We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 21 St. Thomas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and charming”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We flew in for a one night stay as a lay-over en route to BVI, a ferry ride away. Jun picked us up at the airport, which we had arranged prior (they charge $40 but given you likely don't know where the heck you are when you land and if you are like us, have come a long way and are tired and don't know where Two Sandals is exactly, it's worth it). He and Helen, two 'retired' Californians own and manage Two Sandals.

The B&B is clean, friendly, quaint, secure, comfortable and still feels as if you have some modicum of privacy (it is, after all, a B&B so you are essentially sharing a house/building with strangers). We had a room with a private bathroom (clean and tidy, includes shampoo and body soap, clean towels, etc) and balcony but I don't know if all rooms have these same accommodations. We had AC, a ceiling fan and a functional TV that seemed to have decent reception although we didn't watch it much. Jun and Helen are both really nice people and are obviously very dedicated. Making reservations was no problem -- and any time we had questions, they were really responsive by both phone and email. Jun picked us up at the airport and then hung out with us after we arrived at their lovely place as we chatted over a beer ($2 each for whatever they have handy; ours was a good local Caribbean beer). They are both unassuming but responsive too at the same time. If you are looking for a "hotel experience" you won't find it here but you also aren't paying through the nose either. Another great feature of Two Sandals is its location: a five minute walk to the Secret Harbor beach (which has a very nice, white sandy beach and clean bar), as well as a seven- or eight-minute walk to Red Hook where you will find everything from a fully-stocked pharmacy to myriad bars and restaurants (including the infamous Duffy's Love Shack -- fun, btw). We spent our Sunday evening watching football in a typical "sports bar" venue in Red Hook. People are friendly(ish) but NB these restaurants and bars are obviously targeted to attract Americans and non-Islanders.

Breakfast. Forgot about breakfast -- really good: yogurt and granola, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, coffee (French press) and juice served by Helen on the terrace. Nothing too extravagant but perfect. Helen took care of us without being too obtrusive and yet, made sure we had everything we needed. Finally…we tried to call for a (quasi-unreliable) taxi to take us to the ferry the next day but no luck. Helen took us there free of charge. Bottom line: you get what you pay for and then some with this place. I've traveled a lot for work and have stayed in all sorts of different places…Two Sandals is what you need -- very clean, convenient, friendly and reasonable. Don't hesitate to book there. Jun and Helen run a great place -- many thanks to them for making our stay a good one during our Christmas holiday!

Room Tip: I know they are currently going through some renovations and two of the units (lower level) will app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    35
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
124
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here Thanksgiving night for one night before boarding a chartered catamaran the next day for a 5 day romp thru the BVI. Our plane was 1.5 hours late but Helen was waiting on us when we arrived. It's a little secluded which was jsut fine with us. The property is very nice and the rooms were nice. We dropped off luggage then went out to get a bite to eat and some drinks at Cruzan Beach Club. The next morning my wife and I were up before anyone else and Helen made us a pot of coffee while trying to get breakfast ready. The breakfast was fabulous!
We walked around the property a bit to shoot some photos before hopping in a prearranged taxi to take us to Food Center, then on to the boat. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RockhillNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We enjoyed staying at Two Sandals, but there is room for improvement. The room ("Redondo") was small but comfortable. It seems like the place was recently renovated. The breakfast was nice: yogurt with granola and jam, a hardboiled egg, and a different fresh-baked goodie each morning (e.g. muffins, scones, etc.) The B&B is walking distance from Secret Harbour beach, where we had some fantastic snorkeling (saw sea turtles, stingrays, and Caribbean reef squid!).

A few unusual things to note: the bathroom has no door, and the shower has no door or curtain. This is definitely a place for couples or close friends. :) My biggest complaint is that the windows have no screens. We would have preferred to leave the windows open for sleeping, but with no screens we had to leave them closed and run the AC all night. Also, the website says it's walking distance to Red Hook, but when we arrived Helen recommended driving there instead because the roads are dangerous (I agree).

Overall, it served the purpose of giving us a nice, affordable place to stay on St. Thomas. I hope they install window screens!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthem, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had the Malibu room for a 4 night stay and had a great time exploring St Thomas and nearby St Johns. This will not be a "resort experience", if you are looking for that then there are plenty of resorts nearby. If you are looking for something more unique with a iguanas in the trees outside your bathroom window, a beautiful view of the Red Hook harbor and a completely unobtrusive host at a bed and breakfast then you'll enjoy the Two Sandals.

Breakfast was a yogurt/granola/jelly combination, muffins, hard boiled egg and a delicious juice combination served on the patio overlooking the harbor. Our host was friendly and more than willing to help with advice on things to do but other than that gave us our privacy and space.

There was construction going on at the property during the day, it didn't bother us at all and the owner did offer to work around our schedule if it did bother us. Internet was spotty, it was beyond the control of the owners and we were able to use our own (iPad with AT&T and tethering to an Android phone using Spring worked perfectly).

We would stay again, it was a different experience from a hotel and we chose it for that very reason and weren't disappointed.

Secret Harbor is a short (1/3rd mile) walk, bring a flashlight if you do the walk after dark, and is a beautiful small beach for snorkling or just hanging out on the beach. The water is warm and clear. We had dinner twice, once casual dining and once more upscale, at the restaurant located right on the beach. Sunset was captivating.

Walking to Red Hook harbor was a bit longer, call a taxi if you don't enjoy walking in warm/humid weather, don't forget the short cut through the back gate of the property. Take a ferry ride to one of the nearby islands, $7 per person each way, we went to St Johns.

One of the other guests recommended eating at Room With A View in the main city, taxi was $20 for the two of us each way and the view didn't disappoint.

We spent a day snorkling at nearby Saphire Beach, about a $12 cab ride for 2, rent all the snorkling gear for $10/person for the day at the beach. Great warm water and you can get food and drinks delivered to you right on the beach.

Loved our stay, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Malibu room, best view and largest room didn't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was not impressed. The rocky road to the site, the minimalist furnishings, the continental breakfast. It wasn't what I thought I would get. Our hostess was very kind and sweet natured, but once out of sight, we were on our own. No ice, no cup for water and no response when we rang the bell, or called the two phone numbers provided. The breakfast consisted of coffee, a slice of dessert bread, a small yogurt parfait and a tropical juice drink. All very tasty, but not "breakfast", in my opinion. We were asked to leave the air conditioning "off" if we were not in our rooms - a minor inconvenience until you added in all of the others. No wash cloth, just two towels and two hand towels. I was nearly finished with a cold shower when the warm water began to flow. I won't be back and I won't recommend Two Sandals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and this was the second place we stayed on our trip to St Thomas and we wish we had stayed here the whole time. The room was lovely and modern, as was the en suite and there were no mosquitos!!! It is a great location, its a 5 minute walk to Secret Harbour which is a beautiful beach and was never busy and only a 5 minute walk into the little town and Red Hook ferry port to go to St Johns.
The breakfast each morning was amazing! We got excited for it every day!! There was always something different freshly made, the banana bread, sausage and cheddar scone and chocolate muffins were our favourite! The view from breakfast was gorgeous looking down onto the harbour. Helen was amazing, so helpful and knowledgeable and told us some great walking and snorkelling trails to take on our day trips to St Johns!
Staying at Two Sandals really topped off our trip to the Virgin Islands and if we get the chance to return we will definitely be staying here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoraA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JunHelen, Manager at Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you Lora for taking the time to submit your feedback on our property. It was a real pleasure to meet you and Matt and thank you so much for staying with us. We're really delighted that you had a wonderful time in the Virgin Islands and hope that you can come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My partner and I stayed for 1 night at the hotel. The hotel does not have a view of secret beach, instead the view from the balcony is of Red Hook ( ferry boat harbor) and the distant islands of Tortola and St John. Unfortunately this is a way away with construction sites and island-style suburbia in between. We were also in the back room with a view of the drive way. Our room was tiny and there is no door to the toilet! I don't know if this is the case with all the rooms but in a small room using the toilet while your significant other listens is awkward. Also, we were charged $50 more than the price quoted! However, the 5
Minute walk to the best beach on the island was nice. My advice, for the same price stay at Bluebeard's and get a taxi to secret beach for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JunHelen, Manager at Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on our property and for staying with us. We would like to address a few points for all our potential future guests. First off, the bathrooms in our Sandals rooms were recently renovated in the island-style design that you typically find in Hawaii and the Caribbean. We believe that the new design is more appropriate for the tropical environment and highlights the overall design of our property (for example, the high vaulted ceilings). For those looking for a room with a traditional bathroom and an ocean view, please consider booking our Malibu or Hermosa rooms (which also come with a private balcony). Due to the smaller size and lack of ocean view, our Sandals rooms have been priced accordingly as our “budget” rooms.
In addition, our rates, along with applicable fees and taxes are clearly stated on our website. We encourage all future guests to let us know if you feel that you have been charged more than what is quoted on our website so that we can properly address the issue. This guest never addressed this with us and so it is impossible for us to respond to this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
0.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast

Property: Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6264 Estate Nazareth, 00802-1112, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Sandals - Bed & Breakfast is located in the beautiful East End of St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands. It is the perfect place for a family trip, a romantic getaway, or short-term rental. The property overlooks American Yacht Harbor in Red Hook and boasts spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, including the neighboring island of St. John. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Sandals By The Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast
Two Sandals By The Sea Hotel St. Thomas
Two Sandals By The Sea Inn - Bed And Breakfast
Two Sandals By The Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing