We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olga's Fancy(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtown Guest House(Charlotte Amalie)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bunker Hill Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bluebeard's Castle Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,425)
Filter reviews
4,425 results
Traveller rating
1,689
1,415
758
359
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,689
1,415
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning starfrenchman's reefaqua terracoco joesthe main hotelharbor wingsunset grillrum barswim up baradventure centermain poolsea cliffinfinity poolnight kayakinggarden viewst thomastennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
3,024 - 3,029 of 4,425 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

There is no way to detail all of the problems with this hotel in one review, and we have covered most of our experiences personally with two different Front Desk Managers, since the first wasn't responsive.

The positive was the public areas (Pool, veranda, Sunset Bar and Grill), are very nice and the money spent renovating them clearly shows. But the low attention to detail by housekeeping, the investment wont be visible too long. The welcome attendants and bell staff were very attentive and eager to help you with a taxi, directions, or baggage!

Our poor experience started when we asked for an upgrade for the night, since we had been given one 7 nights earlier at the same hotel. The response was a very rude "Not available". Then were given a basic room which looks like it had been stripped of 1/4 the furniture. Friends we were traveling with had a throw rug, and we didn't, and the overall age of the furniture in all rooms is very worn and in need of repairs. However the key issue was the room was partially cleaned. We found hair in the bathroom in multiple locations, dirt on the floor and furniture, and what appeared to be mold in several spots on the ceiling.

The same lack of attention existed in the public restrooms. On "Las Vegas Night" at the hotel, (One of the biggest events on the Island), the ladies room was not attended, had one sink operational, and loose rolls of toilet paper for use instead of installed in the dispenser, with toilet paper all over the floor.

We had mixed experiences with service, from rude and slow, to very energetic and engaging in multiple locations. When we called from the room at 3:00 to complain about not enough water pressure to take a shower, we asked to talk with a manager. The clerk said she would call back in a few minutes. Neither did she call or a manager call. I had to go and search for one an hour later.

The second front desk manager we talked with, came to the room to observe the issues and pictures I showed the first front desk manager. He quickly remedied all the cleaning issues, and was to remove the cost of the room from our bill.

Our friends paid extra for an ocean view room, only to have a palm tree completely blocking the entire view from the window, except the pool.

The problems are much deeper than a maid not being thorough, due to the inconsistency found across the hotel.

I recommend the hotel create an area designed for the expectations of premium members similar to business Marriotts. For a novice traveler, this location and the public areas will make the trip positive. For an experienced traveler, I have left Marriott Courtyards which were in better condition. Having earned Platinum status on Marriott, and Diamond status with Hilton, at all levels of hotels, this hotel experience was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bchtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We review all the comments by our members and guests in order to grow and improve. That being said, I am sorry to hear we were unable to meet your expectations. Particularly distressing are your comments describing communication issues with our leadership team as well as the housekeeping oversights. Our intent is to be available and transparent with regards to problems guests encounter, and expedient in correcting them. As a result of this review, we are investigating your reservation and exploring ways we can avoid these going forward. If there is anything further you would like to share, feel free to contact me at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. I would welcome the opportunity to work with you to create an excellent experience the next time you visit our island. Thank you again for your loyalty to Marriott. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

last week I enjoyed a very high quality massage treatment at the Marriott Spa as had been recommended by the owner of Mafolie. The spa was very high spec, very clean and tidy with large showers and bath areas. the waiting area was spacious, clean and had terrific views of the ocean and nearby shoreline. having enjoyed all the best spas in Santa Fe and in other parts of the world, i can honestly say this facility is on par or better in all aspects. the staff were professional, experienced and responsive. the therapist was excellent, and provided a very effective and much needed treatment after a long week working sails, cooking and cleaning on our boat. afterwards, I took the hotel provided ferry across the harbor back into the town centre. i highly recommend you make a booking at this spa even if you stay elsewhere (like the Mafolie which is ideal) in Charlotte Amalie!

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel, this review regards the spa experience.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KnowsPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful description of your experience at our Lazule Spa! This is a perfect way to relax while in the Caribbean. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I joined my in laws for 4 days over Thanksgiving. The Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star were originally separate hotels....because they are 1/2 mile away from each other and you have to walk up 97 steps to get up to the main hotel!! To bad for us that the hotel elevator wasn't working!!! so it was either the walk the 1/2 mile and climb the 97 steps (i am not exaggerating) or wait for a shuttle. Little did we know that there was a college basketball tournament that took over the entire hotel so on Saturday night when it was pouring rain we had to wait 40 minutes. Pillows were lumpy potato sacks, the towel rack was falling down in our bathroom, the in-room ice machine noise was enough to wake the dead and the walls are paper thin. And yes, the beach is right there...only 30 feet wide and are not very protected ...and the cabanas are $150 per day. \
the only nice thing i can say is about the Havana Blue Restaurant which is inside the Morning Star but is independent of the hotel and quite nice

The Ritz Carlton is a much better choice on the island. Would never come back.

Room Tip: call the Ritz Carlton
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andysiegel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

We are disheartened to read your review. It is so important to us for every guest to leave with only the memories of a lifetime, that a review like yours makes our leadership team take pause. From what you wrote, I believe Frenchman’s Reef would have been a better choice for your specific needs. Please accept our heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with regards to our complimentary shuttle service. Although it does run approximately every 15 minutes between properties, we need to consider additional service during unforeseen circumstances. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please let us know if another adventure to St. Thomas is in your plans. I would like our leadership team to manage your reservation in a personalized manner. I am confident we can find the perfect room location for you. We can be reached at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and please reference this review. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is located on a bluff with pretty views of the water and nearby Charlotte Amalie. It has an adjacent property Morningstar Beach. To get to the adjacent property you need to take a shuttle bus. The beach at Morningstar is pretty with 2 different restaurants. One is called sand bar part of the restaurant Havana Blue. This hotel is nice but not typical Marriott. The room I had seemed old and dingy, Although the bed was what I expect at a Marriott the restaurant in the hotel served food that was quite ordinary and there were many better choices nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your favorable review of Morning Star Beach Resort! We hope that you have another chance to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Excellent Location. Great Room. Stayed at the Morning Star location and it was beautiful. Nice rooms, next to beach. Rooms are super clean, very cold, all in great condition. Only issue that location was internet, was hardly working, it keep going on and off. Had to download presentation and it was impossible, but it was nothing to worry. Everyone is so friendly, you cannot complaint. They are so amazing in all areas of the hotel. Hotel food was pretty good as well. Can wait to be back again and take my family next time with me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for the 5-star rating and review! We recognize that many people come to St. Thomas for business purposes and it is always a pleasure to hear we provided all the necessary amenities to make it successful. We look forward to meeting your family on your next visit. Wishing you and yours a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews