We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Two Sandals by the Sea Inn - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Secret Harbour Beach Resort(Benner)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elysian Beach Resort(East End)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
137
36
18
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
36
18
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecret harbor beachb bhard boiled eggsyogurt parfaitsanta monicared hook ferryminute walklaguna roomsteep drivewayeach morningprovide transportationnext morningamerican yacht harborhighly recommend this wonderfulroad accessmason jarsauthentic island experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved our stay at Two Sandals. Helen and Jun were wonderful hosts. They were very helpful with tips and ideas for activities on the island and never steered us wrong. The pastries each morning for breakfast were the best! Helen makes them from scratch and each day they are different. Yum! It was about a 10 minute walk to Red Hook for restaurants or to catch the ferry to St. John, which we did most days. (If you are not adventurous, you will want to get a taxi to town). You can also walk to a beach, Secret Harbor, in about 7 minutes although we found better beaches elsewhere. We enjoyed a wonderful breeze and the view of the marina each day. We highly recommend this B&B and hope to go back ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Casper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just 10 Minutes from the Red Hook car barge. The B&B is about 100 yards off the main street down an asphalt road with some serious potholes - but ok as you need to take it slow anyway.

We arrived at about 3pm and met Helen (did not get to met Jun) when we checked in. She is so nice and helped us with questions, things to do, directions, etc. We had the big room - perfect for my family of 4. The 1 AC and 2 ceiling fans were more than enough - in the AM we would turn them off as the room was cold enough. Yes the bathroom shower has no door but that did not cause us any issues. The shower is very big and all tile (no plastic) and the bathroom has a very modern sink and basin. There is a bench to store bathing suits and a hanging area - quite a large bathroom.

I totally understand that the AC gets turned off during the day - electricity is very expensive and it only takes 30-60 minutes for the room to chill so no issues with that policy!

Breakfast was so so good - we were given coffee, tropical juice, 1 big chocolate chip scone (day 1) and oversizes blueberry muffin (day 2) plus hard boiled eggs and a delicious yogurt in a glass jar. We sat on the balcony and enjoyed the view of the harbor. PS - yes the road below is well travelled you can hear traffic, but we did not mind. We all miss the breakfast now!

The WIFI was perfectly fine - we had 2 iPads and 1 iPod going at the same time - no issues.

The main room was hot because there is no AC there (fans, but no AC). In this room Helen had a lot of good island maps and books and places to sit though we did not spend much time there.

So all in all - we were very pleased with the B&B, service, hospitality and friendliness and will book again when we return.

PS - Smith Bay beach (15 mins max drive) is wonderful - pay the $2.00 per adult - the beach is so nice and secluded - we stayed many hours there. The life guard snorkeled with us to show us the reef and surrounding area. Eat at OFF THE GRID - a small truck next to beach 5 min drive (on the hill) with great food!

Room Tip: Ask for the BIG room if you have 4 people
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter-from-Darien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Room and breakfast was ok but the customer service....

They enter and turn off the air conditioning whenever you leave your room, no matter how long you left the room. Justification for this would be that they are environmentally friendly. Maybe they are environmentally friendly but they don't like their guests. I want to enter to a room, which is cold. Is this not my right? Maybe not in this facility.

The room is decent. There is a fridge that makes noise. The TV is old but OK. If you are looking for privacy at the bathroom, you would be disappointed. Don't know why, there is no door at the bathroom (I guess modern design). You are literally pissing next to the bedroom with no doors. It is not pleasant when you are with your girlfriend or wife. The water pressure at the bath is very low. I felt like they did it on purpose to save on water. But at the end I spent more time on the bathroom because I can barely wash my hair at that water pressure. Whenever you want something they provide it but not very willingly. Location is not bad but not a very calm place. You feel like an unwanted guest here.

Btw. if you really want to understand their attitudes towards their guests please read their responses to the comments under poor or terrible reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank islandmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Hermosa room at Two Sandals by the Sea has a nice sense of privacy. We enjoyed having our breakfasts (so well presented) on the 'balcony with a lovely view' right outside of our room. Helen and Jun are helpful and run an efficient and charming establishement. We enjoyed spending a few days on Saint Thomas (having your own rental car is really a plus!) and the added day trip visits to Saint John and Tortola using ferry service from nearby Red Hook harbor was enjoyable as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with direct access to the balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HVwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed a total of 5 nights in April, before and after a voyage on the Schooner Liberty Star. The owners, Jun & Helen have been building their business and improving the amenities of their inn over the last 3 or 4 years. We liked the location: an easy 10 minute walk into the center of Redhook and less than that to the terrific beach at Secret Harbor. The inn itself is comfortable and clean, although some things still need work. The standard lamp mentioned elsewhere appears to be temporary until the ceiling fixture can be repaired, but I'm sure it's on Jun's list. Helen is the principal contact person for guests and she is great; friendly and helpful. The breakfasts she served on the balcony overlooking Redhook Harbor were terrific. All-in-all we enjoyed our stay and looked forward to returning at the end of our voyage. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank phoenixflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews