We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, helpful staff, decent rooms, limited food options unless you cook.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beach, helpful staff, decent rooms, limited food options unless you cook.”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

The best thing about this place is that you open your room door and are steps from a beautiful beach. It is very laid back and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They have bikes, kayaks, beach toys and snorkel equipment that you can use for no charge. Rooms are not fancy, but very clean and everything works. Good beds, linens and pillows (not the junky stuff you get at similarly priced hotels). Kitchen has all you need to cook all meals, and they have 2 gas grills you can use. No restaurant. The restaurant next door is only open Friday through Monday! Even during Christmas week - strange! Our family highly recommends Cottages. Rent a car, for sure, unless you plan on chilling at the beach every day. This is not a place for people who wanted to be waited on and taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    59
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
160
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2009

I hesitate to even write a review because I don't want too many people to share in the secret of this fabulous low-key family beach resort! The accommodations are clean and beautifully appointed without being ostentatious. The owners are delightful and helpful, more like family than management. All the help have the wonderful island warmth you would hope for. The open shared areas of patios and grills are incredible for family cooking and sharing of fun under the sun and stars. The beach is literally at your feet. Enjoy your beer or rum punch, made by your own hand in your cottage or on the patio bar, open to all guests, (bring your own libations.. you won't be served unless you have your spouse or family member serve you!) and enjoy it on the hammock or swing, or lounge on the beach. This is my idea of paradise. We arrive again in two days (December 2009) I can't wait. Watch out Paul! The Marins have landed...again!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emerkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

My wife and I stayed 8 days for our 25th anniversary and the Cottages is superb. We first went there for our 20th and it has improved. The beach is the best on the island and snorkeling is wonderful. The Benedict family is extra attentive and all our expectations were exceeded from our first visit. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Don't think you have to stay at the RITZ to enjoy the Caribbean. Cottages is a calm, clean, and pleasurable place to visit. Always feel safe and secure and the whole experience is wonderful. They drive on the left so you do have to stay "tuned in" but the restaurants great and the people are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uaplumberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Vernon, IL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Picturesque is an appropriate word for the setting of this family style resort. If you are looking to be impressed by glass and marble 5 star resorts...this isn't for you. However, for the VAST majority of us...this place is "perfect". The location is the best on the island. The beach is the most pristine. The water is calm, clear, and the snorkeling you can do right outside your room is amazing. We actually used the kayak (provided for guest usage) and paddled our way to Sandy Point. It was a couple of miles and an hour of the most beautiful scenery you can imagine. We stayed one night in Sylvia and the other 7 in Cocktail (as they graciously upgraded us...just to be accomodating). The West End (in my opinion) is far superior for the "real" island feel. People are friendly and helpful. We were there for 8 nights. We hiked, kayaked, went 4 wheeling in a rented jeep, swam, snorkled, soaked in the tide pools (a hidden gem worth finding...ask the locals for directions), overall we relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed every moment!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandTMeyer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon - a great location, one of the best places we have ever stayed at - staff was great, room was amazing (incredible view), felt very safe; everything on the island is close by, so rent a car! we took full advantage of the in-suite kitchen (we both love to cook, and really don't enjoy restaurant food so much - usually it's "we could have done better") and shopped at the local grocery store. Expect some items to be 30% more expensive than on the mainland, but other items are cheaper - if you pay attention, grocery costs are only slightly higher than you would expect at home.

Very close to some great sights - Sandy Point is the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen (compared to places in dominican, cuba, costa rica, and belize), snorkeling right off your door step (really! coral + quite a bit of fish within 10 feet of shore).

The rooms (we peeked into a few others) vary from looking quite upscale (tile, hardwood, large LCD TVs), to a simple cottage (as we prefer, and stayed in).

The staff and semi-permanent residents were extremely helpful in letting us know what to go see and do on the island, and where to be careful (just like your hometown, you wouldn't walk certain streets at night or park your car in a deserted area - St Croix is no different).

We prefer to mix exploring and relaxing (about 50/50) on our vacations, and with the size of St Croix, nothing is that far away... get a few maps, none are perfect, and we found that a quick cross-reference on street names and intersections helped enormously. Keep in mind that this is not an all-inclusive - no restaurant/room service/etc - but not what we wanted..... we've never liked the resort-type locations...


Highlights of the trip:
- beer drinking pigs (huge pigs, they react like a dog getting a treat when they see a beer can)
- buck island (a bit pricey to get out, but some of the best coral reef I've seen - not as much variety of fish as in Belize or costa rica, but much more vibrant coral)
- sandy point (as i said above, incredible beach, great views - and completely deserted - but only open on weekends, so plan for this one)
- beach @ cottages by the sea - very quiet, clean; even when the cruise ship comes in (a few miles down, twice while we were staying), the staff does a good job in keeping the cruise people a little away from their section of property -- snorkeling was surprisingly good within a few feet of the cottage - we went out at least twice every day with our own gear....

Highly recommend, would be perfect to come back with more people (kids included)....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d_eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnestans in China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Tempted to write a bad review in hopes to keep everyone away. This palce was great. Wished we would have spent 2 weeks here instead of going to St. John. Beautful room with a great view, full kitchen. We were on our honeymoon couldn't have found a better place. We will be back someday.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamkaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Our first visit to St.Croix and Cottages by the Sea made it a wonderful experience. Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Having a kitchen was wonderful to be able to eat in for any meal, basic supplies are there for you to use. The best off the beach snorkeling we have ever encountered, Leatherback turtles, stingrays, lobster, starfish, dolphin, numerous tropical fish, some actual live coral! Never seen a sunset because of cloud cover but it was still beautiful. Frederiksted is very close for dining out, Coconuts by the Beach(dinner meals $12 and up), Blue Moon(dinner meals $20 and up), were two of our favorites. Restaurant at Hotel adjacent to Cottages was closed for vacation but very convenient if it would have been open. Cooked in our room several nights which I recommend due to dining out is pretty pricey at some places. If you have Cottages by the Sea on your list....choose it!! We plan on going back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
497 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
352 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing