We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Villa Marbella is a great place to stay when visiting Saint Thomas. Everyone is very friendly and offer amazing service. The room was spotless with a gorgeous view and the jeep was a blast to drive around in. My wife and I will be staying here again in the near future for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

I love hearing about people that had a fantastic time and look forward to a return visit with us! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We liked everything about this hotel - especially that it was not a traditional hotel.
And the Beaches, beaches, beaches!
We loved staying at Villa Marbella while celebrating our 20th Anniversary. It was a quiet, small villa which allowed us to relax and enjoy St. Thomas. Leah and Gunner were hospitable and helped us navigate the ins and outs of island life in St. Thomas for the week we stayed with them. We loved their dogs. The beaches were amazing. We were able to walk to a secluded cove from the hotel and also walk to Bluebeards Beach Club for people watching and the pool bar. It was a perfect hotel for us.

Room Tip: We loved the Mountainside villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kristen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

For those people looking for something different and more personable than a big hotel, we open our doors and hope that we provide you the service you're looking for! We love what we do, but more importantly, love to hear that guests have truly enjoyed their stay with us! Looking forward to having you again in the future!
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wow!!! This place is astonishing and definitely exceeded our expectations. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean with refrigerator and all the amenities needed for a long stay. The bed is luxuriously comfy. The room service was incredible. The view from the balcony was beyond belief; breathtaking and romantic.
Leah and Gunnar were marvelous. I’ve never stayed at any hotel/villa where the owners were as consistently friendly and helpful with obvious true concern for our pleasure and well-being. They are always available to help with any concerns whatsoever. They anticipated our needs before we could even ask. Leah’s recommendations were excellent every time. The service and attention around the pool is incredible. Gunnar keeps the pool and the areas clean all the time.
We would definitely be returning and would recommend this place to anyone. I highly recommend this place. If you are planning a trip to St. Thomas, this is absolutely the place you want to be. Trust me you would be amaze and delightful.
P.S. Leah and Gunnar, you guys rock. My wife and I thank you very much for making us feel at home. It was a pleasure to have met you. Love you guys. You are awesome.

Newlywed from NY

Room Tip: Private Location in a secluded area. Perfect place for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hakeem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for the amazing review! We are so happy that you loved Villa Marbella and the Jeep. Having a wedding in St. Thomas is a beautiful thing and we're so happy that you had a great time. We would love to have you back for an anniversary in the future! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

loved this place so much. Gunner and Leah were both accommodating, warm and welcoming! They picked us up right when we arrived and made us feel comfortable. Their dogs Yager, Lexi and Jack are all cuties. We rented a Jeep with them and everything worked out perfectly. Location is awesome and convenient and Leah and Gunner were always around when we needed directions or recommendations. My bf was also on the island as well and stayed at the Marriott Frenchman's reef and all of us that stayed at Villa Marbella agreed that we would pick Villa Marbella over the Marriott any day!! Thanks Leah and Gunner for everything! We loved St. Thomas and hope to return one day!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! Helping our guests with all the ins and outs of St. Thomas is a pleasure to us! If you're looking for a place to stay that is a different experience from big hotels, we hope that you choose us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived at this hilltop retreat on a Wednesday afternoon- part of a wedding party that rented the entire villa. As we conquered the uphill jaunt in the rental jeep we couldn't believe our eyes. The views were incredible.

The bride and groom checked the entire villa in and promptly showed us around. (It should be noted we met Leah, the owner, earlier at the airport.) Upon entry to our villa, the Cruzan suite, we were provided a dual hot plate, mini fridge stocked with bottled water, sink with all of the necessities for meal making, coffee pot and a cute table and chairs. Around the corner was the bedroom with TV, huge picture window overlooking the lush tropical foliage and sea, and a nice bathroom with step in shower. Also provided were beach towels, chairs, cooler, umbrella and other beach amenities. We were so pleasantly surprised! We looked around the other rooms that were poolside and they were just as nice. One specifically was 2 story with a loft bedroom overlooking the beautiful bay, pool and hot tub area. The villa is about a 5-10 minute drive from the Havensight area where the cruise terminals and shopping are located.

Leah, the owner, was very accommodating giving us tips on local scene. She was so friendly and welcoming. We wished we had more time to sit and chat with her!

Tips: A car rental is a MUST! The villa offers a rental that is a GREAT deal. Take advantage of it- taxis on the island are NOT cheap. The private beach the villa offers is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. Keep in mind, it's not for the faint of heart. It's a nice, shaded walk to the beach, on rough, shaded terrain and mostly downhill. Bring sneakers, trail shoes or walking shoes. Flip flops are ok on the way down, but NOT on the way back up. Uphill is rough, but trust me when I say the private beach is worth the struggle. You probably won't want to take the cooler down to the beach because it's a rough trek, but a backpack would be ok. We took plastic cups, mixed drinks, a bag of ice and towels and we were set for a while. Ok, back to the rental car. The roads are crazy! Curvy, hilly and left side driving. Beware of other drivers. The roads are NOT suitable for walking, so seriously, take advantage of the rental the villa offers, if it's available. It's a HUGE added bonus.

This was such a non-commercial, private island retreat. We love, love, LOVED it! We can't wait to bring our friends back who are planning a winter wedding in the states, for their honeymoon. Oh another tip- utilize the grill the villa offers and one of the supermarkets (Kmart, Pueblo) on the island to save money and grill your dinner- whether it be fresh caught fish from a charger (which I believe they also offer) or fresh steak or chicken from the market.

You won't be disappointed coming here if you're looking for a private, relaxing getaway without tons of tourists crowding common areas.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cruzan room. The Cruzan room has a private walkway and is away from the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for the great review! I couldn't have said it better myself! We can definitely recommend charters and excursions to meet you needs! And if you're looking for a break from all the restaurants, we do encourage you to help yourself to the grill to prepare a delicious meal for yourself! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our second stay at Villa Marbella; our first time in the Cruzan Room. This room was the perfect size for our getaway from the mainland. Gorgeous views and perfectly located near the many places we visited. Convenient enough to come and go between exploring the island. Love that we can rent a Jeep directly through the owners. Leah and Gunnar are great! Very accommodating hosts and helpful when it comes to deciding what to do or where to eat. I'll say it again (and I really mean it), we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We look forward to having you back! We're so happy to hear that you had a great vacation! Your kind words mean to much to us as we really love having happy guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great place to view the stars from as a Northerner you get very far South and are able to see the Southern cross from the driveway. A great added bonus is there are very few surrounding yard lights to contend with. As the reviews have echoed the hosts are great whatever you are hoping to do.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotwinsgoMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Although we can't predict the weather, we must say we are really lucky to have such a beautiful and quiet location for our guests to enjoy. I'm so happy that you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
3.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
1.0 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range: £75 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing