We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I joined my in laws for 4 days over Thanksgiving. The Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star were originally separate hotels....because they are 1/2 mile away from each other and you have to walk up 97 steps to get up to the main hotel!! To bad for us that the hotel elevator wasn't working!!! so it was either the walk the 1/2 mile and climb the 97 steps (i am not exaggerating) or wait for a shuttle. Little did we know that there was a college basketball tournament that took over the entire hotel so on Saturday night when it was pouring rain we had to wait 40 minutes. Pillows were lumpy potato sacks, the towel rack was falling down in our bathroom, the in-room ice machine noise was enough to wake the dead and the walls are paper thin. And yes, the beach is right there...only 30 feet wide and are not very protected ...and the cabanas are $150 per day. \
the only nice thing i can say is about the Havana Blue Restaurant which is inside the Morning Star but is independent of the hotel and quite nice

The Ritz Carlton is a much better choice on the island. Would never come back.

Room Tip: call the Ritz Carlton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andysiegel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

We are disheartened to read your review. It is so important to us for every guest to leave with only the memories of a lifetime, that a review like yours makes our leadership team take pause. From what you wrote, I believe Frenchman’s Reef would have been a better choice for your specific needs. Please accept our heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with regards to our complimentary shuttle service. Although it does run approximately every 15 minutes between properties, we need to consider additional service during unforeseen circumstances. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please let us know if another adventure to St. Thomas is in your plans. I would like our leadership team to manage your reservation in a personalized manner. I am confident we can find the perfect room location for you. We can be reached at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and please reference this review. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,024 - 3,030 of 4,423 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is located on a bluff with pretty views of the water and nearby Charlotte Amalie. It has an adjacent property Morningstar Beach. To get to the adjacent property you need to take a shuttle bus. The beach at Morningstar is pretty with 2 different restaurants. One is called sand bar part of the restaurant Havana Blue. This hotel is nice but not typical Marriott. The room I had seemed old and dingy, Although the bed was what I expect at a Marriott the restaurant in the hotel served food that was quite ordinary and there were many better choices nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your favorable review of Morning Star Beach Resort! We hope that you have another chance to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Excellent Location. Great Room. Stayed at the Morning Star location and it was beautiful. Nice rooms, next to beach. Rooms are super clean, very cold, all in great condition. Only issue that location was internet, was hardly working, it keep going on and off. Had to download presentation and it was impossible, but it was nothing to worry. Everyone is so friendly, you cannot complaint. They are so amazing in all areas of the hotel. Hotel food was pretty good as well. Can wait to be back again and take my family next time with me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for the 5-star rating and review! We recognize that many people come to St. Thomas for business purposes and it is always a pleasure to hear we provided all the necessary amenities to make it successful. We look forward to meeting your family on your next visit. Wishing you and yours a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived Saturday night after a bit of chaos at the airport. I was hesitant to get into a shared taxi for fear we'd be driven all over creation. The taxis here are pretty arrogant and don't like their fares questioning rates or anything. Anyway, after 3 stops we were at our hotel in about half an hour. In hindsight I might ask for a private taxi.

Checking was easy, we asked for an ocean view room and we're put in 1648. Nice little balcony overlooking the pools. The palm trees prevent a dramatic vista but it's a nice view anyway.

We won this trip at an auction fundraiser, and had we purchased it ourselves I might have gone all inclusive. The food here is heat but it's pricey. $4 for a cup of diet coke and $4 for a refill at lunch. Again, we won the package so we just paid out of pocket, and used the handy store on 4 to buy water, snacks, etc.

Service is great. We liked Deirdre from Vermont, the server by the pools. She brought us lunch to our chairs.

Friends recommended we go to St. John but the weather was rainy and we found the experience less than special. We took the ferry from Red Hook.....taxi doe two from our hotel to the ferry was $20 total, tix pp for the ferry were $7 each way.

Wireless was solid in the hotel, air conditioners worked well, water was hot and water pressure was good. Bugs are minimal. Linens are good quality.

Overall we enjoyed our week here, but the total cost was a bit high.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

What luck to win a vacation to Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort! Your feedback, positive or otherwise, is always welcome. We'd first like to begin by stating how pleased we are to learn that the room amenities including WiFi, air conditioning, water temperature and pressure and bedding provided a comfortable stay. Thank you for also mentioning the convenience of the market at Frenchman’s Reef and the exemplary service Deirdre provided by the infinity pools. We will be sure to specifically recognize her for efforts. We hope another visit to St. Thomas will be in your future plans! Look for specials here on our TripAdvisor page which will add extra savings and value to your stay. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I booked our honeymoon at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef for a couple of reasons: the Marriott at the time offered a honeymoon fund where people could give us specific gifts during our honeymoon (such as massages, dinners etc), the reputation of the Marriott, and it's location. We booked our hotel room in May (6 months prior to our stay) and reserved a balcony water view room, during booking we told the person it was for our honeymoon at which point they said we would get a complimentary upgrade because it was our honeymoon. We arrived at the hotel and were told that there was no upgrade for us and because there was a college basketball tournament in the area the hotel was booked and there was nothing that they could do for us. We figured we were there and we'd make the most of it. So we broke our our honeymoon fund card that we were told to present at the front desk at check in to be activated. The woman at the front desk looked at me like I had 3 heads and states she's never heard of such a thing. In fact no one there had ever heard of it!!! They just told us to charge everything to the room and redeem the gift cards at the end of our stay. Not what we planned, but it would be a wash so we kind of got that settled. We were escorted to our room which was on the first floor of their sea view building and didn't have a balcony but a patio with somewhat of a water view, mostly blocked by palm trees and shrubs. Not to mention the room was way overpriced for what we got, I've paid half what they charged us for the same kind of room. We went back to the front desk and were again offered little help and were told there is nothing they could do. We asked to speak to a manager 3 times as the person at the desk kept telling us nothing was available. We finally got to speak to a manager and his solution, they could move us 2 floors up in 2 days or we could stay in their Morning Star beach area without a water view. We opted to keep the water view and move 2 floors up. The manager assured us that they would put a rush on the room that day so we could move right in and go about our day. We checked out of our room at 11am and were told by the front desk they would call us when our new room was ready. Meanwhile all our luggage sat on a cart in a roped off area by the bellman's stand, not a very secure spot. As it approached 330 that afternoon we began to wonder where this "rush" was and we sent back to the front desk. After talking to 2 different people and them making several phone calls (which took over 30min) we were moved into our new room. Same room, but a non obstructed water view and an actual balcony.....and a closet with broken doors. There were workers do work in the stairwells everyday and every time we walked to the pool area we had to walk by tables and chairs covered with a tarp. For a place that boasts a 48 million dollar renovation we were hard pressed to find where they spent their money.

Now the staff at the restaurant and bars were great, a couple of them even tried to talk to different managers (apparently there are 4-5 managers per day to deal with) to try and get us in a better room. They actually made us forget about the whole room fiasco. Oh and did I mention that they did nothing, nada, zip, for us for our honeymoon? For a hotel does multiple weddings a year and caters to that type of stay you'd think they'd be a little more hospitable for a couple that chose to stay there for 10 days on their honeymoon.

If you plan on going to St Thomas for a honeymoon avoid the Marriott Frenchman's Reef, they really don't seem to care why you're there, they just want your money. Make the wise choice and spend it elsewhere!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theblade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry it was not all you hoped for, particularly in light of your special occasion. These front desk issues should never happen to any of our guests. We pride ourselves on being a hotel people choose for celebrating and it is part of our culture to always do all we can to make every occasion a memorable celebration. I have shared your feelings with our staff so we can work towards being more proactive to ensure that this does not happen again. Our policy is to respect and anticipate the needs of guests and make every effort to provide a hospitality experience which exceeds expectations. I am pleased to hear your experience at our restaurants helped overcome your initial impressions. Please do not hesitate to contact me through the hotel if I may be of any further assistance. We hope to have another opportunity to win your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It is in a great location once your driving. If not their are shuttles that are sometimes able to take you into town. My room was clean cold and everything was in great condition. The housekeeper was very talkative but kept my room on point. Front desk staff was helpful and quick with checkins. The restaurant food is OK but better food in town. Recreation staff is very nosey. Loss prevention guys always kept smile on face and always asks for assistance. The wedding planner lady made my cousin wedding one to remember. The market presto pastries are great but at once the cakes was stale. The morning ladies in the shop is very horrible they have no respect. Maria,Latanya, Tichinia, Sharifa, works very slow. The guy that stocks acts like he can't talk. I remembered these ladies names because they were the worst of my whole stay. The cofees are great. The beach at morning star was clean. The bell guys are helpful but begs for tips. The bell guy with long lip dark skin seems to be a pervert. The spa staff kept me feeling warm.Otherwise every other staff member that I can remember has manners and is helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for coming over to St. Thomas and choosing to stay with us. Your compliments of your room, our team, the restaurants and the Lazule Spa are greatly appreciated. Sounds like your cousin’s wedding here was a success too! We hope you will join us again for another great visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We took our family (8 people) vacation here for 4 days, and we reserved the rooms online expecting it will be like what we see online.... They put us in the "harbor wing" - looks and feel subpar ........ Paint job was going on so it smelled disgusting, and the room door knob didn't really work (had to really push it hard to open the door) and it's dark... A good 3 -5min walk outdoor from where we are to lobby/beach... Room was okay, looks old and just needs some major overhaul.... We asked for a room change due to all these negative comments, but they didn't have any rooms (apparently the room we booked were all sold out and the only time they can accommodate us is our last night of the trip...they waived only one night of resort fee for 3 rooms because that, which made me feel alittle better...)
They charge for everything, there is a 35 dollar resort fee, which includes the basics, most staffs are very friendly. The only part of this hotel that I absolutely loved is their spa service. Extremely clean/relaxing, and it had its own private pool.
Don't think I will come back again to this hotel. I stayed at many marriott hotels (in Aruba, Puerto Rico) - this is def one of my worst experience of the hotel (for the $$ I paid for)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carr_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

We appreciate your feedback, both positive and constructive. Before your next visit to St. Thomas, feel free to reach out to our leadership team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com so we can be sure to assign you to rooms you will be satisfied with. We are currently in the process of several beautification projects (hence the paint smell) and I am confident we will exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing us and have a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £236 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. Our US Virgin Islands hotel in St. Thomas features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing