We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Don't know how to title this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel is set in a beautiful location. Great views from wherever your room is. The lobby is open and airy a and checking was a breeze, although we didn't get here till 9:00pm. Service in every one of the restaurants was horrendously slow. During the Super Bowl game we ordered beers and it took over 30 minutes and the bar was only ten feet away. We would have been better getting it ourselves. That made us worry about our dinner order. My son waited over an hour for pizza and we finally left because it never came. Waitress said she was "on it" but it never came. Waited 1 1/2 hours for room service. I understand island time but this was ridiculous! The pool area is beautiful! Deadra was the only good waitress in the whole place. She was awesome! Taxi rides are $10 a person on the island so plan on that in your budget if you're going into town or out to dinner. Only take a cab ride from someone that has a taxi sign on their vehicle. Lots of gypsy cabbies. We ended up in one of those and very time we went over a bump the seat moved. It wasn't bolted to the floor! Renting a car is definitely cheaper especially if you want to explore the island..just remember you drive on the other side of the road..beds in the hotel are not the standard Marriott mattresses. Away less comfortable.. And they're double, not queen size. The hotel has several pools and it's own beach. And that rates a 10.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms looking toward Charlotte Amalie because we could hear great music from the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for leaving this review. Although we are happy to read your stay overall was a pleasant one, we’re sorry you had to experience longer than acceptable wait times in our restaurants. We appreciate you mentioning the problems you encountered which gives our leadership team the opportunity to make corrections. On a positive note, we love hearing your delight with the location, views and service. If there is anything further you would like to discuss with regards to your visit, please feel free to send an email to sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. Thank you again for staying at Frenchman’s Reef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,940 - 2,946 of 4,423 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Frankly, we were a little concerned about our hotel selection since the reviews on Trip Advisor were decidedly mixed. But ultimately we decided to go since we have never had a bad experience in a Marriott Hotel. And we've enjoyed staying in them all over the world.
The front desk check in experience was extremely accommodating and we were assigned to a room with a balcony overlooking the harbor. Frankly, the view could not have been nicer and a few mornings we enjoyed coffee and pastries on our balcony. The pool and beach options were superb and well maintained. The service people were uniformly friendly. The room itself was well maintained and our housekeeper could not have been nicer. So I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. I hope you enjoy the experience as much as we did!

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor for an enhanced view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave this special review. I am happy to hear that your initial concerns were overcome. Mornings on your balcony with coffee, pastries and the view sound absolutely perfect! We’ll also be sure to give a nod to our housekeeping team as well for remarkable service. I am glad to know you felt taken care of. We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Frenchman's Reef is the only place we saw in Charlotte Amalie worth staying. ST.T is really a cruise town. Their facility is very pretty and it has THE most stunning view. The entrance & Reception area are very nice and the veranda is spectacular. The rooms we saw are in need of freshening up. Don't get me wrong it is not bad, and as there is not much else unless you go to the far end of the island (inconvenient) Frenchman's Reef is it.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Hotel at top. Not the "Cottage Clusters" at beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smchaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! For the location, famous views and extensive amenities we offer, Frenchman’s Reef is the place in Charlotte Amalie! We appreciate your great rating and compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It's nothing special, which you will note as soon as you get off the elevator and tread the worn carpet down the hall to your room. Once inside, the shabby chicness of it takes over: knicked furniture, stained corner chair, slightly dirty bathroom. It's not a 5-star resort by US mainland standards. But compared to the other island hotels I've visited, it's pretty darn good.

Morning yoga classes are wonderful, with a backdrop of cruise ships sailing into the harbor.

Service is slow. Always slow. So slow you are certain you could do it faster yourself, from checking in, to making drinks, to checking out.

Skip the main restaurant and walk down to the beach for meals. You don't need the hotel buffet. Eating next to the water beats an indoor restaurant every time.

The main hotel has 3 pools, one of which is only for spa guests. It's a big rectangle with perhaps 20 chairs around it. The largest hotel pool sits above the ocean surrounded by chairs and cabanas. But my favorite pool was the smallest. It's off to the side, has a swim up bar, and has a great infinity ledge. If you get there early, you can score one of the five lounge chairs that actually sit in the water. Wonderful feeling to let your toes dip into the pool as the temp hits the high 80s.

Highly suggest 2 activities: sail on The Cat, a 50+' catamaran that docks at the hotel, and paddle board lessons. So great to be on the water.

Room Tip: Check in early. I got there late and the ocean front/views were gone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your helpful comments and descriptions of your favorite amenities. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the pools and our restaurant down on the beach at Morning Star Beach Resort (Coco Joe’s). After reading your entire review, I was sorry to hear the room you were in did meet your standards, nor ours. Please accept our apologies. Before your next trip to the islands, please feel free to reach out to me through the hotel so we can personalize your reservation. Most of our rooms have been updated and I am confident we can find the perfect fit for you. We hope that you will visit again for more St. Thomas adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just spent the better part of 6 days here for a business meeting with the Pa. Bar Association. We went all inclusive and it was well worth it. The cost of food and beverages would have been exorbitant otherwise. The walk to the beach was a little far and had some steps, but worth it. Coco Joe's restaurant serves up a very good Breakfast and Lunch right on the beach. Their rum bucket drinks with refills are worth sampling. Meant for two people, we normally did one per person and their was plenty of rum. The Sunset Grill had the best dinner food at the Hotel, but the banquet buffets were not very good at all. The hotel was very accommodating and the rooms were clean and inviting. Of course the views were spectacular. Be sure to ask for a room in the renovated sections of the Hotel because the part that has not yet been done over is a little old and tired. The hotel side pools and deck areas sat plenty on lounge chairs. Look for my review of Havana Blue restaurant. It is not affiliated with the Hotel but it is a short jitney ride from the Hotel. Simply Marvelous!

Room Tip: see my comment about where to stay at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

A heartfelt thanks from all of us for leaving this favorable review of Frenchman’s Reef. We appreciate your compliments of the rooms, service, views and especially your recommendations of Coco Joe’s and The Sunset Grill. We hope your meeting was equally as successful as your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have vacationed at Frenchman's over 10 times now. While the facility is older, Marriott does a good job of keeping it fresh and up to date. It was completely renovated 2 years ago. The resort has everything guests need: clean well maintained rooms, good restaurants, very nice beach, 2 large swimming pools, a sizable gym/ workout facility, and a great staff. The resort has beach lounges, umbrellas, and beach towels for hotel guests. The beach and swimming areas have full service food and drink services. We have found the resort staff to be very friendly and helpful. The resort is a short taxi ride from town for shopping. St. Thomas has at least 10+ excellent restaurants in addition to the ones on the resort. Frenchman's is a resort that we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STTvisitor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you so much for posting these great photos! We sincerely enjoy having you as our guest time and time again, your loyalty is appreciated. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me if I can ever be of assistance to your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I just returned today from a wonderful getaway. It was my first time visiting the Virgin Islands but it wont be the last. The hotel was nice, However you should go to the Aqua Terra for their breakfast buffet. If you do make sure you tell Ermine Edmead you saw her name on the trip advisor. She is a server there and she went above and beyond to make sure we had excellent service. She even showed us where to get the water taxi to go shopping. We found the resort a delightful experience. My room was in the tower and it had an awesome view of the water.

Room Tip: I was on the the 5th floor and the view was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdelosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience! We’re so glad you chose Frenchman’s Reef for your first island getaway. We hope it won’t be the last! We sincerely appreciate personal staff mentions so we can recognize the team members that leave a lasting positive impression on our valued guests. In that vein, we will be sure to pass along your compliments to Ermine for her excellent service. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £236 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. Our US Virgin Islands hotel in St. Thomas features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing