We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from the mainland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St.Croix and Floridaz
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our home away from the mainland”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

This was our 35+ return to St. Croix and while we've owned homes there Cottages has been our home for many years. The perfect spot to decompress and de-stress. The two large patios where one can read, nap, draw, or just gazing mindlessly at the sea are a big advantage to places where such spaces often have a beach bar. And there is a great restaurant and bar next door when you are in the mood.
We're been parttime Crucians for 22 years and renting at Cottages is as good as having our own home --- less work too :-)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stxvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    59
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
160
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland , OH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My husband and I chose Cottages by the Sea based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor.com and we were not disappointed. It was quiet, comfortable, clean and situated on one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. We rented a car (a Jeep, which I highly recommend) and had a great time exploring the island. We snorkeled at Buck Island, visited Point Udall and enjoyed walking around and getting to know the locals. It was a trip we will never forget. Thank you, Paul, Donovan, Carmen and all of our friends at Cottages by the Sea for such a wonderful vacation experience! We miss you already!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CruzanGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Cottages by the Sea was perfect for my husband and I. The specatular beach was only a few steps from our front door. Truly a relaxing vacation. Loved the hugs we received from staff upon our departure. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 06211964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

The best thing about this place is that you open your room door and are steps from a beautiful beach. It is very laid back and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They have bikes, kayaks, beach toys and snorkel equipment that you can use for no charge. Rooms are not fancy, but very clean and everything works. Good beds, linens and pillows (not the junky stuff you get at similarly priced hotels). Kitchen has all you need to cook all meals, and they have 2 gas grills you can use. No restaurant. The restaurant next door is only open Friday through Monday! Even during Christmas week - strange! Our family highly recommends Cottages. Rent a car, for sure, unless you plan on chilling at the beach every day. This is not a place for people who wanted to be waited on and taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2009

I hesitate to even write a review because I don't want too many people to share in the secret of this fabulous low-key family beach resort! The accommodations are clean and beautifully appointed without being ostentatious. The owners are delightful and helpful, more like family than management. All the help have the wonderful island warmth you would hope for. The open shared areas of patios and grills are incredible for family cooking and sharing of fun under the sun and stars. The beach is literally at your feet. Enjoy your beer or rum punch, made by your own hand in your cottage or on the patio bar, open to all guests, (bring your own libations.. you won't be served unless you have your spouse or family member serve you!) and enjoy it on the hammock or swing, or lounge on the beach. This is my idea of paradise. We arrive again in two days (December 2009) I can't wait. Watch out Paul! The Marins have landed...again!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emerkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

My wife and I stayed 8 days for our 25th anniversary and the Cottages is superb. We first went there for our 20th and it has improved. The beach is the best on the island and snorkeling is wonderful. The Benedict family is extra attentive and all our expectations were exceeded from our first visit. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Don't think you have to stay at the RITZ to enjoy the Caribbean. Cottages is a calm, clean, and pleasurable place to visit. Always feel safe and secure and the whole experience is wonderful. They drive on the left so you do have to stay "tuned in" but the restaurants great and the people are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uaplumberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Vernon, IL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Picturesque is an appropriate word for the setting of this family style resort. If you are looking to be impressed by glass and marble 5 star resorts...this isn't for you. However, for the VAST majority of us...this place is "perfect". The location is the best on the island. The beach is the most pristine. The water is calm, clear, and the snorkeling you can do right outside your room is amazing. We actually used the kayak (provided for guest usage) and paddled our way to Sandy Point. It was a couple of miles and an hour of the most beautiful scenery you can imagine. We stayed one night in Sylvia and the other 7 in Cocktail (as they graciously upgraded us...just to be accomodating). The West End (in my opinion) is far superior for the "real" island feel. People are friendly and helpful. We were there for 8 nights. We hiked, kayaked, went 4 wheeling in a rented jeep, swam, snorkled, soaked in the tide pools (a hidden gem worth finding...ask the locals for directions), overall we relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed every moment!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandTMeyer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
496 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
352 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing