We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sea Bass!”
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
Ranked #15 of 268 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant combines the warm, rustic culture and robust flavors of Latin America with the exotic spices and tangy sauces of the Pacific Rim. We also provide our guests with unmatched, ocean front views of tropical sunsets and enchanting cruise ships embarking out to the Caribbean Sea. Brace your senses as you prepare to indulge in aromas and flavors like never before. We have over 100 hand-selected premium and reserve wines.
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had such a wonderful time that we went back for our last night on the Island. Havana Blue is right on the beach with a wonderful view, but call ahead to get a table facing the beach. HB is the best when there are not a lot of people, during the week or off-peak hours make the meal not just good, but wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JScriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

JScriber, thanks for joining us during your stay here! It's a pleasure to hear your first meal was so nice you ate with us twice. That's as great a compliment as you can give us! Do you foresee a third visit in your future?

Join us again whenever you're in St. Thomas,
HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,456 - 1,460 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thank you Havana Blue for a magical night in the VI! My boyfriend I went for dinner during our stay at the Marriott and we loved it! We started off with a drink or two at the bar so we could sit back and watch the sunset - which is awesome by the way. The drinks were great and the bartender was friendly. Once we got to our table, we were so happy! They had seated us right next to the window so we could almost taste the salt water and feel the sand. It was a fabulous location and watching the sunset while having a cocktail was fantastic. James, our waiter, was wonderful. Very, VERY informative about the menu (including the specials) and had alot of suggestions. For an appetizer we shared the langosta tostada (fancy little lobster and shrimp tostadas) and they were delicious. We wish we'd ordered more than 3! For entrees, my BF got the mahi maho mahi (Malaysian-influenced dish of great fish and rice) and I got the relleno snapper (chorizo and shrimp stuffed red snapper). It was all delicious! We also got the friend plantains because I love them so much and they were every bit as delicious as I thought they'd be! For dessert we shared the Brazilian carnivale (a fancy banana split with all kinds of amazing icecreams and sauces). All in all, a wonderful experience. My boyfriend and I have eaten at some amazing restaurants and this was definitely up there with the best. We loved it - go and check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alidee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

alidee7, you're so very welcome for the wonderful evening! Thank you for the kind words; it's always a pleasure to hear from happy guests on TripAdvisor. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to James too for making your night perfect with excellent recommendations and all-around superb service. There's more to taste and explore here, so join us again the next time you're in St. Thomas!

Safe travels,
HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful restaurant. The food was excellent and it was a classy place. I would recommend going here for dinner.

Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Lorraine, your review just made our day! Thank you for sharing some kind words about us on TripAdvisor. Your recommendation means the world to us. Hopefully the rest of your stay here in St. Thomas was just as enjoyable. Keep us in mind whenever you're on the island.

Safe travels,
HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at Havana Blue! John the Chef and Lauren his wife made us feel very, very welcome. The food was great, try the Ahi Tuna, the appetizers are outstanding.

Thank llandauny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

llandauny1, when you dine with us, you're family! Thank you for joining us; it was our pleasure to welcome you and serve you an unforgettable meal. Anytime you're on the island, we'd love to have you back!

Best wishes to you,
HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

bad from the start, wrong orders pretending it was right and way over priced. needed to have the manager come over to make it right. at first they weren't going to do anything but eventually did

Thank Rich6556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Rich6556, mistakes are rare for us, but we're always eager to make things right. We're sorry if we served you the wrong dishes. It sounds like we got everything straightened out though, and we're glad to hear it. If you'd like to speak with us further about your visit, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Thank you for joining us,
HAVANA BLUE Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing