We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 20 May 2007

If you're looking for a typical upscale resort in a tourist area, then stay away. But if you're comfortable with a magnificent beach, friendly people, you're own cottage and calm waters, then this is the place for you. We just returned from 10 days in St. Croix and absolutely loved The Cottages. Everyone was most accommodating and friendly (need directions to the store, restaurants, etc.?). The snorkeling right there was great - among lots of fish saw squid and on the last day a spotted ray! It was so nice being able to snorkel whenever we wanted. Yes, we rented a car and toured the island and did two sail trips. Buck Island was beautiful - we went with Teroro II (very nice group), snorkeled an hour by the reef (saw sea turtles) and then spent a few hours on the beach (even good snorkeling there). All in all it was a wonderful trip and we plan on returning!

  • Liked — Value, friendliness, on the beach
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mickietucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    59
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
160
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

After a terrible flight I was so relieved to find the view was exaclty as advertised. We stayed at the "carnival" cottage which was cozy, private and directly on the beach, I counted thirty steps from my door to the water! The people at the front desk were friendly and house keeping was always on top of things. Wakeing up to the sound of the waves was so relaxing, and the sunsets were breathtaking. A great place for a relaxing, quiet get away. I must say that there isn't much around in terms of shopping and dining so a car rental is a must. The snorkleing was nice but I recomend bringing your own equiptment even though they do have some avaible for use. The cottates were averall good but a little worn. Our stay was still worth every penny because of the views alone. I would definately return to cottages by the sea.

  • Liked — The views and location.
  • Disliked — The price and conditions of the cottage.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank adorlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2007

We just returned from a 5 nights stay at Cottages by the Sea. We chose to stay there based on of their pet friendly policy (we couldn't leave our little chihuahua Hugo behind), and did not expect it to be as nice as it actually was. Although it is old and a little worn, it is very clean, equipped with everything you need, and the grounds are extraordinary. You are literally ON the beach, surrounded by palm trees, turquise water ,and white sand. We rented a car and drove around the whole island and quickly determined that we had made the right decision to stay at Cottages. Fredericksted does not have a lot to offer in terms of shopping and restaurants, so a rental car is suggested if you want to take breaks from sun bathing. All and all, we had a great experience, and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank PernillaBardHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estell Manor, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

This hotel is a eclectic collection of small cottages literally right on the beach outside of Fredericksted. They appear all differently furnished and decorated but contain basic facilities. Most have kitchenettes and little porches to dine on, so that you can stock up and breakfast casually with the sound of the waves in your ears. Then walk a few steps to the water and swim. Snorkle right from the beach, or it's a short drive to other great beaches on the west side of St. Croix. (A car is a necessity-for sightseeing and shopping.)
The owners and employees are very friendly and helpful, yet not intrusive. I actually had a pleasant experience booking directly with the hotel, something I cannot say about bigger and more upscale places.
If you're looking for a large resort with many amenities, don't stay here; but if you're looking for a quiet place to relax in a more authentic laid-back Caribbean atmosphere, this is the perfect spot!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank DingWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

Really enjoyed our stay here. very laid back and relaxing. Rooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Staff was very nice. Paul and his father were both very nice and accommodating. Housekeepers also were very sweet.

  • Liked — comfort, value, location
  • Disliked — that we had to leave it.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PBGV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliquippa, PA
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

It was so GREAT to go back to "Cottages"! Joe and I love everything about this place! Everything we look for in a "getaway" is right here! Peace and quiet, beautiful beach right outside your door, clean and comfortable place to stay and GREAT owners/neighbors and some really awesome snorkeling just a few steps away. I got up every morning grabbed my snorkel gear and walked into the ocean. Completely relaxing atmoshpere. We are going back in March!!! If you want to get away from it all, this is where you go!!! We stopped at the grocery store and filled up the fridge with breakfast and lunch items and went to dinner at various places in the evening. Paul, the owner, is very helpful in helping find great places to eat. Be sure to go to Villa Morales for some authentic latin cuisine! Tell JT and Angie that Joe and Sylvia said, "HI"!!! And for a great adventure in diving visit "Scuba West Dive Shop" in Fredricksted. Chris and Laura are the BEST in the business!! WE MISS YOU GUYS!!

  • Liked — We were sooooo close to a quiet beach!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Chippers15001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2006

When I die- I think I would rather return to Cottages than to go on to Heaven! It has one of the loveliest tracts of fine sand, clear water, and some of best shallow water mini-reefs with abundant colorful fish /wildlife on the island. The beach is just steps outside your cottage (I think the Chart House is prime) and can be a friendly place or a loner's paradise.
Paul, as a host-owner, is just charming - and he is always attentive to your needs without ever being intrusive. He has hospitality down to old world charm. The cottages themselves are tastefully decorated and have everything you could want. The kitchenettes are well stocked and the mini mart is just a few miles down the road. You can grill of the BBQ or eat from the fridge. Watching the sunset daily into the blue (or the fireworks on the 4th of July) adds magic to such simple events on the west end of St Croix. We loved it - a great family place, great snorkeling, swimming, and sunbathing. The restaurant next door is a bit pricey - but gourmet and a bargain for lunch! This is a real undiscovered jewel...

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank MPAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
356 reviews
5.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Property: Cottages By The Sea
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing