We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can do the hike...”
Review of Mermaids Chair

blue springs
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you can do the hike...”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First off, I would say bring plenty of water, and wear comfortable shoes. We were told it was a short walk so we didn't plan very well. Being horribly out of shape didn't help any :-) It is a very beautiful walk with a lot of vegetation and some very pretty wildlife. It took us probably 35-40 minutes to walk there. The waves are fun to watch hit the rocks, and there are tons of tidepools to explore. It was a very peaceful place to be. The walk back took probably twice as long as it was ALL uphill and very steep. (Being from MN, I'm a flatlander) I would definitely do it again as long as I did some more walking on hilly land a few months before hand.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank mandolihn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    3
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Thomas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Mermaid's Chair”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Mermaid's Chair is the strip of beach on the far western side of the island where the Atlantic and the Caribbean are literally 30 feet apart. It's the first thing most visitors see as they fly in. As other's have said, it's a long hike, but worth it. To get there, take Route 30 west, past the Farmer's Market. Park outside the Botany Bay Gatehouse. Sign in with the guard, and he'll give you directions (and so will I). From the gatehouse, walk until you come to the second street (not the first). Walk left, and keep walking straight (don't make the left). The pavement will end, and the street will become a gravel road, but a well tended road, easily walkable. Follow the gravel road to the end (there is a rounded paved area) and you will see one of the very few signs letting you know you have arrived. Take the stairs down to Mermaid's Chair. (Lat 18.352588, Long -65.04046) It's about 1.4 miles each way, almost all downhill going, and almost all uphill coming back. Note that these directions are NOT to Sandy Beach. Hitting both landmarks was a little too aggressive for our band of travelers.
Other hikers have stated that this is a good snorkeling spot, but the day we visited we judged the oceans too rough to even attempt swimming. Wear hiking shoes, and do bring plenty of water. Save most of it for the return trip. And remember your camera - this is a very scenic spot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank StThomasGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sandy Bay”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Best beach in St. Thomas. We had all intentions on hiking to Mermaid's Chair, but when we got to the Preserve at Botany Bay we were told for the best swimming we would veer right when we got to a fork in the path and head to Sandy Bay. I am glad we listened. After about a one mile walk through the development and then on to a rocky path it open up to the most beautiful beach I have seen. Turquoise water, rocky cliffs, white sand and practically empty! The first time we went to the beach, we spent half the day and a total of 2 other parties came to the beach. Then as we were leaving a bunch of people showed up to photography Nordstrom's photoshoot. Our second trip we brought food and drinks (a little bit of a hassle to get all your supplies down since you have to walk, but well worth it) and spent the whole day there. Only one other party came and left after 30minutes. Absolute paradise. If you are willing to hike down a and then back up you will not be disappointed. Beautiful, private and serene.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank didipikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The hike is worth it”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

You'll drive to the west side of the island and find the gated community called The Preserve. You'll park at the top and hike down a most paved road- there are no signs. The beach is quite, private and has little to nobody on it. It was gorgeous and worth the hike (about 2 miles). Be prepared with water and good shoes- the hike back up with flip flops was tough.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dre2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondville, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth it!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We didn't think we were going to be able to find it, be aware there's no signs!! We were lucky enough to run into one of the workers who lead us to the right way. But either way, it was a great hike, but will need plenty of water!!! Once you arrive it will be breath taking and well worth the walk! Good luck!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mermaids Chair also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Mermaids Chair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing