a place, and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fordcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The staff was very welcoming, warm and friendly. The room lovely with full kitchen, million dollar views and very comfortable bedding. The gorgeous waters right outside your door, great snorkeling and swimming right outside your door. Lovely landscaping throughout the property. Would come back over and over again. Heavenly!

Room Tip: Just talk to the staff, about your individual needs they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have been all over St. Croix and there's no better place to stay. The ocean front is wonderflu-snorkeling is awesome-we saw a sting ray and two sea turtles, so far!!!!!!!!! the staff is attentive but not overbearing. The room we like is 'Cocktail' and it has a full kitchen so we grocery shop and eat in a lot. We also like to use the barBQ on the beach. It's my happy place!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
501 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
12.4 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,435 reviews
0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
368 reviews
5.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range: £86 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing