We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but if your teenagers eat Cheese Quesadillas...good luck getting one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Overall an enjoyable experience. I would recommend staying in the Frenchman's reef vs. Morningstar as it is much more updated. However if you want to step out on the beach vs. having to take a short van ride to it than MorningStar is what you are looking for if you don't mind not having an more dated/less upgraded room. Food and beverage was excellent. It was surprising to us after day one that there was only one restaurant that had Cheese Quesadilla's on it's adult menu and it was only open at night. That is one of my tweens favorite meals. When we asked for it they said it was only on the kids menu therefore they would not serve it and at dinner time were told that we would have to send our kids to the other restaurant to get it since it was only available there on the kids menu. Really?? We ending up ordering something else while we watch kids served this item on the left and right of us. Honestly, as much money as we spent on this vacation if they have a pile of dirt and you want to pay to eat it they should serve it to you!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Frenchman's Reef are much more updated. Would definitely stay there next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. I enjoyed reading your review and am immediately passing along your important words to our Food and Beverage Director. We’re glad your stay was great despite the frustration with the menus issues; we are looking forward to serving your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,823 - 2,829 of 4,423 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We booked this vacation through Delta Vacations (don't do, but that will be a separate posting) and selected the lowest room class available. The day prior to arriving, I called the property to see if I could pay for an upgrade. I called and talked with Jen at the front desk and she was very helpful and enthusiastic about the chances. I called back to rebook the room five times and no luck, the front desk wasn't answering. Upon arrival, I spoke with Liisa on the Elite Member desk and she said she saw the notes, but nothing was available and our room wasn't ready. The time was 5pm. She gave us a buzzer and suggested we go enjoy a drink at the Sunset bar. We did and Liisa arrived about 30 minutes later with room keys to the upgraded room. The view was spectacular. We looked at the Charlotte Amalie harbor and all the ships transiting.

Our first night we explored the hotel and tried to east at CoCo Joes. Good luck with that. We waited 45 minutes and decided to look elsewhere. We ended up at Aqua Terra for the buffet. It was $29 per adult and $14 per child. The food was a 6.5/10, but at 9pm after traveling all day, anything would have been good.

The Marriott tries to dupe you a bit. There is an information desk in the lobby and the folks are very helpful. Be aware, they are there to help, but to get you signed up for a 90 minute Marriott Vacation Club presentation. I explained we were interested, but then was told the majority of the presentation is really an update on the Marriott Rewards program. Just be aware.

We booked three excursions through Adventure Center. The day sailing trip on the Eden, the evening Cat catamaran happy hour and the see through bottom kayaks (all three were great, but under separate posts). We would recommend them all, but check in with the Adventure Center upon arrival. They are overwhelmed and under staffed.

Be prepared for things being slower, but only at the Marriott. In Charlotte Amalie, we took the hotel's ferry to town and walked around. A shout out to Capt Scott for the safe passage to and from. We ate at Jen's Deli and would highly recommend it. It is a short 1-2 minute walk from the dock. We shopped for the first 2 days at Presto Market on the fourth floor and paid out the nose for wine, soda, etc. in Charlotte Amalie, along the dock by the ships and across the street from Hooters is the Gourmet Gallery. A great, very reasonably priced grocery store. You name it, they had it and some prices were cheaper than home. If you have a car, the go. A taxi ride there more than pays for itself. The walk from the dock was about 3/4 mile or a $12 cab ride (2 adults, 1 child)

The infinity pool is open 24/7, but the bar at the pool closes at 5. We scratched our heads, since the pool was still packed. The hotel is beautiful, but the room needed some TLC.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank rickchurch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for this thorough review. I am sincerely happy to hear you were so well taken care of by Lissa and the rest of our team at check-in. We understand that there is no replacement for warm and responsive service. Also appreciated the mentions of the Adventure Center, beauty of the grounds and our ferry service to Charlotte Amalie. Your few suggestions for how we can improve in the areas of rooms, restaurant service times and communications at our information desk are also valuable to our leadership team. We welcome all comments whether positive or negative as they help us grow as a business. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had we initially been put in Frenchman's Reef, I'd give this a 4 star review but because we spent 2 of our 6 nights down in Morning Star, I just can't do it! We are platinum Elite Marriott Travelers so upon check in, we were told that we were being "upgraded" ... while we weren't too happy with our accomodations, we figured, it's an upgrade so what is the sense in complaining!

After spending a day down at MOrning Star, we decided to explore the hotel grounds. We went up to Frenchman's Reef, got to talking with one of the Front Desk Associates & learned that the rooms in Frenchman's Reef had been recently renovated & were overall, the "better" place to stay at the resort! I was very disappointed to have been lead to believe that we had been upgraded. Our room at Morning Star was dark, dull, and musty! The floor length mirror on the door was hanging on by a screw sticking out from the bottom of it! The bathroom was VERY DATED!

What a relief to check in to a Frencman's Reef room! it was bright, refreshing, updated & just what we were looking for!

We had a wonderful time at the resort...some of the amazing Staff Members that took care of us were~ Natasha in Loss Prevention, Lauren the Front Office Manager, Junelr our server in the grill, Jose at Coco Joe, Lissa at the front desk and the wonderful 2 ladies that greeted us each morning for Breakfast!

The food at the resort was very good with pretty decent prices too!

We were a little disappointed one night when we went to have dinner in the main dining room but there was really no seating available. We didn't want to eat the buffet but were told if we sat in the main dining room we had to eat the buffet but if we wanted to order off the menu, we'd have to sit in the adjacent lounge area. We happily would have done so however, the only seats available were bar stools literally facing a wall! So, needless to say, we didn't dine there that night!

We took advantage of the hotel's water aerobics program which was so nice, the girl that teaches the classes is wonderful! Also, be sure to take the hotel's "water taxi" to the downtown shopping area, it goes every 1/2 hour!

Overall, great vacation, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: as I mentioned, be sure to stay in Frenchman's Reef!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Neat photos! You are looking very relaxed! We’re very happy to read your stay ended up at the Frenchman’s Reef and our team was able to facilitate your move. The cabana type rooms at Morning Star are considered an upgrade compared to some rooms at Frenchman’s Reef but we understand that room style is a very personal matter. We appreciate you sharing the details of your experience. Natasha, Lauren, Junelr, Jose and Lissa will be happy they were mentioned as well. Thank you! We are lucky to have a great team here and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Amazing Views, great hotel, bars, restaurants, swimming pools and close to town. My server Janice Bleau was amazing each time I had breakfast at the buffet. She was very friendly and attentive. Sunset Grill was a little slow on service and food took long but the fish tacos were worth the wait. Coco Joe's food is good and Fran the bartender was friendly and drinks were very good. Food took a little long, servers could smile and be more friendly but the view was amazing. Overall it was a great place to stay and I would come back again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the fantastic photos! We’ll let Janice and Fran know they were recognized and appreciated. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Check in took awhile. Room preference was not available until next day. Next day came and room preference still not available. Finally moved rooms after 2 days. Beds were uncomfortable and rooms were dated and not very clean.

Food was not good. Went for Lobster buffet and found lobster overcooked and badly seasoned. Lunch took over an hour to get served.

We were very interested in looking into vacation club but changed our minds after hotel experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbnfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

It is always disheartening for us to hear someone wasn’t completely delighted with their stay. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience, and have reviewed and discussed all your comments to see where we might improve. It is reviews like yours that make our leadership team take pause. We sincerely hope that you will consider a return visit. All of us here are capable of showing you the way hospitality and service should be experienced, and would welcome an opportunity to do so. Please do not hesitate to contact our leadership team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com if we can be of any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My sister and I spent a week here and loved every minute of it. The beach is gorgeous, the staff is kind and helpful, and the resturants are amazing! My only advice, is to try and stay at Morning Star. We liked that it was less "hotel like".

Room Tip: Island view means ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lauranthalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We’re delighted to read that you and your sister experienced the warm hospitality we are known for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A full amenity hotel with a central location. The pool, beaches, restaurants and bars are enough that you never have to leave the resort although I recommend you do! Friendly and attentive staff and easy access to St. John and the downtown area by water taxi directly from the hotel. I would stay here again (and again.)

Room Tip: Either overlooking the ocean or St. Johns. My wife and I had breakfast on our balcony everyday over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Wow! Excellent photo! Thank you very much for including that in your review. Please call ahead of your next stay so we can welcome you back as returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
4.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,464 reviews
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. Our US Virgin Islands hotel in St. Thomas features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing