We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food”

The Grille at Mahogany Run
Ranked #68 of 262 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Voted “Best Steak on the Island” for seven consecutive years, The Grille features a choice of mouth-watering selections from grilled steak, fresh seafood, and pasta options to a “Not to be Missed!” dessert menu. The Grille offers outstanding daily specials, a full bar featuring an extensive wine list, and the choice of dining on a covered patio or in air-conditioned comfort, both overlooking the amazing mountain scenery. The Grille is known for exceptional service with amazing, affordable food for lunch and dinner.
blue springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed on Mahogany run, so we ate at the grille on two different occasions. The first, the service was very nice. I had delicious pork in a sweet sauce. My husband had scallops. We thoroughly enjoyed my pork, but he was not too thrilled with the scallops. The second time we ate there, the service was not so good. The sign said that they didn't open til 11, and we were there at 7 minutes before hand, but the doors were unlocked. We get we were early, but our server essentially refused to look us in the eye or even really talk to us until our meal was almost finished, when there were other people in the restaurant as well. The food was decent again, but we felt that we were completely unwelcome and were extremely uncomfortable. Sorry we're used to doors being unlocked to mean that you're ready for business.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandolihn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    52
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
“Hype good- that's all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Food average-save your money, food is 80's style - needs a real chef for the money. Nothing original there. Go to local eats if you can.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beth, a great server!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Went with two friends for dinner. We ordered two plates of calamari, three burgers and a few drinks. Food was excellent, best burger I have had on island , in a great setting. Our server, Beth was right on target. Very friendly, knew the menu and was on top of everything perfect without being a nuisance . Highly recommended for a great meal and reasonable prices.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VegasCraig777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food & drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband is obsessed with the stuffed Chicken here so every visit to St Thomas we go here. Food has always been great & so are the drinks, make sure you try a Devil's Triangle it is amazing!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodierbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
416 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Reliable, Beware Slow Service When Busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Varied menu includes semi-healthy salads alongside generous servings of calorie-intensive burgers, Reuben sandwiches, pizzas. Cobb or chop salads with chicken or shrimp are reliable and reasonably priced lunchtime options.

Popular for lunch but beware long wait times for kitchen to deliver orders. Best to arrive at noon rather than 12:30pm or you could be waiting 45 minutes rather than 15 for your food.

There is an outside patio for alfresco dining which is more pleasant in good weather than the rather dark and unimaginative interior.

If you are solo, you'll find plenty of company at the bar backed by two flat TV screens showing golf and other sports events.

Parking is not a problem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grille at Mahogany Run also viewed

North Side, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Grille at Mahogany Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing