We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“It could have been better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I always enjoy the Ritz-Carlton. This location, however, could have been slightly better. In summary the lacked almost completely the attention to the detail.

The welcoming to the hotel was chaotic. We had to seek multiple people, before we were escorted to the check in. We were not offered a welcome drink like every other guest in the lobby. They also gave us a room from the lowest level even if my profile "requests" a high level room.

The rooms were very nice and they had a great welcome gift for us. This got full points from us. We also stayed at the club level, so we had access to the lounge. The lounge was great and we had very memorable conversations over there with other guest. They had decent breakfast service, but otherwise the food offerings were amazing. They also had local rums available with different flavors, which we enjoyed.

I think the only problem with the lounge was that their "backstage" was immediately close to the buffet area and the staff continuously kept a lot of noise, so from time to time, it was not that relaxing. However, at most times it was.

We also visited the gym for yoga class and other activities. The gym looked like it had very new cardio machines, but otherwise they had not kept it up very well and the cleanliness standard was average as at their retail store, which was definitely in need of renovation, new class shelves and cleaning. On the positive side, they had great activities center on the beach, where they had different water sport equipment available for use. We had so much fun trying out everything.

The very best experience was the hotel's catamaran Lady Lyndsey. We took a sunset cruise on it and it exceeded our expectations multiple times. The boat itself was clean and well organized. The staff was super professional and entertaining. Moreover, the food and drinks were delicious. Word cannot describe the tour as it was so beautiful. This was the highlight of our visit at the hotel.

I guess the Ritz should not relax too much while their guest do as it really shows. Hopefully, they step up few levels in their game at this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TomSjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    238
    84
    30
    23
See reviews for
305
447
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Superb hotel and resort. My wife and I came for our 1 year anniversary. We never wanted to leave the resort. We scuba dived two days and spent another day relaxing at the beach and using all the free beach gear ( paddle boards, snorkel gear, hobbie cats, kayaks, ect.) The snorkeling near the resort was better than Trunk Bay on St John in my opinion. The reef was alive and lots for fish. The food and drinks were great and the portions were huge. My wife and finally figured out we could share an appetizer and a main course and that was more than enough food. Food and drinks were expensive in my opinion, I wish they had a few less expensive options, but we are at the Ritz. Overall I would come back and recommend this hotel to all my friends. Best place on St Thomas!

Room Tip: Stay closer to the pool and beach in the Begonia or Allamanda buildings. Ocean view for the extra pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in St. Thomas two weeks ago and loved it. I have never met nicer people then I did here at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and everyone of them that we encountered asked us if they could do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. The hotel was beautiful as was the beach. The rooms face the ocean with a balcony. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was stunning! At night we went to the Coconut Cove, one of the bars/restaurants at the hotel, to either have dinner or have a drink. Al, the bartender was awesome. He is a great Ambassador for the Ritz Carlton. He was funny and entertaining and accommodating on whatever we wanted to drink. We sailed on the Lady Lynsey one night for the dinner cruise and the staff was great, especially Joleen. She along with the rest of the crew provided exceptional service. I would recommend this hotel. If we ever go back to St. Thomas I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

After a long day of traveling with moms and college age kids, the welcome drink was PERFECT...I did sneak 2!! Our rooms were close together and the view was BEAUTIFUL!! Although it was only 1 night, it was the perfect beginning to our vacation. We then boarded a wonderful sailboat called "The Sweetest Thing" for the best 7 day private cruise ever!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamptonMGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our travels to the BVI to pick up our bareboat charter got a slightly disrupted thanks to tropical storm Bertha who finally decided to step it up and visit the islands the same weekend.

While our AA flight was confirmed to leave for St Thomas from Miami, the ferry services to Tortola were obviously cancelled due to the weather and sea conditions, resulting in a scramble for hotel rooms across the island. We finally ended up at the Ritz Carlton .. and what a good choice it was.

They only had a few rooms left, so not much choice to be had. But it was comfortable, clean, spacious, and a cozy retreat from the driving rain and winds.

Service was impeccable. Going to the room after check-in, my wife made an unfortunate fall on the wet and very slippery steps leading down to our room, and immediately the hotel staff offered to call for medical services to check her out (not needed fortunately), and offered to clean her clothes.

We only stayed one night as the next day the sun came back out and we were on our way to the BVI. I'm not a fan the USVI, and STT in particular (to built up and touristy for my taste), but if we need to pass through and stay on STT again, the Ritz will be our pick.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

There is nothing any more Spectacular than the Ritz Carlton …the View is gorgeous…the service very friendly and usually with a smile…the amenities outstanding !!!! And the lush landscape beautiful and relaxing !! It doesn't get any better in St. Thomas !!!

Room Tip: There is NO bad room..But rooms on the 2nd & 3rd Level have much more scenic water views…Buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldyangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently stayed the Ritz Carlton in St. Thomas for 5 nights. Overall it was a great trip, except for one major, and a couple minor problems. It was a return trip for me, and first for my girlfriend, and our first stay at a Ritz.
-The Ritz grounds are beautiful right on their own private beach, with great views of the Caribbean. We made use of the water sports area (the Hobie cats were awesome), fitness center, restaurants, and pool area. Snorkeling was pretty good there. It was clean and the staff were friendly.
-THe food and drinks were very good, but pricey as expected.
-The service overall was good, but sometimes a little slow. We were forgotten at check-in, because we arrived at 2pm and were told we would get a text when our room was ready. The official guaranteed check-in time is 4pm, so around 430 we decided to go back to the desk to see what was up and they said our room was ready, and had actually been ready for a while. It's a little frustrating after spending all day traveling. Service at the restaurant/bars was also sometimes slow, taking a while to get waited on.
-The main problem while we were there was a loss of electricity. Tropical storm Bertha came by, with what seemed like only moderate winds and rain, and part of the island lost electricity. The Ritz also lost electricity. I first called to see what was up and I was told that they were trying to start their generators. Then we were told that their generators went down at the same time as the electricity on the island. Then we were told that the the Ritz has its own electricity supply. Overall electricity was lost for over a day, with some intermittent return. The place next door, Coconut Cove, was just fine as their generators must have been working. Oh, and the water doesn't work while electricity is out. So there were times we couldn't use the toilet or take a shower, the restaurants were not serving, etc. They did set up a gas-powered buffet for breakfast the next morning and for dinner that night. They were also very nice about it all, however, it's hard to believe that a Ritz Carlton would lose power with no back up source, while the place next door was doing just fine.
-We went to St. John for a day which was really nice, and worth the trip.
-We rented a car during our trip and went to Magens Bay which is worth seeing, and drove to Mountain Top which has great views. We tried to go to Coki Beach which is touted as having good snorkeling, but its really in the ghetto, so stay away! I probably wouldn't rent a car again and would rely on taxis and the people ferry to St. John which is a lot faster than the car ferry.
-Overall it was a great trip, and would think about staying there again, except for the concerns noted above.d

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
0.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Address: 6900 Great Bay | U.S. Virgin Islands, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a 30-acre beachfront estate, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas blends classic European elegance with warm Caribbean hospitality. The resort overlooks sparkling turquoise waters and white sand beaches on the eastern tip of St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands, along Great Bay and with views of St. John. 180 Guestrooms each have private balconies, Caribbean-inspired decor and views of the Caribbean Sea and tropical surroundings. Other features of our beach resort in St. Thomas include a full service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, a Club Level with private concierge and complimentary food and beverage presentations, infinity pool, a beach and aquatic center with ample complimentary water sports, and four restaurants for gourmet dining and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing