We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Inconsistent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I would say this is a typical chain resort hotel. Rooms are ok, mostly clean. Staff is usually friendly, with some easily able to make you feel like a good friend. Restaurants are expensive with decent food. The biggest problem is a lack of consistency, everything from food to room cleaning can be good one day and poor the next.

There are really only two good choices for rooms IMHO, the main building on the hill which is where the restaurants and pools are (ie the "action") but is a bit far from the beach. Or Morningstar where the rooms are spread out for a more resort like experience and closer to the beach but a long haul or shuttle bus ride to the main building.

I'd avoid the sea cliff and harbor wings as they seem older and have more problems.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank ronin308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience! We take all these comments as direction for our improvement. The honest impressions of guests are very helpful for our leadership team. In that vein, your compliments on cleanliness and friendliness are appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,052 - 3,058 of 4,425 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I traveled to St. Thomas for our honeymoon for 7 nights. We enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. The only problem was the front desk staff. As a manager at another Marriott property, I know things get busy so you can't always give supurb service. However, at check-in, we were in line for at least 30 mintues with only one front desk agent on staff. This was at 9PM on a Sunday night. The gentleman who ended up helping the front desk agent check people in was fantastic. He offered us free drinks at the bar due to the long wait. This was above and beyond. After traveling for 17 hours to get to our destination this was refreshing. He was great! We had inquired about upgrading, of course we wanted to pay for the upgrade, and when we called down to the desk to see if it was an option, the agent who answered was rude, said she would check with her manager and call back. When she failed to call back 45 minutes later, I called again asking if it was a possiblity. If not we were okay with our current room. She stated we were on a discounted rate so we didn't even have the option. When I asked about paying to upgrade she grunted, said it was not going to happen and hung up the phone. Needless to say, we then avoided any staff we could due to the experience we had at check-in with the wait and lack of staffing and then with the rude phone call. We also had called for towels halfway through our week since we didn't want houskeeping to enter our room. We then had to call 4 TIMES for towels to be delivered. All of ours were dirty, waiting an hour and a half for fresh towels made us miss our dinner reservations causing a slight hiccup in our vacation. If we decide to come back for our anniversary we will make sure we have enough time for the staff to take their time with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing Frenchman’s Reef for this first very special occasion as a married couple. I am glad to hear your experience overall was a great one but am disturbed by the communication you experienced at the front desk. If there is any other information you would like to share you feel would be helpful for our leadership team, feel free to reach out to us via email at sttfrexperience@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. I would welcome the opportunity to be in contact with you and hope to meet you on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a nice very large resort even though it doesn't feel very large. There is a hotel plus several villa's. They have several restaurants, a couple of pools, views to die for, and of course the beach. They offer ferry service to and from Charlotte Amille for shopping. There are many different activities that you can sign up for like tours, etc.. As a guest of the hotel you can use the beach chairs, kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boats, floaties, snorkel equipment, etc.. The rooms were clean and had wifi service. I had a beach front villa with a patio. I couldn't get any closer to the beach. For the most part the staff was friendly. Every once in a while you would pass someone on the sidewalk and they didn't acknowledge that you were there but that was rare and happens everywhere. In fact if I was sitting on the patio, they all said hello, good morning, good day, etc. I was impressed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dang22391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I appreciated reading your descriptions of our resort, amenities and the way you were treated by our staff. You can be assured that every time you visit, you will receive the same warm responsiveness. I’m glad to hear your room was clean, WiFi good and all within footsteps of the beach. We hope another visit is in your plans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights on our honeymoon. The hotel staff was very friendly, especially the manager Juan who allowed us to upgrade our room on the day of arrival.

The pools had a superb view of the ocean, it was top notch. We stayed on the eight floor and had a room with a spiral staircase which was very nice.

The morning star beach was warm and inviting. Snorkeling, floats and bogie boarding is including with the hotel stay.

Room Tip: Get the room with the staircase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your compliments of our views, beach and especially the friendliness of our staff. We will be sure to pass along your generous mention to Juan. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A friend of ours got us a 'friend' discount and we stayed in a 'resort' view room so our cost was very reasonable. But we actually got a really nice ocean view (about half our view was the resort and half the ocean).
Most of the staff was excellent. We felt very well cared for. The women in the deli were sweet and treated us like we were regular customers.
But a few of the staff people, like the transportation people (not sure if they are part of the resort) were rude and indifferent.
The pool was nothing spectacular but the view at the pool was out of this world.
We paid out the nose on just about every purchase, but the room, hotel and amenities were definitely in line with what the room rates would indicate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for this helpful contribution. We are delighted to hear you found the resort so comfortable and accommodating. I will be sure to mention your compliments to our team at the Presto Market. We hope that based on your satisfaction with the value you received, you will visit us again! Please call ahead so we can welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

First the good: The location is very close to downtown, shopping and restaurants. The beach is beautifully, but its really hard to find one that's not in St Thomas. And last, the room was clean,

Now the not so good: The staff seemed as if they could have cared less if we enjoyed our stay, and the prices, for whatever you wanted to buy, we're very high,

I think we will try somewhere else next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bobby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for the compliments of our resort’s location, beach and cleanliness also letting the community here on TripAdvisor know your stay was an overall good one. We’re sorry to hear that you did not feel our signature warm responsiveness with regards to the service and we hope for another opportunity to show you the level of hospitality our reputation is built upon. Before your next visit to St. Thomas, please call ahead so we can welcome you back properly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We usually head over to St John as soon as we arrive in the Virgin Islands but this trip we decided to see what St Thomas had to offer in the way of resorts. We really enjoyed our stay! The staff was amazingly friendly from the front desk people who checked us in and out to people like Raquel our awesome waitress st the Sunset Grill. Even the gentleman signing people up for the timeshare tours was friendly and engaging (even as we declined his invitation).
Our room was seaside and walked out to a spacious patio where we could enjoy the sun (and fabulous sunsets) and easily access the beach, pool and tennis courts. The rooms were a little worn but not as bad as others we've paid a lot more for in the Caribbean. We know the main attraction of this resort is not to have a fancy room but to experience the convenience of being so close to Charlotte Amalie, either by ferry boat direct from the hotel to downtown or by quick taxi (and the airport is only 10 minutes beyond that.) We liked this hotel and definitely will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room, If you want quick access the lower floors have huge patios that lead right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for the delightful photos! They make a great addition to our vast collection here on TripAdvisor. We’re thrilled to hear you decided to give St. Thomas a try and your stay with us was a success. The service compliments will certainly be passed on and the individuals named will be recognized. We hope another visit is in your plans soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.1 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
3.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,469 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. Our US Virgin Islands hotel in St. Thomas features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing