We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May 9 2014 just returned home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“May 9 2014 just returned home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We just returned from a 6 day convention at the Ritz and can't say enough about how nice it was. The staff was accommodating and promptly filled our every need. It was is quiet and peaceful and there were no noise issues but then there were no children at this time of year. The pool was perfect. I did not especially like their beach but that is a personal preference. Lots of beaches on St Thomas have rocks but the water is crystal clear and blue as can be. If you do not like down they will make up the beds what ever way you like so ask. Our shower leaked a bit so the floor was slick but when I reported it they were there to try and fix it in minutes (it still leaked so they will need to work on it again to make it right). The food was excellent and though we thought the prices were high we found they were in line with any Hi end restaurant on the island along with their drink prices. I wish they had more shops. They only had 2. The spa staff were great and got me in with little notice.

Room Tip: If you want the exercise book a room far away from the pool and lobby. If you don't want to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shabatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    238
    84
    30
    23
See reviews for
305
447
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Ritz Carlton St Thomas is a beautiful property filled with amenities, well appointed rooms, a dedicated staff and is situated in paradise!

We knew we wanted to stay at a Ritz property, but selected St. Thomas as our destination due to ease of travel and it's laid back island atmosphere. We had a few hiccups in communication prior to our arrival, however, the staff was more than accommodating upon arrival.

Our suite was absolutely lovely with drool worthy views of the pristine water and beach. We could not have been more comfortable.

We enjoyed all the resort had to offer from the wonderful Club, spa and water activities, including a sailing lesson for our daughter. The pool and beach area is great! My only suggestions would be live music every day. One of our highlights was a dinner trip to St John on the Lady Lydsay. I highly recommend a beachside massage. The gym was also really great. New equipment and plenty of it. Never had to wait on any machines.

The only element that fell below expectation was the food (with the exception of the delicious breakfast in the Club). We found it over-priced and lacking any flair. Luckily, we found some real gems in the Cellar in Red Hook and Havanah Blue across the island.

If you are planning an island get a way and want luxury in an unpretentious environment, this is your place. We can hardly wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjh813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is so beautiful! The staff and location make it the gem of St Thomas! We were so well taken care of and hosted we were beside ourselves! We stayed in the club level room which was completely worth it! The beach front was so well organized and stocked with toys we've never been so impressed!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

First time staying at the Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas. Have to say it was amazing. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough to make our vacation perfect. We have traveled to a number of different islands but the service at the Ritz was the best we ever experienced. We made full use of the sailboats, paddleboards, and snorkel gear available at the Resort and spent a day with the dive team who picked us up right on the beach. We had such an incredible meal at the Coconut Cove that we had to go back for the Stuffed Lobster before we left.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divebuddies_4inPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon and it was so amazing I get emotional just thinking about this hotel because our trip was so good.

We wanted a beach location where we could just wake up and walk down to the pool/beach every day. That was one of our main priorities and we were not disappointed. This is one of the few hotels where the actual views were even more amazing than the professional photographs.

I won't even bother with the details, as they can be found on the website. All I will say is that everything that is mentioned on the website is delivered and then some. Some of the highlights, though, were:

-beach
-infinity pool
-fish sandwiches
-pancakes and french toast

If you want to get away with your significant other for a romantic vacation you will never forget then come here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and the place was beautiful. Did the bed and breakfast package and felt that it was a really good deal. The bartender was from the states, we actually knew the area and we really hit it off. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KF0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We just spent 5 days here and enjoyed avery bit of it! Only negative was it's location to shopping and restaurants. Roads are a bit crazy when you're not used to them. Our room was gorgeous and always clean. The resort was very well kept and the staff were all super friendly! We had lunch at Sails and the food was also amazing!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
0.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Address: 6900 Great Bay | U.S. Virgin Islands, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a 30-acre beachfront estate, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas blends classic European elegance with warm Caribbean hospitality. The resort overlooks sparkling turquoise waters and white sand beaches on the eastern tip of St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands, along Great Bay and with views of St. John. 180 Guestrooms each have private balconies, Caribbean-inspired decor and views of the Caribbean Sea and tropical surroundings. Other features of our beach resort in St. Thomas include a full service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, a Club Level with private concierge and complimentary food and beverage presentations, infinity pool, a beach and aquatic center with ample complimentary water sports, and four restaurants for gourmet dining and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing