We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view but no walking to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Gardens Guesthouse
Pittsburg, CA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but no walking to town”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The great view and accommodating service are strong points. Rooms need updating but are adequate and clean. Walk into town is difficult and not safe. Have rental car or take taxi - there is no sidewalk or room on the side of the road for pedestrians. We did it but I would take taxi next time.
Overall - no thrills but pleasant 1-night stay in one of the lower price hotels on the island.

Room Tip: If you have a choice go and check the rooms. They are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisiuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    6
    13
    13
See reviews for
9
29
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustin françe
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Sunset gardens is located above Charlotte Amelie, the view is magnificient. The rooms are ok especially for the price you pay and compared to the other hotels..it's worth it. The small swimming pool is nice and very well kept, the land lady adorable. Far from the beaches but definitly a good place to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWANSONG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed at the Sunset Gardens for one week with 31 high school and college students and leaders! The kitchens in each room helped to make our days start out right. We enjoyed the views every day and the pool in the evenings. The location made it easy for getting around the Island each day. The staff took care of us and were a pleasure to work with. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to St. Thomas!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We went to St. Thomas for our wedding and decided to stay at SunsetGardens. What a good decision we made. This hotel sits atop amountain but there was no problem finding the place because you could literally see their sign from a mile away. This guesthouse has a beautiful view of the island, it’s clean and the staff make you feellike you are at home. We really enjoyed the small but nice pool.The night we came back after the wedding, we took pictures around theproperty with the view of the island backdrop behind us. Coming backafter a long day, it felt good to relax in peace. We will definitelystay here the next time we travel to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The staffmembers are warm, helpful, and friendly. It is a warm and relaxing place to stay with a marvelous view of the main harbor, especially at night. With the fully equipped kitchen in all unit, its easy to get that "home away from home" feel, especially if you are a foodie like me. For those who dont love to cook like me, there's several restaurants within a one minute drive. The staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat, especially Tickles (a place by the yacht harbor with amazing breakfast) The people who run this place really know what they are doing. When we went it was Carnival time and it was getting a bit noisy from the street (when people were celebrating). The staff went out of their way to get earplugs to help us sleep better. If this is your first time planning a trip to St. Thomas, keep in mind the different standards between the mainland and the islands (like over here water is more expensive, food is usually slightly more expensive because mostly everything is imported, etc.). Emerald Beach is about 5 minute drive from here and downtown (hundreds of stores in one place) is about 7 minutes away. We have been to St. Thomas twice now and love the island. The beaches, the shopping and the people. We will be back for the third time next year with our friends!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipiper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We recently stayed at Sunset Gardens, and it was exactly what we were looking for (good value, reasonably priced, and pleasant). Perched high above the mountain, we could see the view of both cruise ship harbors. In addition to the view this place had real personality (thegood island kind), not your typical hotel (more intimate and personable like a guesthouse). Location was also good, about 10 minute drive or less to anywhere on the island. The only thing I didn't like was the narrow parking (though highly advisable to rent a car to save on cab money), but then again its expected when visiting any island. The view, the staff, and nice rooms made Sunset Gardens a memorable experience for me.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggomez502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2011

My expectations were easily met when we spent 4 nights at thisestablishment. This place is a good low price option if you're on abudget. The view is unbelievable and the people are friendly. All thestaff on the property always had smiles on their faces. The managerwent out of her way to help us when taxi service unexpectedly made amistake ( keep in mind this place was a little hard to find) . Therooms are not huge but they are clean which was more importnt to us.This place definitley isnt the Ritz but we liked the "warm", smallproperty feel of it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slindberg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
0.9 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
707 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#11 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
421 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bunker Hill Hotel
Bunker Hill Hotel
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Gardens Guesthouse

Property: Sunset Gardens Guesthouse
Address: 11 - 4 Contant | Crown Mountain, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Speciality Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Gardens Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering fabulous views of the Harbor you can only get from being on Crown Mountain, this guesthouse offers free off street parking, a shared community pool with deck and grill, as well as free WiFi. Each of the simply furnished suites at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse include a fully equipped kitchenettes with kitchenware, a stove with oven, small fridge. Rooms also feature a Flat-Screen satellite TV. Some rooms offer Sofa/Bed and Private Balcony, and others offer a shared balcony. Coin-operated laundry facilities are available 24 hours a day. The nearest supermarket is 1.2 km away while Downtown Charlotte Amalie where you can shop or enjoy the walking tour is 3.2 km from the property. Pistarkle Theater is 8 km away, Mangrove Lagoon is just 12 km away, while Hassel Island is 5 km from the property. Cyril E. King Airport is a 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Gardens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Gardens Hotel St. Thomas
Sunset Gardens Guesthouse St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing