We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to relax, unwind, rest and rejuvenate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We spent 7 nights in the Carnival cottage. It was great for two people. Clean room, maid service was sharp and on time. Staff was helpful and gracious, and all of our needs were met. The bed was great, we slept like babies. Fluffy towels, neat kitchenette and clean fridge. Our room was not yet updated, (and we were clearly informed of this) so our shower left a bit to be desired, but the water was hot, and the pressure was good. The location was perfect, the privacy was amazing, even with activites going on around us. Exploring the island was easy from this location, and access to the beach was mere steps away from our room. Our plan is to return and make Cottages by the Sea our place to stay. This is not the place if you are looking for constant partying and action. This is the place to mellow out and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TeBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Cottages By The Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2010

My husband and I recently got back from a stay at the Cottages by the Sea, and we are ready to go back! We had one of our best vacations ever. We stayed in the Compass Rose cottage. Granted, the cottage is small and definitely needs to be remodeled, but the location is superb! You are steps from the ocean and the sound of the waves is very relaxing. The view from the front patio is spectacular.

The Cottages have bikes, kayaks, and water toys that you can use for free. My husband and I rode bikes almost everyday, and we kayaked a couple of times. Snorkeling is enjoyable right off of the beach in front of the Cottages, but it's a little better if you walk or swim toward and a little past the condos. The water is calm and great for swimming, snorkeling, and hanging out on a float.

What we also liked about the Cottages are the people that we met. The staff is very friendly. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Diana, one of the housekeepers, showed us a few of the other Cottages which, by the way, looked fantastic. Most of the cottages have been redone, and they are very nice. Diana even rearranged the furniture in our cottage to give us more room and moved some things around to give us more counter space. Beth, who works at the front desk, remembered that my husband had said his bike seat was too low. She didn't have a tool for him at the time, but the next time we checked the bikes out we discovered that she had raised it for him. Little things like that make this place special. We also met several people staying in the Cottages. We met one couple that have been coming to the Cottages for 22 years! They come every year and stay for two months. There is a reason that people keep coming back. The Cottages by the Sea are wonderful!

We drove to Christiansted one day, and had a good meal on the Boardwalk there. There was a lot of traffic in Christiansted though, and we were ready to get back to our quiet side of the Island. We also drove to Cane Bay one day, and had a snack at one of the beachside bars. Cane Bay looked nice, but there were torrential rains that day and we didn't go on the beach. Driving around wasn't much fun because there are few street signs and the maps aren't always correct.

There are several great places to eat nearby. Try the Sunset Grille down the road (coconut encrusted Mahi), the Beachside Cafe next door, and a great local pizza bar called the Lost Dog. We also enjoyed cooking in our own cottage and eating on the patio. There were some beautiful sunsets, a few rainbows, and I also saw dolphins .

It's great to be able to: make your own drinks instead of paying for them at an expensive bar; snorkel in front of your cottages instead of paying for a snorkeling trip; take a kayak trip without having to pay by the hour; and swim and float for as long as you want. You don't have to keep looking at your watch to make sure you make it back to a cruise ship on time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sharinlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

When planning our trip we trusted the reviews on this site and I must say we were beyond impressed with Cottages by the Sea. If you go to St. Croix you absolutely should stay at this quaint and peaceful place. It is in the hands of a very friendly Paul is the 3rd generation family member.

The beach is super clean and great for long walks. We walked along the white sand and swam in the crystal blue waters. The water is calm and perfect for snorkeling. It is also close to the airport and very laid back. Just ask for directions so you do not get lost finding this place for the first time. Once you find it you will be impressed!!!!

As a self-admitted germaphobe, I must say that the rooms were spotless. We stayed at a second story cottage named Crow's Nest and enjoyed the most awesome view of the ocean. At night, the sound of the ocean was so relaxing. We checked out their website for pictures of the different cottages they offer. The cottages offer a fully stocked kitchen and awesome showers- ours had a view of the ocean! Overall, I'd say AC is not necessary- although most rooms do have it. We found it just perfect with the fans.

The staff members treat you like family (Paul, Donovan, Rose, etc. are all awesome) and will do anything possible to ensure your stay is perfect. They offer free room Internet & a community computer for those who'd like to check email and not lug their laptop to St. Croix. Also, they offer a 'treasure chest' full of snorkeling gear, floating items, three kayaks, countless chairs, board games, books, & magazines - all FREE for guests to use and return at their leisure.

A few tips-

A car is a MUST and they drive on the left side- be careful driving around. Look for discounts/codes & book online. Pick up free maps at the airport. Directions are very easy to follow and the island has terrific roads and is safe to drive corner to corner and everywhere in between. Locals are always helpful if you ask. St. Croix is safe.

A must see is the rain forest just a short trip N. of Frederiksted. We did make a day trip to see Christensted and Point Udall. Return from Point Udall along the S. route to really see the island. With that said, next time we go we will definitely stay in Frederiksted, again. It is less crowded and close to THE BEST FOOD!!!

When in Frederiksted, St. Croix you must EAT at-

Villa Morales- on the side try their stuffing and Johnny cakes
Turtle's Deli- hot & spicy chicken sandwich was delicious!!
The Spicy Grill- The best chicken & veggie patties served with a wide array of fabulous fixings.
Franka's Cuisine- Order their boneless chicken Indian roti- it is full of flavor, but not spicy- ask for the homemade hot sauce. YUM!!!
The Blue Moon- try their Chicken Cesar Salad and brownie topped with ice cream and hot fudge. They were the most expensive place listed, but felt the live Jazz on Wed. night was worth it.
The Pastry Hut - delicious cinnamon rolls & donuts, etc.
Anthony's Homemade Ice Cream - family run place just off Queen Mary Rd.

Most places close at 5pm, except Villa Morales & The Blue Moon, so make sure you plan accordingly. Check the guide sheet in your room for phone numbers.

If you have forgotten anything just run to the nearby Kmart which is less than 3 miles or so from The Cottages by the Sea.

Just feel relaxed and enjoy the great food, people, and picturesque views...you are in paradise!!! We have traveled the world, but we can not wait to return to Frederiksted and stay at The Cottages by the Sea- do check it out and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ARIANA177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The only negative is we had to leave. Great beach and friendly staff. Will be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

This was the 5th time we have visited the Cottages. We go back every year and look forward to continue that trend into the future. We have stayed anywhere from 8 - 15 days and have visited over New Year's, St. Patrick's Day, President's Weekend and Palm Sunday/Easter. We started when our oldest was only 3 years old and now he is 8 and our youngest started going when he was still in mommy. He is now 2.5 yo. For the last two visits even Nana and Pop-pop came with us (both in their high 70's) to spend time with the grandkids. They are in love with the Cottages also. The six of us love to sit on the pavilion for dinner and watch the sun set over the ocean. This is not a five star resort, but it is extremely comfortable and feels like home away from home. Paul, Donovan, and the rest of the staff are fantastic and willing to help with any situation...and trust me with two kids we have had some situations. Most of the cottages/rooms are right on the beach and you can sleep at night with the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep. We are not big breakfast eaters, so having the kitchens in the rooms was great to allow us to go to the local Plaza Extra grocery store (all of the name brands you are looking for plus more...) to stock up the kitchen with basics. We grilled multiple times with the gas grills available and then ate at some of the local eateries other evenings. Even though we were there over Easter break this year, it was still quiet except for the days the cruise ships came into Fredricksted, but that was only once/twice week max and even then, all the "tourists" were off the beach by 3 - 4pm to go back to the ship. If I had to say anything negative, it would be that the main town (Christianstead) is about a 1/2 hour away from the Cottages, so you need a car rental to get back and forth if you want to visit and go out to dinner up at that end of the island. In short, the adjectives we use to describe the Cottages...quiet, peaceful, tranquil, homey, restful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naglemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The cottages were more than we expected.The place is a small PARADISE.The staff were friendly and VERY accommodating. The cottages were updated and we had maid service everyday. It was hard staying inside of our cottage with such awesome view and porch right on the beach. We found some great places for dinner and even made friends while there.
The Westfalls

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chabellaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I very much enjoyed staying at the Cottages. It was wonderful being a stones throw from the water's edge, the staff was very nice and friendly. The accomodations were simple but very comfortable. All I needed. I could open the windows to catch the ocean breeze and sound of the waves at night. It lulled me to sleep.

It would be nice if the rooms had shampoo and conditioner. Or if the office sold a few additional items.

All in all it was wonderful. Thank you and I'll be seeing you again in the future.

Sonia

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soniacpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
12.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
59 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range: £116 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing