We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROACHES!! DISGUSTING! FALSE ADVERTISING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Gardens Guesthouse
atl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ROACHES!! DISGUSTING! FALSE ADVERTISING!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Let me start out by saying that my husband and I travel a lot and have been to many places. The first problem that i we came across is the false advertising the website provides. The rooms look NOTHING like the website shows or describes. They fail to mention the the only room that has AC is the bedroom, therefore the TINY "living room" is blazing hot and humid. The second MAJOR issue we found was that the room had roach droppings on the bed, and we did see 3 live roaches. When we complained about that to the front office, she said "oh those are water bugs and are common"........uh, NO THEY ARE NOT WATER BUGS, THEY ARE ROACHES!!!! Save your $$$ and move onto your next choice. This place should NOT be called Suites. They are NOT SUITES, they are crappy rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    6
    13
    13
See reviews for
9
29
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed 3 days at Sunset Gardens last week and enjoyed our stay alot. The manager was warm and hospitable and made our experiencegreat. The rooms are basic (with full kitchens) but very clean.Bathrooms are regular size hotel bathrooms. As previous posters mentioned, the View is spectacular. This place is perfectly situatedon a mountain so you can really see the full island (and other islands) from a unique,amazing angle. The evening breeze andsparkling pool were a real treat. St. Thomas has so little pollutionyou can actually do some good stargazing at night. We will be comingback.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Me, my husband and a good friend stayed 5 nights at the Sunset Gardens
Suites. Sunset Gardens simply has - great location with amazing views
- you overlook the whole harbor and see all the cruise ships coming
and going - breathtaking!; friendly, accommodating staff and nice,clean rooms. As long as your expectations are realistic (a nice,budget friendly, peaceful place to relax and enjoy paradise) you will like Sunset Gardens. From the hotel you are about a 5 minute ride from downtown Charlotte Amalie (the main shopping destination for most tourists, so expect lots of shops,restaurants, etc). Though downtown has lot to offer, we actually preferred Frenchtown, which is closer to
Sunset Gardens. Its a little more low key, not as many tourists running around and still has lots of good restaurants. Renting a car is definitely best way to get around.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Although the location was great the rooms were not. We stayed in their honeymoon suite and I did feel comfortable sleeping in the bed. It's the first time I ever saw roaches eat through plastic to get to the bread.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kchewlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightstown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had a reservation for one night, and thank goodness not more! The room was dark and depressing, there were insects in the shower and on the kitchen sink. There is no where close by to eat, so if you don't have a car or want to call a taxi, you will be out of luck - unless you order something to be delivered. The bed was comfortable, the couch was old and had no support in the cushions, and to take a quote from the ad "All accommodations provide desks, ergonomic chairs", there was not a desk in our room, not an ergonomic chair. The TV had been wiped off with a wet rag because there were streaks all over it. I would not recommend Sunset Gardens to anyone. We were very unhappy. When we got to the "office" to check in (at 4:30 p.m.), there was no one there. I knocked on the manager's door three times and rang the bell twice before she came to help us. She seemed in a rush and was not helpful when inquiring about places to have dinner. The view from the shared balcony was amazing.... which was the only positive thing about Sunset Gardens.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Overall, not a bad place to stay. It has great views of the harbor and the porches are a peaceful place to have breakfast and to watch the boats. It has personality and you will know that you're in the Caribbean. The roosters, iguanas, lizards, trumpet-playing neighbors, and cats make this place unique. I never knew that roosters start crowing at 3 a.m. until staying here. It's a good price and a fun stay if you go in with the right attitude. You're in the islands. It's great having a kitchen and makes it a little cheaper as far as food goes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavamenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The great view and accommodating service are strong points. Rooms need updating but are adequate and clean. Walk into town is difficult and not safe. Have rental car or take taxi - there is no sidewalk or room on the side of the road for pedestrians. We did it but I would take taxi next time.
Overall - no thrills but pleasant 1-night stay in one of the lower price hotels on the island.

Room Tip: If you have a choice go and check the rooms. They are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisiuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
1.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#12 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bunker Hill Hotel
Bunker Hill Hotel
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Gardens Guesthouse

Property: Sunset Gardens Guesthouse
Address: 11 - 4 Contant | Crown Mountain, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Speciality Lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Gardens Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering fabulous views of the Harbor you can only get from being on Crown Mountain, this guesthouse offers free off street parking, a shared community pool with deck and grill, as well as free WiFi. Each of the simply furnished suites at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse include a fully equipped kitchenettes with kitchenware, a stove with oven, small fridge. Rooms also feature a Flat-Screen satellite TV. Some rooms offer Sofa/Bed and Private Balcony, and others offer a shared balcony. Coin-operated laundry facilities are available 24 hours a day. The nearest supermarket is 1.2 km away while Downtown Charlotte Amalie where you can shop or enjoy the walking tour is 3.2 km from the property. Pistarkle Theater is 8 km away, Mangrove Lagoon is just 12 km away, while Hassel Island is 5 km from the property. Cyril E. King Airport is a 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Gardens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Gardens Hotel St. Thomas
Sunset Gardens Guesthouse St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing