We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The updated and more beautiful hotel speaks for itself. Our five day stay was overall comfortable. Overall, the hotel was significantly understaffed, which caused grumpy staff and longer wait time.The pool bar staff was superior but not enough personnel. However, there were several service issues that should be mentioned. We experienced unpleasant waitstaff including snail slow and wrong food orders at the Sunset Grill, grumpy housekeeping staff, hallways filled with carts, and low water pressure with super slow draining in the bathtub and vanity sink. This was our second stay. So, we will try the hotel again in a couple of years.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for the candid review. We are vigilant in our efforts to continually maintain and improve our guest’s experience, so all feedback is appreciated. We would be grateful if you would honor us with another opportunity to provide you the full level of hospitality and service we have built our reputation on. Feel free to contact me directly at the resort if I can assist you in making arrangements for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,416)
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,236 - 4,242 of 4,417 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

A friend and I stayed at the hotel for five nights in January. Our check-in expeience with Antoinette was especially rewarding. I had injured my shoulder and she was able to get us into a beautiful room early. We had a great view of the harbor and the cruise ships arriving and departing. I had stayed at this resort last year and the year before and the renovations are a huge improvement. The new pool area is outstanding. Would wish to have more options for dining on the property but the meals we had were good. Don't miss Havana Blue which is on the beach but not part of Marriott. It's a lovely restaurant with upscale food and service. Thanks again to Antoinette for her help in getting us checked in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 270Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

We will definitely be sure to pass your service kudos onto Antoinette, thank you. Please call ahead to let us know when you will be returning again, so that we can welcome you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Destination wedding trip... The grounds were beautiful and the wedding Gazebo is perfectly positioned. Jessica Klein was our planner and she was outstanding. Great views from the high levels of sea cliff tower. The room itself was clean and comfortable but nothing special. Good AC, no musty smell. I especially enjoyed the main & infinity pools. The beach at the timeshare location (The Cove) was much nicer than on the main property. It had nicer sand, more activities and I was able to snorkel right off the beach (nice reef to the right side and sunken cannon on the left). The food was consistently good at all the restaurants but I enjoyed the Coco Joe buffets the most. I didn't try Havana Blue which is a shame. Food is pricy. You are able to buy alcohol at the duty free for very cheap though and there is a fridge in the room. Biggest complaint was consistently poor food service (the best service was average and there was no difference among locations) The worst service was from the bar tenders who were unfriendly and very,very,very slow. At one point we timed order to arrival at 37 minutes. As long as you don't expect the standard marriott service and are willing to tolerate the "island time" service it should be fine.
St. Thomas as a whole is breathtaking.

Room Tip: sea cliff tower has an exit on the 1st, 3rd and 6th floor. Rooms on the 5th have the best view and a...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

We are so glad to hear your wedding here was successful! Thank you for all the compliments (and specifically mentioning Jessica) and also your feedback on how we can improve our service. We hope an equally special holiday will bring you back to St. Thomas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This review is a pleasure to write because our time at this property was that terrific. Everything about this hotel changes it from a nice place to stay while in the islands to a truely wonderful experience. The rooms are nice and the property is in great shape. What sets Frenchman's apart is its staff -- they are not only professional and curteous, but really do go the extra mile to make sure guests feel welcome and comfortable. One person who was especially helpful was Juandella who made sure that all was perfect from check in to departure. I travel extensively and I can assure you that staying here is worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoreflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for the fabulous review. We will be sure to give Juandella the personal recognition she deserves as well. If your travels bring you back to St. Thomas, call ahead so we can greet you as a returning guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Recent renovation of rooms so they have new carpets, paint, etc. No towel racks in the bathroom though. You don't go for the rooms. The beach is fabulous, with limited snorkeling. CoCo's restaurant at the beach is great. Main hotel restaurants ok depending on what you order. Staff attentive - both the security head and hotel manager either gave me their cards or called to get our feedback on the resort. The pools are great, with swim up bar. The shuttle boat into Charlotte Amalie is lots of fun.
Regular resort view rooms have a slider that opens but no balcony. You need to upgrade for a balcony.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony and ocean view, you must pay extra.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the resort and felt properly attended to by our team. We know great service is one of the main ingredients for a successful vacation, and we thank you for your contribution. I hope to see you at our resort again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our overall stay was great and a perfect winter getaway. We stayed in a beachfront Morningstar room for 5 nights using Rewards points plus an upgrade fee that was well worth it ($180/night). The room was fine - clean, comfortable bed, adequate balcony - and bathroom nice but not extravagant. While not the accommodations of a true luxury resort, that's OK... it's all about the beach and location. We were steps from the beach which had plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas, some even under trees when shade was a nice/necessary break. I will say that we could see the impact of renovations in the common and pool areas in Frenchman's Reef and heard those rooms are now quite nice.

The restaurants were no more expensive than at other destination hotels/resorts (and I understand food is expensive all over St Thomas since little is native) and it was quite good . CoCo Joe's on the MS beach had surprisingly good food for breakfast and lunch compared to waterfront/pool restaurants at other resorts. Aqua Terra in the main building was quite good as well; the buffet was better and had more options than expected. From Day 2 on we bought cereal, pastries, coffee, and juice at the Market in the MS lobby building, and highly recommend this when you can't eat another big breakfast or lunch. A simple breakfast on the balcony was still a treat and we put savings toward nicer dinners.

We signed up for a day trip to St John through the activities desk and it was a great choice. The package included boat transportation (picked us up at the Marriott dock), an open bus tour of the island, stop at remains of a rum/sugar plantation, 2 hours at Trunk Bay for swimming/snorkeling, and a little time for food and shopping before the return trip. It was a little pricey (~$90 per person) but we thought well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Morning Star resort. We thank you for your thoughts, tips and recommendations for future travelers. For the benefit of those reading that are planning a stay with us, we’d like to differentiate the two parts of our resort that you mentioned. The Morning Star portion of the resort is located at the beach level where rooms are just steps away from the sand and sea. Frenchman’s Reef is located atop of a cliff and has great views of the ocean and Charlotte Amalie Harbor. We have a complimentary shuttle that runs between both parts of the resort, so you can visit the beach at Morning Star or take in the view from the infinity pools atop Frenchman’s Reef. Again, thank you for positive feedback and we look forward to having you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few days to celebrate his birthday before our timeshare weeks at Bluebeard's Castle. We had a wonderful time - our room overlooking Charlotte Amalie was beautiful - in the interest of full disclosure we did get upgraded - we are platinum Mariott rewards member. The infinity pools are absolutely gorgeous, great beach, great restaurants - Havana Blue was a wonderful choice for the birthday dinner, great lunches at Coco Joe's and the Sunset Grill, great food at the Gift Shop - and a wonderful staff - our waitress at Coco Joe's came to find me when I forget my leftovers, the lobby staff at Morning Star helped us with umbrellas and towels when we got soaked on our way to dinner at Havana Blue, the concierge and front desk staff were wonderful - love the property and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thequeenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences, we appreciate all your compliments about the resort and the details of how our team cared for you. Happy belated birthday to your husband and we hope the rest of your vacation is equally as special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,812 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £195 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing