We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mammoth Lakes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vacation spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The cottages are great. Everything about the hotel is perfect. This is the coolest place we have ever stayed. The staff makes this place unforgettable. I could vacation here and never go anywhere else. We have found perfection.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    59
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
158
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Cottages is located right on the beach just south of the pier in Frederiksted. It is quiet and has calm waters. They have kayaks and bikes for use by the guests. Good snorkeling is right off the beach but great snorkeling is about a 30 minute walk along the beach at the Frederiksted Pier--awesome walls 30 ft deep of very colorful coral and tons of fish. St Croix offers all sorts of tours-we really enjoyed the botanical gardens. Our unit at Cottages was clean and breezy with a great view of the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

After reading a lot of great reviews about cottages by the sea we decided to give it a shot. What a wonderful laid back week at this great little resort! The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling is great even right in front of the resort. The water is calm and clear making for great swimming, wading and a relaxed beach feel. The resort is small and even though fully booked while we were there was quiet and peaceful. The staff is very friendly and helpful, we definitely want to come back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at Cottages in early April. My sweetie and I have been staying at Cottages when we are on island for over a decade. We obviously love the vibe, the proximity to the water, the other guests Cottages draws & the wonderful staff. If you like a restful oasis with attentive staff and the Caribbean lapping at your front door, this is the place. Too, there is a process of continuous improvement. Whenever we visit, we notice that things around the Cottages, both big and small, have changed for the better. It only adds to the delightful ambience which is the Cottages. This is real Caribbean living at its finest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We visited STX at the end of March and stayed at Cottages by the Sea. What a great place. We were originally staying in Commodore's Villa but were also upgraded to the Chart House. This is exactly where I want to stay on my next visit to the island. This cute little cottage on the beach was perfect for us. Paul and Lindy were very friendly and accomadating. Our cleaning person was Jennifer and she was just great...always greeting us with a smile and "good morning". Just a wonderful staff and well run facility.

This truely is one of the best beaches on STX. You can walk to the town of Fredriksted which was only busy on cruise ship days. We rented a jeep. I recommend going with a rental car if you want to explore the whole island as there is lots of stuff to see and do. It was perfect to have the beach 10 steps away and also have your vehicle a meer 10 steps away. We could lay on the beach and if we started feeling up for an adventure we would just walk right over to our jeep, hop in with our bathing suits on and go.

If you are in the mood to just relax at your cottage and spend most of your time there, it's great for that too. They have everything you need, full kitchen, grills, patios. There are a couple grocery stores a few minutes away to pick up food, supplies, beer, liquor, etc. There is even a very nice restaurant next door, Beachside Cafe. My only regret is that we never got a chance to eat there, although I heard many great things about their food. We were just so busy traveling around the island that we forgot to make time to eat at Beachside Cafe. That is on our list for our next visit as we will definitely be staying at Cottages again. I highly recommend this establishment!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go with a beach front cottage. I have never fallen asleep to the sound of wave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takerEazy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pancho677
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at Cottages by the Sea in March and had a fantastic time. We were in Compass Rose - the management actually gave us a free upgrade to this cottage - and we had an incredible view of the sea on our doorstep. I have never seen a more beautiful beach. We felt very relaxed and very safe walking up and down the beach.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room itself was quite nice, perhaps a bit rustic but we didn't mind. We cooked several meals on the nearby grills and took full advantage of the fridge, dishes, silverware, coffee maker, etc. By doing so we probably saved a couple hundred dollars on food expenses.

On word of caution: On the weekends it can be a little noisy. The beach, which is lovely in the morning, can fill up a bit later in the day. Some local partiers will blast music in the evening hours. But the music and revelry was finished by 8 or 9 at the latest. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing Caribbean experience, try staying at Cottages during the middle of the week.

Bottom line: I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pancho677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

After an unusually brutal Maine winter, we took Jimmy Buffett’s lyrics literally and flew “to St. Somewhere.”

St. Croix, the least travelled and largest of the U.S. Virgin Islands – at 83 square miles – retains that increasingly rare Old Caribbean charm, as well as its natural beauty.

We stayed at the low-rise pastel yellow Cottages by the Sea on an idyllic coconut palm- and sea grape-fringed golden strand just south of Frederiksted. The eclectic boutique resort consists of 22 units, each unique in décor and name, and all moderately priced. Our spacious and newly remodeled Cone Shell – about 50 feet from the sand – had a full kitchen, breakfast nook, windows on three sides, soaring ceilings with four fans, and bright yellow and green wainscoting adorned with island art. The keyless entry was a welcome and practical touch.

After a long day’s flights from Boston to Miami to St. Croix, we attended the host’s barbecue on the beachside terrace (burgers, dogs, salad: $5) and watched the sun set into the ocean, hoping to catch the famous and elusive green flash, an obligatory evening activity for guests on the peaceful west end.

We arose early with the neighborhood roosters and spent mornings lounging on Dorsch Beach, swimming in the calm, clear Caribbean and strolling to collect sea glass. It was sunny, breezy and 85 degrees every day.

Each afternoon, we explored the island in our economical Toyota Yaris. We drove through the rain forest, stopping at the woodworker’s shop at St. Croix Leap and at the Mount Pellier Domino Club, where we beheld the unforgettable beer-drinking pig. Four bucks bought an O’Doul’s for said swine and a hilarious photo opportunity.

At Salt River Bay, we stood on the site where Columbus landed in 1493 (his second voyage), naming the island Santa Cruz. After meandering through cactus-dotted hills along the south shore, we reached the spectacular Point Udall, the easternmost point in the U.S. The island’s only casino, at the Divi Carina Bay Resort, is on the east end.

We also visited the restored Whim sugarcane plantation and St. George Village Botanical Gardens, mainly for their museum stores.

Duty-free shops abound in picturesque Christiansted, a National Historic Site and home of the impressive Fort Christiansvaern, built of Danish yellow brick on the harbor in 1749.

The quaint town of Frederiksted is similarly remarkable, with its red Fort Frederik (1760), a clock tower and additional Danish and Victorian architecture. Thankfully, its cruise-ship pier was occupied only once during our weeklong vacation.

A full-day catamaran sail aboard Big Beard’s 42-foot Renegade took us to the unspoiled and federally protected Buck Island, with its pristine sugar beach, turquoise water and coral garden, where we snorkeled among huge schools of blue tang and encountered one ray. Later, after anchoring at a secluded St. Croix beach, we saw some mongooses (weasel-like critters famed for killing snakes). The crew grilled burgers, dogs and mahi, and the punch flowed.

Other memorable – and more refined – meals included mahi tacos and shrimp scampi overlooking the ocean at Turtles; grilled mahi with rice and beans at Villa Morales, a Puerto Rican place popular with Crucians; and shrimp roti from Singh’s.

While we splurged on a few mementos – a dive skin, St. Johns Bay Rum cologne, hand-painted maracas – our best souvenirs are the memories and the tans. We have both.

Room Tip: Cone Shell, good price, great interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlliecatOOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing