We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing and Relaxing!”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here in the Cruzan room for one week and it was amazing, Leah was on the ball with where to go , what to do. There is a path down to a nice secluded beach the walk down is ok but coming up an be tricky. We were provided with a cooler for the beach, chairs and beach towels. Our room had a small stove top and oven as well as microwave an mini fridge, the room and wonderful pool overlooking the ocean was amazing !! It was perfect for me and my husband and we cant wait to stay again. This place is a hidden gem is just beautiful

Kizzie & Shane

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shajerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
260
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

One word to say about Villa Marbella - WOW! This is a beautiful private home. The owners, Gunnar and Leah take excellent care of their guests. We stayed in the Cruzan View Apartment, a small one bedroom suite. Very comfortable. A/C, TV, refer, microwave, two burner electric stove with oven, etc. There are two other larger suites upstairs. There is a beautiful pool and deck for lounging. And what a view!! You are up on a hill overlooking Frenchman Bay on the south side of St Thomas. It is flat out gorgeous. There is a walking trail down to a private beach and a small island to swim out to. It's a pretty good hike - but worth it. They can tell you where to go for shopping or dining and where the best beaches are. They even drove us down the hill to a local car rental agency to get wheels. Leah is also a real estate agent. So if you are looking for a house or a lot to build on, she can steer you in the right direction. She's not pushy like some agents, but will be happy to help you if you ask. Overall, a wonderful place and wonderful people.
Go to http://www.villamarbellasuites.com/ and take a look. You will not be disappointed.
Earl and Pam Stokes

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EARLPAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

great option for independent travelers...leah and gunner are great and really helpful, but you also have as much privacy as you would like. it is an excellent alternative to hotels, condos, or all inclusives. you can explore different parts of the island while using this as a home base. the views are beautiful. you will definitely want to rent a car if you are staying here. there is a beach that you can walk to that is very serene, but you will need a car to get to other beaches and get food. it is a good location for catching the ferry to st john as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angwhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our hosts, Leah and Gunnar were wonderful. They welcomed us to their beautiful place on a hill overlooking the green hills and clear blue water, and we feel like we were friends, before we sadly had to leave, but we will be back! What a great location, between Bluebeard and Belongo resorts, but a much better view. Their pool and their decks are delightful to rest on and gaze at the water and hills, and at night the moon and stars overhead and lights on the hills are scenic. The path to the beach below is well worth the trip, we saw coral and fish in the bay then cooled off in their pool. This was our first trip to St. Thomas and they answered our many questions and were so helpful. We had a great time, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlene88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I recently had the opportunity to stay at Villa Marbella on St. Thomas, a jewel of a resort tucked on a hillside overlooking Frenchman's Bay. Hosts, Leah and Gunnar Watson, are a friendly, fun couple who are available to make your stay enjoyable or for suggestions for adventures on their island.
Villa Marbella's 3 very private suites have a quiet, simple elegance. Each suite has a kitchenette, full bath and sleeping loft (with the coziest beds!) along with private patio complete with a view of the harbor. You can relax around the pool which is perched over the hillside with a 270 degree view of boats sailing out of the harbor, watching hummingbirds sip nectar from the native flowers and feeders. There is a footpath to the cove below for some excellent snorkling!!
The resort is located a short drive east out of Charlotte Amalie and the airport, making it ideal for shopping or nighttime dining. Further east is Red Hook and the ferry dock to St. John and the British VI's. If you have a car, you can drive the island, stopping at the numerous clear water, white sand beaches along the way.
After a day on the island, there is nothing more perfect than a rum drink around the pool watching the sunset, followed by watching the stars in the dark tropical night sky. We'll be back again!

Debbi Gaw, Gainesville, FL

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I live on St. Thomas but wanted a peaceful, quiet place to stay to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. Thanks to the great value compared to other hotels/villas on St. Thomas, location and great reviews we decided to go with Villa Marbella, and had a wonderful weekend! We stayed in the Frenchman's Bay suite, which was clean, neat and beautifully decorated...the perfect size for the two of us as we spent the majority of our time outdoors. Our room came equipped with coffee, granola bars, bottled water and it also had a mini-fridge, microwave and hot plate. We had a nice little patio right in front of the pool, which was perfect. We usually most of our time in the ocean, so we were excited to use the pool which was very clean and refreshing. Leah showed us the trail down to the beach, which I highly recommend. The trail is well kept and the secluded beach was beautiful...we had the entire beach to ourselves which doesn't happen very often on St. Thomas. I would definitely recommend renting a car if you stay here. It is only about a 5-10 minute drive from town, but yet still feels secluded.

From living in St. Thomas and traveling to other Caribbean Islands we have become accustomed to island living which sometimes involves making sacrifices. Water is not always abundant and therefore you might have to use your towel a couple times before you wash it, electricity is expensive so you don't always run the air conditioner. If you really want to enjoy your time in St. Thomas leave the high maintenance standards of the mainland at home, grab some rum and relax!

The owners, Leah and Gunner were great hosts and we really enjoyed staying with them. They were so friendly and approachable...it almost felt as if we had known them for a long time! You will get a much more personable experience staying here as well as a glimpse into the life of locals. I would highly recommend Villa Marbella if you enjoy the outdoors and want a peaceful place to stay with beautiful views!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfaith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I chose this property because of the great reviews. The place was not at all perfect but tolerable. The staircase was narrow (it snagged us a few times as well as cut my sisters foot and shoulder), the pool was dirty, and the hot tub attached to the pool was dirty as well and did not have water in it. Other than the display towels, all other towels given to us were dingy, the fan was covered in dust and so was a fake plant in the living area. Leah came to clean daily but the room was still dusty for our entire stay. Also, I understand conserving water but our towels were not washed until we requested them to be washed, which was two days before we left. We stayed a total of nine days.

The night before we were to check out of the room, we received an ill conceived letter from the villa owners. I have attached a copy. We were shock by the accusations and complete unprofessional behavior displayed. We had a list of thing we were uncomfortable with but did not complain. We also felt neither Leah nor Gunnar was as helpful as expected from reading the reviews. As a paying customer of Villa Marbella, I was not interested in hearing the owner’s frivolous complaints about me (who do they think they are). After reading the letter we were uncomfortable and could think of nothing else but leaving. In the morning once we confronted Gunnar about the letter, he identified two stains, a mascara stain on the pillow sham and three small dots on rug.

We were traveling with a 4 year old, so we did have a few spills. As well as blood from the cuts incurred by the stairs and plant (There were metal rods in the plant to maintain shape, which when replacing a fallen leaf went straight through my finger).

I suggest you think twice before staying with someone who would have no regard for ruing a family vacation over make-up on pillows and towels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STThomian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Well, one is never prepared for one’s first negative review; now that it has happened, it is necessary to clarify the reality of this unfortunate experience. It never occurred to me that someone would maliciously fabricate lies in order to intentionally hurt another’s business, but so it is. Sigh.

I will address these lies in order but first I need to indicate that the Frenchman’s Bay unit is for two guests; this particular guest called me and begged to let her have 4 guests – one a young child. She assured us that they would take care of the unit as if it were her own so we agreed. By the first evening, some 10 additional non-guest visitors were in the guest quarters, with loud talking, laughing this went on for the first 3 days. I will now address the comments in the order raised:

• Villa Marbella does not have a hot tub nor has one ever been advertised; the pool has an attached soak pool which is currently not connected to the main pool. It is no more a hot tub than our water cistern is an underwater dive cavern. The pool is cleaned daily but when there are wind gusts, leaves get in the pool, so we assume that this is the “dirt” referred to along with the Sahara dust that has to be removed each day.

• The “dingy” towels provided – all of them – are replaced seasonally at Villa Marbella and the ones provided were high quality cotton towels, none older than 5 months. We provided the additional towels needed for the two extra people in the suite…and then more towels were requested throughout the stay. Despite my efforts to collect towels for wash, they hardly ever left the room and just kept asking for more. When I was able to finally get the dirty towels on day 7 of their stay (because they were always in the room and would not give me the linens when asked), we were left with what appeared to be tar or oil-smeared towels…all of them. I have absolutely no idea what they did with the towels but after repeated washings failed to remove these oil stains, we had to throw away all of them and spend hundreds on new ones. The sheets were similarly stained. A mascara stain, “three small dots” and “a few spills”? In actuality, every piece of linen in the room was stained; a new rug was permanently stained, as was the couch. More damage was done to this unit by this one guest in 9 days than what we’ve ever experienced from all suite guests in Villa Marbella in a single season and we’ve never had to spend more time and money addressing the damage on a unit.

• As far as the “accusations and complete (sic) unprofessional behavior”: after we finally were able to see the condition of the unit seven days after they moved in, we did not know WHAT to do. We wrote the letter – first one we’ve ever had to write since opening in August of 2009 -- as a desperate and fully polite attempt to stop the destruction. It was our intent to clarify the guest’s responsibility to care for our property and rein in their conduct while permitting them to complete a vacation they were clearly savoring with extreme…uh….”zest?” (We understand now that it pointless to write a letter when a guest simply has absolute disregard for other’s property.)

• We don’t know how to even RESPOND to the comments about the bloodthirsty silk plant and razor-sharp stairs! Good grief. How do we address this? File the stairs? Put large “DO NOT TOUCH” signs on the plant? How does someone manage to run a silk leaf “straight through” ones finger??
Folks, we were and are traumatized by this experience and the behavior of this guest, which makes the chaos of Don’t Stop the Carnival pale in comparison. When the guest left, she said with great venom that she was going to write as damaging a review as she could... and she has; fortunately, her language, absurd accusations, and the visible contempt in the “review” to a certain extent eliminate the need for a response…but that’s impossible. Sadly, the malicious lies were something for which we were simply not prepared.
Gunnar and I have learned many lessons from this horrific experience. I will close by responding to the “who we think we are” question: we are good, hardworking people who have built a retreat where guests can come to escape from the pressures of their lives, share our home, become our friends, and celebrate this blessed place. As you can read from the countless reviews, folks arrive as guests and leave as friends, often confirming their next visit before departing.
We hope this guest has a better experience with her next Caribbean vacation, but we hope more that the next prospective host is better prepared for what’s coming than we were. Peace, love and Sunshine from Villa Marbella! Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
3.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Property: Villa Marbella Suites
Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing