We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schnitzel Haus - CLOSED

Schnitzel Haus
Cuisines: Austrian, European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Haverhill, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“great food but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The German food is outstanding it was our 2nd time there in the past year. The only thing they need to change in this place is the allowing of dogs and cats to rome free through out the intire place even the kitchen and dining area while your eating. Having cat hairs on your table doesn't go well with any meal?
We love our dog but I don't let him eat with me or I take him out to eat with me when i'm going out to have a nice dinner for 70 plus dollars.
I was not even sure the cat was their own? It might have been one of the many strays that wander the island and they were nice enough to feed it.
Even with my complaints we will most likely return as the food is some of the best German food you will get anywhere even back in the States. Just clean the place p ufor the people coming in who are spending $20 plus per meal and $5 to $6 for a good German beer.
RR-101

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Fork, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Red Cabbage and Wiener Snitzel! Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the meal that we had there! Small, quaint place with dslicious homemade German food. What a surprise to find this in St Thomas... Close to Red Hook.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wiltsemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Fun experience and great schnitzel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This tiny, bar-atmosphere, restaurant on the water, with plastic tablecloths and chairs is like eating in the owner and cook Petra's dining room. The fun started with watching and hearing Petra pound the chicken she cooks to order into schnitzel, to receiving your food served with noodles, potatoes, and cabbage. If you want to have multiple courses and dine--this place is not for you. But if you want to have a home cooked German meal, well-priced and tasty, it is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rainbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great German Fare in Red Hook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I was very surprised to get such great German food in St Thomas. I lived in Germany for 4 years and so I'm very picky about it. I had the Jaguer Schnitzel ,which was very good, and the fried potatoes were to die for! Also the red cabbage was the best I have had since leaving Germany.Like the others have said it dosn't look like much from the outside,but the inside reminded me of a quaint gasthouse in a small village in Germany and the view of the marina was very nice. I would recomend this little gem to anyone looking for good hearty german food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teresahaynes791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This place was small, and the parking tight, but the service was very nice. Since it was right on a Marina, there were several boaters that were enjoying the deck and sharing stories. The food was good, and the beer cold... what more could you ask for. Service was slow, so go with some time to spare and enjoy the sunset.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vacationx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schnitzel Haus also viewed

 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Bolongo Bay, St. Thomas
Water Island, St. Thomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing