We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded”
Review of Market Square

Market Square
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly a slave-trading market, this open-air fruit and vegetable market is a great place to stop and sample the fresh produce, especially the local specialty - genips.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nice little market where the cruise ships dock. It is across the street from the dock and can get a little congested. The offerings are typical although I did find a nice handmade Caribbean cloth doll for my granddaughter. Worth it to stop if you are looking for souvenirs..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CuppaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    74
    91
    28
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
519 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great place to shop”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great selection. Friendly staff. Easy in and out. Prices are reasonable. This is a place where you can get a great deal for your dollar. I have been here many times. It is away from the crazy cruise ship tourist traps that will leave you penniless.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CobaltConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Market Square is NOT Peddlers Plaza”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Everyone is reviewing Peddlers Plaza. It's fine for a cheapy haggle a little area. Market Square is several blocks west and home to, well, nothing. Once in a while ther's somone selling preserves but genearlly it's empty. Stay in the busy plaza instead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FredinVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A modern caption of a historical era well worth supporting!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Nice variety of old & new vendors and their different methods of selling. Some quiet, some aggressive, some just casually engage in conversation & 1 sings her wares away. All & all a nice market experience. Go check it for yourself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great gifts, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

lots of choice and even more colour! I particularly like the jewelry and bought lots for my family. The hair braiding reminded me of my first visit there in 96 when my daughter had her hair braided.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison01924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Square also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
 

Been to Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing