We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where the locals go”
Review of Rum Shandy

Rum Shandy
Ranked #45 of 263 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Rum Shandy is a Cabana Restaurant & Bar located in the heart of Frenchtown in the U.S Virgin Islands. Serving fresh sea and land specials and sandwiches
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

With Frenchtown having several of the best restaurants on the island, this local hangout joins that list. We went several times during our July 2014 week long stay to enjoy the fresh food and drinks. From fried pickles to awesome fish tacos and delicious pork ribs and sandwiches,, this place won't disappoint. They also have live music on many of the nights. While the restaurant looks like an open bar into a parking lot, don't be deceived as the atmosphere is great, food is awesome, and the staff very nice. A must go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Public Relations Manager at Rum Shandy, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We appreciate your review and loved reading the review with such positive feedback! It sounds like we will see you again when you come back to St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    32
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice change”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stumbled onto rum shandy. Quaint, owners trying real hard, friendly ,good food, clean, interesting drink menu, food is up beat! Would definitley go back,
Check them out of your in French town!!

Helpful?
Thank 13captobvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Public Relations Manager at Rum Shandy, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rum Shandy. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The food, service and drinks far exceeded our expectations. The customer service was first rate. The food had very first class flare with their own unique flavors. This place was recommended by a dive master of ours, we loved it so much that we took the entire dive group there the next day. Food and drinks were even better the next day, and our server/bartender Dwayne, most amazing personality and hospitality. Anyone would be so lucky to meet him, thank you for an unforgettable experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank premed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Public Relations Manager at Rum Shandy, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We do have an amazing staff. We can't wait to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This restaurant is new and has some great decorator touches (purse holders under the bar - cool colors & fixtures). There is both inside and outside seating. We ate outside, which was fine, but it would have been way too hot to eat inside. Our server was FANTASTIC - attentive and went out of his way to make sure we had a great meal. Overall the food was pretty great and you can tell that the chef really cares about the quality of his food. We would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatdiveeatdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Public Relations Manager at Rum Shandy, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Our Chef really does care about the quality of food. We use only the freshest ingredients, local seafood and the best produce we can find. We know that it can be hot in the Caribbean and we do offer our air conditioned back room to any group upon request. We leave it off to conserve energy but it cools down in minutes. Let us know the next time your group wants to come, and we will have the room ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
“First Time in the USVI”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Rum Shandy made our first trip to the USVI a pleasantly memorable one! We arrived to friendly staff, a great atmosphere (the live music made things so upbeat and fun) and delicious fresh food and drinks. Their menu caters to island life and we really liked that: fish tacos and lettuce wraps. We ate here for lunch and then went back the next night for dinner, both meals were outstanding. My wife and I both worked in the restaurant industry and we felt that the food, service and atmosphere were A+. Thank you Rum Shandy for a great experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Public Relations Manager at Rum Shandy, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Your opinion means so much to us especially since you are in the industry as well. We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you caught us on a night that we had live music, we are trying to bring back live music back to Frenchtown. We have entertainment Monday, Tuesday, Friday, Saturday and occasionally on Thursday nights. Check our Facebook page for updates, we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit St. Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rum Shandy also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rum Shandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing