We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The resort is beautiful place. A 5 star excellence. As a loyal customer . The management should make employees take a refresher training in Public Relations. Most of the front desk staff is very rude and act as they are doing you a favour when you bring a concern to them. I needed to contact my tour trip a day in advance and the tour co. had their phone on24/7 busy signal. I went to the conciege desk to ask them to call 4 me.They rudely told me to call myself. That's not their job they told me. I missed the tour and wasted the money for it because I couldnot contact them. The beach and pool side people were cordial. The police sirens were raging one night in the area. It is not safe to travel at late day and night we were advised by hotel staff. It is a very mountainous area. Very very narrow streets. I would not reccommend this place to anyone. If you do you are wasting your money. Watch your bill they tried to add an extra $600.00 to my credit card.I had to callCustomer Service to remove it.My bill was paid in full with cash. Hello!

Room Tip: Make sure you donot get an adjoining room . The balccony door couldnot open.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adeianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,415)
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,987 - 3,993 of 4,416 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Marriott Frenchman's Reef has come a very long way since we vacationed here two years ago. Management has made incredible strides at this resort which should be acknowledged and commended. Service constancy and follow up have taken a complete turn for the better.
Most important of all, there is an awesome change in overall employee attitude.
My husband and I spent 7 nights in May. After reading about all the new renovations, and despite conflicting reviews we decided to give this resort another chance, and we are so glad we did. The atmosphere we encountered was one of maintained beauty,helpfulness, and great improvement....
Joyce Griffin Director of sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef put my worries at ease after I contacted her right before our trip regarding a specific review that was troubling me, she understood my concerns and did so much to assure me that our safety and comfort were top priorities as guests. We met with her the day after we checked in, and she was most gracious, sincere, and sweet, She definitely set the right tone for the rest of our stay.
Roberta Bunn Lobby Ambassador was not only friendly, personable, and helpful, she went out of her way to quickly and efficiently resolve some minor room repair issues for us. She checked in with us all week to make sure everything was going smoothly and we were doing well and enjoying our stay,
Her enthusiastic personality was a bright spot each day for us. I especially enjoyed our friendly conversations and laughter.
Deirdre Pool Server was outstanding, she was friendly, quick, and helpful remembering our names and what we liked. (Rum Punch) :)
Those not named are the numerous employees that would pass by and acknowledge us with a smile and a greeting. from the front desk, to the doormen, to the housekeepers who were all pleasant, helpful , and efficient.
Our room was on the 7th floor with AMAZING VIEWS. It was spacious, clean, and well maintained with plenty of towels, toiletries, and two bottles of water daily in room. Anything additional needed was a phone call away, with constant follow up from Guest Services.
The infinity pool was awesome, the atmosphere, the breathtaking views, it was PERFECT!
There were always chairs and towels available.
The beach on the Morningstar side is spectacular, so serene and peaceful.
The interior of the Hotel was spotlessly clean and the exterior grounds are impeccably manicured and beautifully landscaped.
Aqua Terra Restaurant has a great breakfast buffet with plenty of selections and friendly, polite, attentive staff.
Havana Blue is excellent. Great food,and drinks. The dining room is gorgeous, illuminated by soft blue light and great music.
We also ate outside of resort. Virgilio's, Grand Cru, and Room with a View were all good.
Romano's was OUTSTANDING!!! Northern Italian Cuisine with innovative dishes and wonderful service. We ate here twice.

We had an amazing time from the moment we arrived until we departed.
We will definitely be returning to this wonderful resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headhonchonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

It’s my pleasure to be of service to you. I am grateful for your willingness to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations, which we did! The personal mention of Roberta and Deirdre for their outstanding service is appreciated as well; they will be recognized along with a compliment to the entire staff. Again thank you and please let me know if I can be of service for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

What a wonderful resort! My husband and I, along with 60 family and friends traveled to St. Thomas for our wedding. We were married at the gazebo on the main resort grounds and our reception was held in the Seaside Rooms located above Coco Joe's restaurant in the Morningstar section of the resort.

The grounds of this newly renovated resort are beautiful. We had guests stay in all areas of the resort, Frenchman's Reef, Frenchman's Cove as well as Morning Star and the accommodations were magnificent. The amenities, including the restaurants, multiple pools and spa did not disappoint.

We would highly recommend this resort and its event staff to anyone looking to host a destination wedding or special event. In the chance you are fortunate enough (as we were) to have Event Manager, Misty Cena, coordinate your special event; rest assured you are in the best of hands and the results will exceed your expectations.

We are looking forward to returning to this resort in the future and will always cherish the fond memories of our first trip to be married. Do not pass up the opportunity to enjoy this beautiful property!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathermbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

On behalf of the entire resort team, Misty and myself, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to give us your most gracious recommendation. We are honored you chose Frenchman’s Reef & Morning Star to celebrate your wedding. And, I am so pleased to read you describe it as ‘picture perfect’! We pride ourselves on being a hotel people specifically visit to celebrate birthdays, weddings and anniversaries and our entire team works together to ensure that we make every occasion a memorable celebration. It’s a great compliment to hear your desire for a future visit and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back! Best wishes for a wonderful life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

If you are interested in staying at a resort with all the amenities and is easy then Marriott (Frenchman's Reef, Frenchman's Cove, MorningStar) is for you.

Morning Star is more like villas and are the closest to the beach; Frenchman's Reef is the larger hotel-style rooms with the best pools; Frenchman's Cove (didn't actually visit this part) has a waterslide at the pool.

As an all-inclusive resort the prices of things are going to be a bit higher than most other places on the island (but not criminally higher).

With that being said, the food overall was really good, from the pool-side bar food to the up-scale Havana Blue (which I highly recommend for its romantic atmosphere).

The staff was helpful, especially Luis Santana at the pools who gave us our towels. He helped us to get around the resort and was a friendly guy. Thanks Luis!

Getting a taxi was easy with the help of the bellmen just out in front of the lobby. They even watched over our bags on our last day after we checked out so we could stay at the pool for a few hours before leaving to head back to the airport.

We had a great stay at Frenchman's Reef.

Room Tip: Of course you want a ocean view here (available for a room upgrade fee of $50). At Frenchman's...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank funkswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Sounds like you had an overall great stay! Thank you for mentioning Luis and the bell staff for their service. We will pass your compliments along to them. Also, we’re glad you enjoyed the restaurants and on-site amenities, even while waiting for your flight. Again, thank you for taking the time to post and we hope your travels bring you back to St. Thomas very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a wonderful time at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach. We chose to stay at Morning Star because of the proximity to the beach, but either location is great. Service was outstanding and the weather was wonderful. Great property, had just undergone major renovations! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We’re so glad you had a great stay at Morning Star and hope you get a chance to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great island but this resort nickels and dimes you for everything
Rent a car- taxis rip you off and hotel has a water taxi that s a five minute ride( only way to town is water taxi or taxi on a winding road)
Water taxi 20$ per person each way
Cup of coffee ( small)$4
Just annoying that you pay so much to get to a place and stay at a resort and you aren't even offered a cup of coffee

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenPace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

For our special occasion we were very disenchanted by this Marriott 's 48 million dollar renovation. The premisses were beautiful, but that is where it ended. Apparently Apple Vacations that I booked the trip through did not tell them it was for our 40th Anniv. There was nothing shown that they over-excelled & told us they were not aware of it. We were in charge of transporting our luggage to & from our room. When asked to have a different room upon checking in as the view was anything but appealing... viewing the valet parking & entrance to hotel. They said that was the room in which we were assigned & there was absolutely nothing they could do to change it, but adding they would see what they could do by giving us a different room after a couple of days. We never were thought about after that & when we checked about it a couple days later said there was nothing they could/would do about it. Staff was not friendly &/or very accommodating at all. They did what they had to, to get by each day. We had to request bath towels, wash cloths, toilet paper, & other room amenities each repeatedly on separate days. After a power outage an evening or 2 A/C would run constantly.
This Marriott property is divided into three areas - The Cove (timeshares), The Reef (main hotel) where we stayed 7 nites & the Morning Star Inn (a series of small buildings with it's own beach, pool & 2 restaurants; 1 of which is not included in AI; which was fine w/us because we heard throughout our stay from various other guests it was terrible dining). Not until we returned home did we find out there were shuttles that run between the Reef & the Morning Star throughout the day/evening. We always walked the 97 plus steps, & area back & forth everyday. Breakfast buffet each AM (Reef) was very good. Dinner reservations were required each evening at the Sunset Grill(Reef); service/food was ok. Ate at Coco Joe's (Morning Star Inn) a few evenings, no reservations needed, service/ food was better there. For a small fee a boat shuttle/taxi takes you to the town of Charlotte Amalie, shops/restaurants. Suggestion as we did: Time your trip for a day to town when ships are not scheduled to come into port, thus less people in shopping areas. Expect to travel by taxi or rental car if you plan to explore at all. We took an excursion (booked through Adventure Tours, located in lobby of hotel. They were very accommodating, & very well worth the $$) to St. John, USVI. Having taken a short taxi ride we enjoyed an awesome dinner at Mim's Seafood Bistro...highly recommended... w/90% seafood served caught in the area... ... fantastic & delicious /less expensive than at resort.

Room Tip: Good luck, you get what you are assigned & no changes...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £193 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing