We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a family vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
South Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful. Beautiful flowers everywhere. The beach is spectacular. Beautiful blue water. They have breach chairs to use while you're at the beach. I was told the five shop should be opening in a week, so that will help regarding bathrooms, fresh water showers and amenities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Mujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    73
    18
    16
    14
See reviews for
99
145
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We traveled with friends who were staying at Sapphire Beach Resort, a five minute beach walk from Crystal Cove. By far we had the best sandy beach. We spent the days on our beach which was truly amazing. Always a breeze, the snorkeling right from the beach was outstanding. Saw sea turtles, rays, tons of fish, beautiful coral, barracuda, starfish. Water was perfect temp for us…refreshing but so nice to stay in. Shade trees provided a nice break when we needed it…just had to pull our chairs under. Diane was our beach attendant and took care of getting our chairs every morning. People were super friendly and grounds are well maintained. We stayed in A16, a studio in A building and it was just steps to the beach. We will be back!

Room Tip: Going through VRBO was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just returned from another great trip to Crystal Cove - Sapphire Beach. Stayed in A building booked thru Dave at bestbeach.com, excellent rental. Dave treats us like old friends when we book and Norma his on site manager always takes good care of us. Many hours at Sapphire Beach with excellent snorkeling on reefs on the left and right, and plentiful sea turtles in the center sea grass. Also snorkeled at Lindquist Beach up the road a few times, excellent reefs. Found some new restaurants like Cheers Mate at Pools & Pavilions (best deal on fish/chips on Friday night and super friendly staff and cook) and ate at our old standby Mafolie Restaurant, best view of Charlotte Amalie. Went to St. John one day and excellent snorkeling at Trunk Bay and Cinnamon Beach. Drove to Coral Bay, not worth the trip, not much there. Cruz Bay has much more shopping and restaurants. Already looking forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank byrdman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Crystal cove is a great buy! Affordable and spacious. The rooms aren't brand new but who vacations for the rooms? The views were Amazing and we were within feet of a beautiful private beach! I recommend this property if you really want to get a feel for the VI, unlike a secluded resort this property was close to the nearby city of Red Hook and close to lots of water activities and other VI destinations. I recommend taking the safari for $1 to town it will save you a lot of money on taxis plus it added to the trip. The woman at the front desk was sweet and helpful, just make sure to ask for snorkeling gear and borrow it and explore your own private beach. I will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lashawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We purchased a Groupon for a 6 day, 5 night stay and were very pleased! The condos are perfectly situated on Sapphire Beach and about a mile away from "downtown" Red Hook and the ferry station. This means that you have quick access to a nice, calm beach that doesn't get too much traffic and a quick, convenient ride downtown to eat or catch the ferry to another island. The grounds itself are very neat, clean and gated. Everyone we passed was very nice and welcoming. We stayed in condo B-2. While, yes, the condos aren't brand new - the condo we stayed in was very nice for what we needed- which was just a decent roof over our heads for the duration if our trip. It was spacious with two beds and two baths, enough comfortable space for my friend and I. I suggest walking up the driveway to the main road to take an open air taxi into town. It costs $1 per per person. There is one restaurant on the lot and a swimming pool but we didn't try either so I can't give an opinion,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montagma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

3 years ago my husband and I stayed with friends at a condo here owned by their family and had a great time so when I saw the deal on Groupon, I decided it would be our vacation spot this year. I knew we wouldn't be able to get the same privately owned condo but when I booked our trip I asked for something similar. I was more than pleased when we opened the door to D-22. Colorful walls, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable king bed, tv with cable, beautiful view outside our door, I was very happy with our decision to stay here. You cannot beat the beach with its amazing views and easy access. I don't understand when people claim that the property is "not pretty". I agree that the condo's themselves are a little outdated but the landscaping around the property is gorgeous with all sorts of flowers, trees and shrubs. Also, I see alot of complaints of not having a bar/restaurant on the beach. Two thoughts on this, 1. you're staying in a condo with a full kitchen. it's not difficult to stock up on snacks and drinks and when you're in need, walk the 100 yards back to the condo (or bring a cooler to the beach!) and 2. if there was a restaurant, the beach would get crowded-ruining the peacefulness that attracts so many to it!
Location wise it's in a prime spot. At most it took 10 minutes to catch a safari to Red Hook with plenty of food options (aim for happy hour-best deals!!) and taxi's back are a little steep at $4/person but better than trying to walk (did it and DO NOT recommend it!!).
Only few (very minor) complaints- wifi wouldn't connect (but my husband and I both have sprint so our service was still in-network) and the gas oven was a little tricky, would've helped to have some pointers on how to get it to work (the knob was a little off so it took some tries to get it on/off and at the right temp)
So overall- if you're looking for a gorgeous, quiet beach and you don't need all the frills and pampering of a hotel/resort, this is the place for you. Just communicate with the manager if you have concerns and hopefully they'll take care of your worries!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sneavl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Sappphire beach is absolutely gorgeous, but crystal cove exteriorly is completely outdated and in major need of cleanup and repairs. Units r owned individually so ur unit could be good or bad. Read reviews. If u like pretty well kept plush grounds and pretty looking buildings.... then go somewhere else. The only pisitive we found is the beach is gorgeous...
Many other places to stay that will give u that inviting vacation feel.
Not here....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
1.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Property: Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Address: Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay Hotel St. Thomas
Crystal Cove Beach St Thomas
Crystal Cove Condos St Thomas
Crystal Cove Condominiums
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing