We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing property with several well appointed...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cariso Suite

view the sea here
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view the sea here
Relax after seeing the town Relax late night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
view the sea here
Relax after seeing the town
Relax late night
relax after touring the town
serenity minutes away off property
in the garden
Dining in
Prepare your feast
A short walk away off property
This queen bed offers sweet dreams
Calm and serene
Master of sweet dreams
Try a midnight swim
2 full sized beds
A garden view
2 full sized beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Frederiksted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lindaen20...
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing property with several well appointed bungalows, pool, quick walk to beach”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is an amazing place! It was comfortable and was the best equipped place in which we have ever stayed--hair dryers, wifi, access to HBO, etc.; and even snorkeling gear we could borrow. The bungalows/apartments have access to a gorgeous pool. There are outdoor tables near the bungalows where one can have breakfast and tables by the pool for meals. It is a short walk to the most beautiful beach and to downtown. Betty met us several blocks away so we could follow her up the hill by car to find it as it is tucked away. She found a dentist for me when a crown chipped when she realized I was having a dental issue, and even called and made the appointment. She demonstrated how to work the TV, Wifi, air conditioning as soon as we arrived. She and Jerry were incredibly helpful when needed, which we did a few times.
This is a perfect place and hosts for people that want to get away, be on a beach, swim in the ocean and pool, and explore a small Caribbean town. Driving on the left was an easy transition and other drivers were calm. Christiansted, which has more shops and restaurants is only a 30 minute drive away, but Fredericksted has some very nice dining options too. We loved Blue Moon and Paradise (just opened) and Polly's for breakfast. Betty provided all the menus so we could see our options. Figure out when the cruise ships come in and plan to go to town that day, and especially if they are there in the evening when local bands play on a bandstand. I can't say enough wonderful things about our experience here!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Dear Linda,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. You and Chris were the sweetest guests!
Best regards,
Betty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlt2010
vb
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Cariso Suite is an island beauty with the comforts of home.”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property sits on a hill embedded in a stunning tropical forest. There is a glorious view of the Caribbean Sea and sunsets. We even saw the green flash! Breezes flow through the windows. Although the rooms are equipped with AC, there was no need to use it. We enjoyed the sounds of nature at night. Sugar Hill by the Sea is a peaceful place to relax and enjoy the warm days. The property has a pool and a bathroom for pool users, a nice feature. The pool area has sun areas and shade areas; we like having options. One can see dragonflies dancing around the water, and geckos scrambling around the fence. The facility also has a large washer and dryer for the guests. We counted at least three hammocks, and made good use of them! The Cariso Suite felt like our very own home with two large bedrooms, a dining room, kitchen, bathroom, and living room. The owners do a fabulous job of maintaining the property and the suites. The rooms are meticulously decorated and are quite beautiful. We felt like royalty here. The owners are the most gracious and kind people we've met. They truly love this place (they live on the property), and the that made us feel so special. We are moving to St. Croix soon, and we plan to recommend Sugar Hill by the Sea to our friends and family who travel as a group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in a mini tropical forest
Liked least: The road into the property is a little rough, but that is typical on the island.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for that wonderful review. Hope it is warming up back home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a private paradise”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this suite for two weeks and it was perfect! It was private, quiet, relaxing. Betty and Jerry were fantastic hosts! We would go again and again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lorenzo P
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an authentic, beautiful island, and what friendly, relaxed, wonderful hosts!!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This review could not start any other way but by mentioning our hosts, neighbors and owners of this little portion of paradise, Jerry and Betty.
From minute one, they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, happy, taken care of, and informed on all the wonderful things this island has to offer.
I am 25, and they had useful tips for every interest I expressed, from snorkeling, to seeing local wildlife, to the more or less "crowded" beaches.
The apartment was clean, functional, cozy, furnished with everything you could need, from a working wi-fi connection, to a real functional little kitchen, to a working television, and of course, more importantly, walking distance away from the beach.
I am fortunate enough to travel quite often, and I know that personally, the best way for me to truly enjoy a new place I am visiting, is to get to know the locals and discover the "insider" tips/recommendations.
Especially when staying for a relatively short amount of time, well, going to the Cariso suite was like having friends on the spot, who know the spot.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in February 2006

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PHILADELPHIA
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing