We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband & I just spent five days in the Cruzan room. We loved the room, loved the view, loved the pool and beach in walking distance, loved our Jeep, and very much enjoyed meeting Leah and Gunnar as well as their sweet dogs. We couldn't have had a better time on the island!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for the great review! We love hearing how our guests love not only our rooms and jeeps, but that they love having our well behaved dogs here on property. For those animal lovers, it's a nice find comfort when you're missing your own 4 legged friends while away on vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hospitality was top of the line. The owners were a very sweet couple. I enjoyed the peace, paradise, quiet and privacy. The view was marvelous and the property had its own trail to a local beach. I had the mango room. It was small but cozy. This room is for no more than (two) or a couple who can really stand each other, lol. You can be picked up from the airport and even rent a vehicle on the premises. The only thumbs down for me was that it didn't have a sink that I could wash my own dishes and cook how I wanted to but you can enjoy that luxury in other rooms available. Go for the cruzan room!!! Hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Cruzan room is the easiest room to get to if you can't do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queentripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We would love to have you back next year! Our cozy little mango room is perfect for those who want to see St. Thomas on a budget! It is our most affordable room because it is small, but it is very quiet, safe, comfortable and definitely cozy! But that's what makes it perfect for people on the go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Villa Marbella Suites is the perfect place to stay for couples that want paradise, peace and quiet, and privacy. On a hilltop, Villa Marbella provides fantastic unobstructed views of the ocean and the mountainside. My significant other and I stayed in the Cruzan room, which had a private entrance with a patio and windows facing the ocean. Our room also had all the amenities you could need for your adventures exploring the islands--beach towels, beach chairs, beach umbrella, beach bag, flashlights, binoculars, sunscreen, bug spray, and a cooler. The room also had the basic comforts of home including a kitchenette, refrigerator, TV with cable and a DVD player, dining area, bathroom and toiletries, and an outdoor hose to wash your sandy feet before coming into the room. Because the Villa is on a hilltop, you have to walk about 5-10 minutes down to a secluded beach--the hike up is a little more difficult than going down, but a great way to get in exercise. Also, the owners have a fleet of excellent, clean, and reliable vehicles that you could rent from them at the best rates on the island. We ended up renting a fairly new four door Jeep that was definitely perfect for driving up and down the winding mountain roads and hauling all of the travel gear. Plus, if you rent a car from them, they will pick you up from the airport and drop you off!

The best part of the entire stay was the welcoming hospitality of the owners Leah and Gunner and their three dogs Yager, Lexi, and Jack. Leah and Gunner were truly accommodating hosts and always had great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. I highly recommend this Villa to anyone seeking tranquility in paradise and I will return if I ever visit the islands again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UMarieKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad that you loved the room, jeep and our adorable clan too! It really means a lot to us that our guests feel like this is home away from home. All of our guests are important to us and we want to make your vacation as enjoyable as it could be! When you rent a vehicle from us, we are allowed to pick you up at the airport! It's a great way for us to get to know you and for us to point out some of the great spots for you to visit!
We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I and my mom loved Villa Marbella, we loved the view, we loved Leah, Gunnar and their 3 lovely dogs. Villa Marbella is wonderful and very clean place with the trail to very nice beach. Leah and Gunnar was always helpful. Leah picked-up us at the airport and dropped off in the airport. They were always there if we needed anything. We were not sure if need the car for all our stay and Leah just let us decided during the stay what days we want the car which was super sweet from her!!! I can hard recommend to rent a car because the island is so nice and each part is different and than for sure i will recommend to visit St. John as well so for all of this is important to have a car. The host provide a beach chairs and all staff needed for snorkeling so you don't need to rent it on the beach. I could say that villa Marbella suits was for me the best choice and if visiting the island again ( we are from Europe- which is little bit harder to get to the island) we would without question stay with them!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We really try to work with our guests needs! When making your reservation, we encourage our guests to rent a car as it truly is the best way to see our beautiful island. If you don't want to reserve a car, that is fine too! Keep in mind, we are in quiet and private residential area. A 3 day consecutive minimum is preferred with our car rentals, but if you're unsure about your rental car needs, we will work with you based on vehicle availability!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Villa Marbella described in one word is PARADISE! Very quiet villa with amazing views. We stayed a week in the mountain view room with our family of 4. The room is clean, bright and extremely comfortable with an unbeatable view of both the Atlantic and mountain. The stairs, I will say are very steep to get to the sleeping area (I would not recommend for young children or elderly) but it is not stopping me from giving this place 5 stars. Leah and Gunner are great and do a great job providing everything needed from beach towels, beach bags & chairs to toys and snorkeling gear. My girls (8 & 10yrs) loved the pool and their doggies Jager, Lexi & Jack. Be sure to hike down to the nearby beach. We had it completely to ourselves :-). There is so much to do in St. Thomas & St. John! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We would love to have you back! Thank you so much for the great review! I'm glad that you enjoyed our paradise as much as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Jacqueline and I spent seven days on Jost van Dyke with family. We were looking for a comfortable place to rest over on St. Thomas before flying back to Mississippi. Lucky for us we found Villa Marbella. Leah and Gunner gave us warm welcome and first-class service during our stay. The apartment was roomy and had all the bells and whistles to prepare meals. The shower was spacious and water stream was excellent. The only downside was the a/c in the room did not reach the coolness to satisfy our needs. Leah and Gunner did everything to correct the a/c problem. On our last night, we had a comfortable, cool room.

The location of the villa was remote, yet not isolated from restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing. We enjoyed sitting by the pool drinking wine and island specialties. We particularly enjoyed talking with the other guests and discussing varied topics. Jacqueline and I liked having the room and rental vehicle at the same location. That made it convenient to tour the island. It was nice to have Gunner and Leah recommend (without being commercial) what to do and where to go. If you go to St. Thomas I would recommend Villa Marbella Suites without hesitation. You have to have the pizza at Pizza Amore. It is awesome.

We wish we would have known about Gunner having a boat/fishing tours. We will definitely do that next time around.

Overall, we had a five-star experience and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get an A/C guarantee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you both for the kind words! We really strive to give top notch service. You were so patient as we worked out the issues with the Air Conditioning. Living so close to the equator does give us some hot summers, but this was an unusually hot sunner due to that fact we have had very little rain, so our AC has a hard job to do! We have recently completed a detailed maintenance on the all of our units, which has helped tremendously. All of our rooms have Mitsubishi Electric Wall Units which work hand in hand with the fans in the rooms. We have also added a new partial shade porch cover which reduces the amount of HOT UV Waves!

We're glad that having the accommodations and the vehicle rentals were convenient for you as that is what we strive to achieve for our guests! We look forward to having you back in the future and we have to agree, We love Pizza Amore too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Villa Marbella is a great place to stay when visiting Saint Thomas. Everyone is very friendly and offer amazing service. The room was spotless with a gorgeous view and the jeep was a blast to drive around in. My wife and I will be staying here again in the near future for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagerSt_Thomas, Owner at Villa Marbella Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

I love hearing about people that had a fantastic time and look forward to a return visit with us! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
3.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
3.7 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range: £75 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing