We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Retreat Ready For Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marbella Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
“Cozy Retreat Ready For Relaxation”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My friend and I had never been to the USVI and we were a bit nervous about choosing the wrong place to stay upon reading reviews of the various hotels in the area. We didn't want to spend a small fortune on the all-inclusive resorts but still wanted a nice clean and comfortable place to stay that was reasonably priced.

No worries here!!! This villa had everything we needed and certainly surpassed our expectations.

Leah, our gracious hostess, was incredibly accommodating and was a great help in guiding us to the island's activities and such, making our visit here even more pleasurable. The suites come with a kitchenette and small terrace from which to view the bay with ships coming and going. There is a pool from which one may lounge about and watch the tremendous sunsets... or just wander down the private path to a quaint beach, just a couple of minutes away.

Though the place is a bit off of the beaten path, it is quiet, secluded, secure and still close to everything you could possibly want here. For the money, this place is definitely a great find!!! Have fun here and tell them Michael & Barb said "Hi!".

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
260
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pine Mountain, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2011

The Best Thing That I Like About The Place Is It's like u are At Home On Vacation There Are Not alot of people around u. The owner Leah Is Very nice She tell u where to go what places to see. The Place Is Very Private. My Family And I Have Went On About 10 Cruises And There were to many people this place is near everything. If U Are at a Best Western Or Marriott U Have thousand And thousand of people to deal with, u can go swimming anytime and the pride is great

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Villa Marbella proved to be a lovely retreat for a recent visit to St. Thomas. It is located on the eastern side of the island, readily accessible by car to downtown Charlotte Amalie or Red Hook. The Frenchman's suite - perhaps small by some peoples' standards - offers an exquisite covered patio from which to savor the sunset each night and greet the sparkling blue water and green hillsides of St. Thomas each morning. The loft bedroom -- reachable by a steep iron spiral staircase -- is comfortable, with a fan to circulate air at night. Although it does not have cooking facilities, the coffeemaker [fully stocked], microwave and refrigerator were perfect for morning continental breakfast preparations and to keep picnic and cocktail hour supplies on hand. One of the best features of the villa is its proprietor, Leah Latour, who is extremely knowledgeable about the island and its attractions and proved to be a very gracious and welcoming hostess. Payment is through Pay Pal, which can be challenging sometimes and visitors may find it easier to make their final payment upon arrival by cash. Check out the Villa Marbella website for additional details about this delightful guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanpva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We booked our stay at Villa Marbella in January to escape the cold of Minnesota for my 50th birthday. I expected it to be "pretty" there, but much to my surprize, it was absolultly "breath taking". The view from our room (The Frenchmans View Loft) was incredible. Leah and Gunnar (owners/operators) were there to greet us with a smile and a hand hauling the "over packed" luggage we had brought along. They did everything they could ahead of time to prepare our room for our comfort including having fresh cold water in the frig and the islands well known Cruzan Rum, not to mention, beach chairs, beach bag, coolers, snorkling gear,and much much more. Prior to arriving, I had asked if there was a grill there to use, when we got there, Leah announced, "I bought you a grill". She is very detail oriented, doesn't miss a thing, yet she's layed back enough to sit by the pool with her guests (if they so desire) and enjoy the evenings sunset with stories of her experiences on the islands and beyond. Leah even took us our for my birthday to a near by spot, Iggys, for live music, dinner and cocktails...it was great having her to do the driving and sharing the experience with us. From the first night there, we slept like logs, the cozy queen sized bed located in the loft is quite comfortable....waking up in the morning with our fresh coffee brewed from the Keurig and sitting on our patio was probably my favorite part of the day, looking over Frenshmans Bay, watching the cruise liners pass, the humming birds flitter, and relaxing. We couldn't get enough of the view! When we arrived we met strangers, and when we left we felt as if we had made life long friends. If you're considering a vacation to St Thomas we would definately recommend Villa Marbella, look no further, this is "The Place to Stay"! We will go back, hopefully, many times.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralee7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing, enjoyable, and unforgettable stay in the US Virgin Islands, then Villa Marbella is your spot. The hostess, Leah, was unbelievable and provided impeccable service. We could not have asked anything more of her and it was as if she was welcoming us into her home from the moment we arrived. The private beach, which is a beautiful hillside walk, is unbelievable and one of the best things we could have asked for on our trip. It was basically like having your own beach to yourself where you could swim, snorkel, hunt for shells, and take in the amazing views. Since we could not rent a car, we were still able to rent a scooter and ride all over the island. It was a great experience because we were able to pull over whenever we wanted to take pictures or take in the breathtaking views. On the scooter we rode to Red Hook, downtown, Havenside, and Magens Bay! There was no problem at all getting to these locations. We were also able to bring the scooter over to St. Johns where it did not cost any extra to take on the ferry. The villa was also very close to nearby restaurants that were unbelievable including Havana Blue. We could not have asked for anymore with this villa and thank Leah very much! We cannot wait until we return next time!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcross2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The Villa Marbella Suites was the best place my girlfriend and I have ever stayed on vacation. We can't say enough about this place. The owners, Leah and Gunnar were absolutely delightful and hospitable. They provided everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. For example, they provided beach chairs, 2 coolers, towels, snorkel gear, a grill, a bottle of Cruzan Rum, and much much more. The Villa was always clean and we just loved hanging out there, by ourselves or on the cool deck with Leah and the other vacationers that we staying there. It felt like we had known Leah and Gunnar for years. If you have any questions about making Villa Marbella Suites your vacation stay, do yourself a favor and stop asking.... Just do it.... You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWSKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The owners are wonderful. The suites are modern, beautifully done, very clean and comfortable. The pool area and views are magnificent. Giving you a 270' view of the Caribbean. The location is great being near both Charlotte Amaile and Redhook. We have stayed at other locations on the island Marriott's Frenchmen's Bay and now we found the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjmurph308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
3.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marbella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marbella Suites

Property: Villa Marbella Suites
Address: 15-24 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marbella Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing due south and looking down toward Frenchman's Bay and east to Charlotte Amalie (downtown St. Thomas), Villa Marbella Luxury Suites & BnB offers a truly unique combination of luxurious escape and the convenience of proximity to the beaches, shopping and dining offerings of St. Thomas. Situated on almost an acre of lushly landscaped mountainside, Villa Marbella offers unbeatable Caribbean sunsets, an inviting pool, and all rooms offer separate living and sleeping areas. A rental car is necessary for your stay. We have vehicles available or we can recommend other companies. If you rent from us we will pick you up from the airport and bring you back to the airport at the end of your visit! Check in is between 3:00 and 6:00 pm. We are sorry we cannot accommodate late night arrivals. Check out is 11:00am. Please note Villa Marbella is a Non-Smoking Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Marbella Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marbella Hotel St. Thomas
Villa Marbella Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing