We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour overall, but very disorganized and unreliable”
Review of Tropic Tours

Tropic Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.99*
and up
St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay
Ranked #130 of 227 Tours in St. Thomas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tropic Tours owns and operates a fleet of Open air Safari buses that provide touchdown to takeoff ground transportation shuttle services from the St Thomas airport to all hotels in St Thomas and to Redhook for St John hotels. We also operate two tours, one on St Thomas with shopping and the other on St John with beaching and lunch. Both tours are a "Must SEE" before leaving the US Virgin Islands. All pickups and drop off are included on both island tours! We feel our tours are the BEST way to See both St Thomas & St John!
Milwaukee, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice tour overall, but very disorganized and unreliable”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The activity itself, a tour of St. John, snorkeling, and shopping, was nice, but not good enough to overcome the serious problems we had. Even though I confirmed with them 3 times, including calling the day before to confirm pickup from our resort, they picked us up late and had us down for the wrong tour. They had us marked for the St. Thomas tour instead of St. John. As a result, the group had left on the 9:00 a.m. ferry and we were left behind, since the driver didn't pick us up until 9:00. They asked us to reschedule but it wasn't possible. Instead, they put us on the 10:00 a.m. ferry, not really explaining how we were still going to be able to take the tour. It turned out they made everyone else wait an hour for us, sitting on the open air safari bus in the hot sun. As a result, we all missed out on some of the tour. The tour ended with shopping, but by the time we got to the mall, we had only 20 minutes to shop! He threatened to leave without us if we weren't on the bus by 3:00 p.m., which is odd because the tour was listed as ending at 4:30. The guide was knowledgeable but Tropic Tours is very disorganized and if you plan on going, I recommend calling both the day before AND the morning of to make sure you are really confirmed. I wouldn't do this again. It wasn't worth the $125 per person.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    5
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“St. John Day Trip”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We recently booked a day-trip to St. John with Tropic Tours. A private van picked us up at our hotel and dropped us off at the ferry in Red Hook. We really enjoyed the stops at different scenic points to take pictures. The stop at the sugar mill was a lot of fun. We also, surprisingly, enjoyed our catered lunch at Cinnamon Bay campground. Of course, the stop at Trunk Bay was the best. Also enjoyed being able to shop in town at the end of the tour. I just wish the shops had a little more variety. I wish I could remember our driver's name, he was fantastic and very knowledgeable. This was our second time experiencing this tour and it was even better than the first one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank B431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida,usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We recently were in St. Thomas for a destination wedding that required moving numerous people all over St.Thomas. The bride and groom had made all their arrangements with tropic tours and it could not have gone smoother.
The owner Egon made sure that from the time each person arrived, to the time each person left (and all the traveling in between) everything went smoothly and on time. It made things so much nicer for the guests not to have to worry about transportation to the various venues.
It is a family run business since 1962 and it shows.
Not only did the drivers get us around in spotlessly clean, air conditioned vans but they would also inform us as to the history, etc. as we drove.
We highly recommend them.
You can reach them at:
Www.tropictoursusvi.com
or 340-774-1855

Helpful?
Thank jowell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Charlie's Angels”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

tropic tours picked us up at our hotel in St. Thomas the first we went there and we had the most fabulous day we met an awesome guide named Charles and we have gone on this tour 3 times since. We highly recommend the tour and your next trip to the UVSI it is a must see and do. Swimming at Trunk Bay was awesome also which is part of this tour
Jessie and John

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessieB7605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tour Company”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Tours - awesome. Drivers - awesome. Focus on clients needs - awesome! I would not use any other tour company while on the island.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropic Tours also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Tropic Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing